We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay in the Sacred Valley”
Review of Casa de Wow!!!

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa de Wow!!!
Ranked #4 of 29 Ollantaytambo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay in the Sacred Valley”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We spent 8 nights at Casa de Wow!!! and left feeling as if we hadn't stayed long enough! It was that good :) It is very comfortable and inviting, a true home away from home. We had a 4 bunk room with shared bath - which was perfect for our family of 2 adults and 2 kids (both age 10). The breakfasts were very nice - eggs to order plus a traditional Peruvian morning meal of tea, bread and jam. We were greeted with a warm welcome, a laminated sheet of info for the hostel itself and a printed map with labels and suggestions for places to eat, drink and sightsee.

Room Tip: The 4 bunk room on the first floor is great value for a single traveller willing to share, or for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbaraw628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    49
    11
    13
    4
See reviews for
35
88
37
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The staff is amazingly kind and helpful, the location is excellent although a little hard to find. The rooms are spacious, clean, well kept, bright and provide good wifi reception. The crows nest provides an amazing panamoric view of the city however it should have a sign for visitors to watch they're head on the way up as the doorway ceiling is low.

Personally I love this place and would stay here again in a heartbeat. The only negative is that you can hear everything through the walls, however, the quiet hours rule takes care of that issue.

This hostel is the best value I've seen in Peru.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DexterPrinceton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed here for two night to start my 2-month South American trip. It was to prepare myself for one night in Aguas Caliente before heading up to Machu Picchu.

I emailed Winn directly and she reserved a room for me for S/.50 per night. I agreed and when I showed up unexpectedly with a friend it was convenient enough that there was an extra bed in my room for my friend! It was the best room in the house with a view of the Ollantaytambo Ruins. Waking up to that to start this trip was such a treat.

The room was clean and the shared bath next door was always clean too. I like that the shower was actually roomy and there were space to hang towels and put soap.

The breakfasts were good. Eggs any way you want it, toast with butter and jam and really yummy tea (there were many to choose from, but I liked the back Peruvian one the most). Towels for shower inclusive. Location was good, less than 5 mins from the square, Plaza de Armes, and 15 mins walk from train station. Restaurants all around. And Winn made it so comfortable to be there. I just really enjoyed my stay and was so sad to go. This hostel spoiled me, no other has lived up to it yet.

Room Tip: My room was the top floor with view of the Ruins. I think this is the best room in the house, but p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skippin_along
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Casa De Wow is clean and has charming style. It's 2 min walk off the main square which gives you quiet restful sleep. Wow has unquestionably the best view of places to stay. The breakfast was full; preparing eggs with fresh baked bread & local homemade jams..Winn and Wow make you feel at home from first contact of booking, straight through the stay helping if you have any questions about itinerary or special requests. Location, style, price, friendliness, view, Casa De WOW! is the best.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellowfish22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pictou County, Nova scotia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The hostel was fun and Winn was the wow factor as she took time to engage with us and helped to make our stay so memorable. We enjoyed ourselves so much that we changed our travel plans a bit to allow for a third nights stay. Winn provides great detail about surrounding town which allowed us to capitalize on our stay and enjoy aspect to the area that we would not have known nor seen without her help.

Room Tip: We had an amazing view of the ruins while laying in our very cool and funky tree house bunkbed (as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myrna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This guesthouse, and this town, are, without a doubt, my favorite place in Peru! Many reviewers said you won't want to leave, and in fact Winn has had many travelers extend their stay. We got to know our fellow house guests, more so than anywhere else we stayed, and it felt like we were all a family, albeit temporary. Winn arranged a horseback ride for us, the highlight of our trip! No big touristy group, we were delivered the Paseo horses right at the hostel door! And the guide was a delight! There are so many wonderful things to say about Ollanta and especially Winn, Wow, and Casa de Wow, and just nothing negative! If you get a chance, don't miss this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt.Shasta,CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Really the best place ever for a long or short term stay. So brilliantly designed with bold fun color and creative function. I felt like I was living in an amazing piece of art! Win is the greatest host EVER! She suggested a treck with a local guide to a less known temple/vista. Wither(Weedar) really provided an experience that I will never forget...the beauty of the hills and meeting with a local Quechua grandma as we headed back to town. This place is a gem! I'm so grateful!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatHansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.2 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
397 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
244 reviews
0.0 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostel Andenes
Hostel Andenes
#9 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apu Lodge
Apu Lodge
#2 of 29 in Ollantaytambo
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Wow!!!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Wow!!!

Property: Casa de Wow!!!
Address: Calle Patacalle, Ollantaytambo 08471, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best of Both Worlds is what you get at Casa de Wow!!! Created by Winn and Wow - a North American woman (Atlanta, GA & Asheville, NC) and a South American man (Ollantaytambo) - one might call Casa de Wow!!! a cultural bridge providing its guests with a unique and enriching experience. The comfort and luxuries of the North are combined with the relaxed down-to-earth atmosphere of Peru, in particular the tranquility of Ollantaytambo and the creativity of Wow, who is an incredible artist (thus the nickname).So come join us..... and relax, as you sit atop our eucalyptus benches listening to the running waters of the Inkan aqueducts while you marvel at the stunning view of the ancient Inkan monuments. The location of our Casa is ideally situated on a cobblestone pedestrian street in the "old town" section of Ollantaytambo, just five minutes from the Plaza and all attractions. In the morning, enjoy a tasty breakfast including local organic jams. During the day, we'd be happy to help you organize unique excursions to magical local sites that are off the beaten path. In the evening, enjoy a cup of warm tea from our kitchen, watch a DVD in our cozy living room or gaze at the stars from our rooftop nook. Finally, retire to our beautiful and traditional Wow-crafted beds for a good night's sleep. Once you've stayed with us you will know why we're called "Casa de Wow!!!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa de Wow!!! reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Wow!!! Hotel Ollantaytambo
Casa De Wow!!! Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing