We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa de (Bow) Wow!!!”
Review of Casa de Wow!!!

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa de Wow!!!
Ranked #5 of 29 Ollantaytambo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Casa de (Bow) Wow!!!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were at Casa de Wow for two nights. Our hosts were attentive and the lodgings were impeccable. The town of Ollantaytambo was without water and electricity because of a big storm and flood that hit the region a few days earlier. It didn't slow up the Casa de Wow operation which was carried out with aplomb. Winn and Wow were both out of town when we arrived, but the staff was very helpful.
So why did I rate the B&B so low?
After going to bed, we heard Wow's dog barking in the common area of the B&B. And barking, and barking and barking --most of the night. At some point, he was let outside, but still barked.
In the morning, we found out that no one from the management was in the hotel the night before -- only guests. They didn't know that the dog was inside, and he got panicky and barked (and barked and barked). We were promised that the dog would "visit with his mommy" down the street for night two.
You guessed it. At 1:30 AM the dog let out a muffled bark from the room below us, but loud enough to wake us up.
We left very early to catch the train. Arrangements were made for a taxi and a lovely "breakfast to go" was prepared for us.

The answer for Casa de Wow!!! is easy. It is either the guests or the dog. Be sure to ask about it.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, ask for a downstairs room, as it is a tight circular stairway to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casadewow, Owner at Casa de Wow!!!, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Oh my.... so sorry!! I was sick when I heard about this incident upon arriving home after my mini vacation in Cusco. I am sorry i failed to get in touch with y'all personally afterwards as well. At that time I had no idea LomoNegro (our beloved dog friend) had started having anxiety attacks - which seem to correlate to my absences. Now that we know he stays elsewhere if I am gone. Again please accept my apology - you definitely did not receive the normal Casa de Wow!!! experience which boost really good sleep.... y'all got jipped and for that we are happy to refund your payment....please contact me, Winn, at casadewow@gmail.com so we can arrange your refund. Again... so so sorry!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    48
    11
    13
    4
See reviews for
34
87
37
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I arrived at Casa de Wow for a 1 week stay. I left a month later vowing to return as soon as possible. For me Casa de WOW was a much needed sanctuary filled with warm, welcoming people, great conversations, meditations and the best breakfasts ever. It was the perfect home base from which to hike and explore around town and travel throughout the sacred valley. The rooms at the front have a spectacular view of the ruins and the rooms at the back are large with skylights and private baths. The bed frames are constructed by Wow of tree branches and bring a wonderful rustic feel to the rooms while providing big comfy beds. There is a commons room filled with DVDs and a computer with internet should you decide to just "stay in". And should you decide to go out, Winn can always direct you to the best bars and restaurants in town. Get directions to the best rotisserie chicken in town. There were always interesting people coming and going from Casa de Wow, all willing to share interesting stories, travel tips and photos. For me my month at Casa de Wow was a healing experience but best of all it was just incredibly fun! I know it can be for you as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank never2old2try
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Northwest
Level Contributor
283 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I have travelled all over the world, to over 50 countries, and I can honestly say that Casa de Wow! is in the top 3 of hostels/guesthouses we've stayed at. Lovely host Winn gets all the details right- coziness, decor, amenities, hospitality, privacy, and friendliness.

Pluses:
-Free breakfast, with eggs (a rarity in Peru)
-Free filtered water for your canteen
-Free wi-fi
-If you go to Machu Picchu early, Winn will pack up your free breakfast for the train
-Excellent location above the river, right in town
-Excellent location from the train station
-Lovely decor (co-owner Wow handmade the beds & textiles)
-Very comfy beds
-Hot water!!
-Spotlessly clean
-Secure
-Super friendly, welcoming staff
-Use of kitchen if you want
-Cute "crow's nest" in the roof for sitting
-Brilliant use of natural light with skylights in the rooms
-Small and cozy
-Great recs for restaurants and tours

Minuses:
-None. Maybe the crow's nest could seat more than 2, but hey, there are skylights!

Hugely recommend. I would book before it gets mentioned in this year's Lonely Planet Peru edition (2013), and everyone else finds out about it!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cool_jonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Casa de Wow takes the top place among the places I stayed in Peru for the location, value, decor, and comfort. First, the beds were made out of tree trunks!!! Second, you can fall asleep to the sound of running stream (or is it river?) and wake up to the magnificent sight of the Ollantaytambo ruins outside your window. If you are tired, take refuge on the very comfortable beds or in the living room, where movies and blankets are provided. If you stay in Ollantaytambo--and you should, Casa de Wow should be the place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weifei Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Casa De Wow is the perfect place to stay in Ollantaytambo, which is the most picturesque & tranquil place. Winn is lovely & very helpful with getting around & restaurant advice. My family (with 2 teenage boys) stayed in the room next to the kitchen. It had 2 lovely hand made large & comfortable bunk beds & was right next to the bathroom on that floor. Breakfast was really nice & filling, even for my hungry kids! The organic honey is a must.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
596 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Make sure you spend at least one night in Ollantaytambo. it is an amazing village. the owner gave us excellent suggestions for dinner, and an amazing hike. They also do the small thinkgs, like having free potable water available. Amazing place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Casa de WOW lives up to it's name. It simply is WOW! The location, the owners and the decor. Wynn and WOW (the owners) will help you with any question you might have about your travels as well as homestays in the mountains, hikes, horseback rides and if you need something sewn, WOW will take care of that too. He spiced up a plain bag for us with his incredible artistic talent. You will stay longer than planned. Guaranteed!

Room Tip: The rooms with bunkbeds has great views of the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwedishVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.2 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
390 reviews
0.0 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostel Andenes
Hostel Andenes
#11 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
354 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Wow!!!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Wow!!!

Property: Casa de Wow!!!
Address: Calle Patacalle, Ollantaytambo 08471, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best of Both Worlds is what you get at Casa de Wow!!! Created by Winn and Wow - a North American woman (Atlanta, GA & Asheville, NC) and a South American man (Ollantaytambo) - one might call Casa de Wow!!! a cultural bridge providing its guests with a unique and enriching experience. The comfort and luxuries of the North are combined with the relaxed down-to-earth atmosphere of Peru, in particular the tranquility of Ollantaytambo and the creativity of Wow, who is an incredible artist (thus the nickname).So come join us..... and relax, as you sit atop our eucalyptus benches listening to the running waters of the Inkan aqueducts while you marvel at the stunning view of the ancient Inkan monuments. The location of our Casa is ideally situated on a cobblestone pedestrian street in the "old town" section of Ollantaytambo, just five minutes from the Plaza and all attractions. In the morning, enjoy a tasty breakfast including local organic jams. During the day, we'd be happy to help you organize unique excursions to magical local sites that are off the beaten path. In the evening, enjoy a cup of warm tea from our kitchen, watch a DVD in our cozy living room or gaze at the stars from our rooftop nook. Finally, retire to our beautiful and traditional Wow-crafted beds for a good night's sleep. Once you've stayed with us you will know why we're called "Casa de Wow!!!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa de Wow!!! reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Wow!!! Hotel Ollantaytambo
Casa De Wow!!! Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing