We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch before our train ride!”

El Albergue Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Our restaurant and café are open to lodge guests and travelers alike. Café Mayu on the train station platform offers espresso coffee, tea, cookies, brownies, sandwiches and salads. Join us in the restaurant where you will find a full menu for breakfast lunch and dinner. We have created our menu using fresh organic ingredients from our garden and Sacred Valley offering a selection of Peruvian and European flavors. Alpaca steak, fresh salads, homemade fettuccine and fresh trout are a few items available on our menu.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great lunch before our train ride!”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Our hotel booked us a table for lunch before we were to take the Vistadome to Aguas Calientes. Really glad we had lunch here right near the station and with a cool view of the incoming trains. The staff were professional and attentive. The menu is diverse and we had a great surtido salad followed by alpaca burgers with fries. Perfect place for lunch before a train departure in Ollantaytambo! You will get on the train relaxed and well fed. Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank doc_rck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    634
    199
    59
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Stay and Delicious Food”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the hotel with our two children ages 7 and 12. It was perfect for us. The children were allowed to use the back yard to swing on the hammocks and visit the organic farm. My children loved seeing the bunnies in the cages and learned that the bunnies eat the grass, so there is no need to mow. Very neat. The hotel accommodations were wonderful and we felt very safe. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. They provided white robes for all. Our tiled flooring in the bathroom was heated. There were fresh flowers in the room. Wi-Fi connection was fine. No problems. The restaurant was great. Breakfast was included in the cost. They cooked food to order, provided wonderful fresh fruit, breads, yogurt, juices &coffee. Food is fresh and cooked to order, so guests need to no be in a rush to eat. Yes, there is a 10% tip added to the bill. We were aware of this and it was fine with us. We enjoyed the restaurant so much, that we had dinner both nights we were there. It was delicious. The soup my husband had was perfect. I had vegetable lasagna which was very good. My kids had pasta...spaghetti with sauce. All was good. We really enjoyed the fact that we were not part of the tourist rush. We could just walk out to the train tracks and catch our train. We could also go for a walk along the inca trail near the tracks for free. The views were beautiful of the Andes Mountains. Our stay was just perfect.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dining Delight in Ollan”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We didn't have reservations and the place was packed. We were asked if we wanted to sit outside in the patio and that they had heaters. IT WAS GREAT. Best seats in the house. Only two tables, we had a romantic setting. The vegetables are all grown on their farm and for some reason I didn't worry about eating salad. We both agreed it was a gastronomic delight. The service was also caring and great. HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Organized a cake for a friend 3000 miles away”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I wanted to surprise a friend with a birthday cake. They made a special cake with local fruits and creamy frosting. It was so big they couldn't finish and they had to share it with other diners. They really did a great job and pulled through for me and it was only 30 bucks through paypal. I was so happy with everything. Please give them your business they will not disappoint!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Whatsupdrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very nice atmosphere and the food is good.”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The location of the restaurant at the old railway station is unique and the setting is very nice. The service was really good and the menu, although limited, was quite nice. The food was of good quality but we found less expensive places with larger menus on the road between here and the village square.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Albergue Restaurant also viewed

Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
 
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
 

Been to El Albergue Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing