We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow! sooooo beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Patacancha Valley

Patacancha Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Mt.Shasta,CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow! sooooo beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I had a guided tour with a local man. He was great and so conscious of the culture...it was an amazing view...and a steady easy 2hr walk back to town. We walked through peoples land so we brought gifts of fruit, or bread in thanks. One of the highlights of my month long trip.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank KatHansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    30
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Terrific cultural tour with Awamaki!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Spend a morning at 12,800 feet getting to know this little village and its growing weaving cooperative, courtesy of the NGO, Awamaki. We learned about the village's culture, saw 20 women gather to turn in completed weavings and weave together as their children played, and were taken into one woman's home briefly. Highly recommended!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank wojo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lunch with the locals in Patacancha”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We had a delicious friendly lunch of trout and a quinoa soup served by the locals. Of course there were tons of potato varieties too. Juan, the leader of the community, and his wife, are so warm, and conversation flowed, even when not everyone spoke spanish. If you'd like to go off the beaten track and meet Andean locals, we'd recommend this destination.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank TorontoSuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulladulla
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“views views views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

interesting paths sno capped mountains,veronica? just tranquill fields,etc awesome!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank tezUlladulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Weaving and mountain biking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

Fantastic trip. Visit to weaving community was good but our mountain biking trip with KB tours was a highlight of our holiday.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa2823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patacancha Valley also viewed

 
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Patacancha Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing