We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (309)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveler rating
196
89
20
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
89
20
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate gardeninca ruinsrecommend hostalbreadhelpful with restaurant suggestionssacred valleyeggshot watermachu picchutrain stationresident catplastic bottlesmp ticketswarm blanketsthe main squaredouble bedfresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 309 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2017 via mobile

This was our first stop in our journey to Machu Picchu and we can't say enough about how much we loved staying here! The hotel is incredibly quaint and boutique-ish, with a beautiful garden and fountain. The inside of the room was immediately impressive -- there were rocks and a tree trunk plastered into the wall! Felt like we were staying in a hobbit room. The bed was comfortable and everything was very clean. We also took advantage of the free breakfast, which was simple but very filling. Staff was also quite helpful.

One small caveat -- the window in the bathroom didn't close all the way (a sliver of ~0.5 cm left open) and we discovered that if you leave the bathroom light on, it attracts dozens of small mosquitoes. So keep the lights off when you don't need them, and double check that you've closed all the windows. Once we did this, we had no problems.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2017

Our stay at the Hostal Iskay was a truly magical experience. Our time in Ollanta proved to be one of our most cherished memories of Peru. The hotel was intimate and quaint, providing us with authentic surroundings and comfort. The integrity of the small community was kept in mind with the construction of this hotel. Stone, the placement of terraces, and even branches create a close to nature feel that transcends time.

We received professional treatment from each staff member, questions answered, privacy and security. The breakfasts were plentiful with fruit, fresh grains and eggs made to order.

Our time in Ollanta was met with a power outage that lasted for an entire day, limited wireless and a nation wide teacher strike which cancelled all trains in and out of Ollanta to Machu Picchu. Despite this, the Hostal was a refuge for peaceful contemplation time to develop a strategy for how we could successfully get to MP. Which we did.

Nights were cold so request an extra blanket, wireless may work near the office and roosters awake around 4:40. All part of the experience as you are staying in a timeless village that has been active for hundreds of years.

Enjoy all that Ollanta has to offer and stay here for a positive extension of your experience. The views from your door will be "once in a lifetime" images you will never forget.

Book a taxi yourself from the airport, it will save you over 50% and private taxis are safe.

Room Tip: Room #6 for the best view
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelpapi153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017

I chose this hotel because I wanted somewhere nice to stay after our four day trek to Machu Picchu.

It just didn't do it for us. There were several bugs and spiders in the room. I get it...it's Peru...but we didn't have that issue at our other two hotels. I never really felt comfortable in the room.

Breakfast was sad.

It does have a nice view and a good location.

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redplc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed the two nights we stayed at Hotel Iskay. We had a lovely, picturesque room at the end of a cobblestone walkway. The room was clean, but you might have to ask the reception for a glass. Bring your own shampoo and conditioner. The hotel staff are very friendly. Breakfast is excellent and varies from day to day, including yogurt, trail mix, papaya, mango, fresh bread bought at the bakery down the street, and cheese. When you arrive at the main square, be certain to ask for a three-wheeled 'cab' to take you and your luggage to the hotel. Otherwise, it's quite a chore, especially if you take the cobblestone lane that leads to the back of the hotel. See my comments about the API Veronica Restaurant nearby.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Sam w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017

We had such a great experience with Hostal Iskay!

The staff was very communicative via email for all our needs. We arranged an airport pickup and Sacred Valley tour through the hotel. Our drivers, Felix and Oscar, were great and our guide, Sharon, was so sweet and knowledgeable. We visited Pisac, the Salineras, Maras, and Moray before being dropped off at the hotel. We had such an amazing time on this tour and would highly recommend booking it through the hotel. Not only was it easy, but an all around wonderful experience.

The hotel itself was very charming. Yes, there are very long, steep stairs to get there from the taxi, but what else do you expect from a mountainous, rural town? Our drivers were kind enough to assist with our luggage and the climb really isn't that bad. There is another pedestrian walkway to the main square which involves almost no stairs at all.

We were in Room 7, which I think was the Superior Queen room. We arrived at night, so couldn't see anything, but when we woke up and opened the blinds we were greeted by stunning views of the Ollantaytambo ruins! Granted there was no TV in the room (hard for us old millenials, but gave us some quiet time to read). The room has tiled floors and really cool stone walls, but it was quite cold when we walked in! I started to panic because I am chronically cold and there were no extra blankets in sight. However, there were multiple thick blankets on the bed and I was perfectly warm and cozy all night long!

The hotel was also nice enough to hold our luggage overnight as we headed to Aguas Calientes for one night (you can't take large luggage on the train). We also arranged a driver to Cusco through the hotel after we came back to Ollantaytambo to get our luggage. Our driver (whose name I think was Jose) was very friendly and we got to listen to the Peru vs. Ecuador WC qualifier match with him (which Peru won - yay!).

Overall, we had such a wonderful and pleasant experience with all people we were with and services organized by Hostal Iskay. We highly recommend to everyone!

Room Tip: Room 7 - Queen Superior
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheyrod21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews