We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in town”
Review of Hotel Samanapaq

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Samanapaq
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best place in town”
Reviewed December 2, 2011

What a lovely oasis in Ollantaytambo. James and his wife are so charming, and their lovely hostal and beautiful garden are a welcome rest stop in this busy town. Just a couple of blocks off the Plaza de Armas. The hospitality was our favorite. They really have done a wonderful job, nice showers, and clean rooms. Lovely sitting area around a cozy fire. Good breakfast! More peaceful than other hostals in the noisy main square. A must stay if in Ollantaytambo. Gracias James por todo. Muy amable!

Room Tip: We had # 4 overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinakula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    115
    34
    6
    4
See reviews for
90
155
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We had a wonderful time, visited the sacred valley and enjoyed the time in the hotel. It is half way from Cusco to Macchu Picchu and very close to the train station and also to the center. It has a very nice garden, excellent breakfast and the staff is very friendly and funny. I can highly recommend this place to anyone ...

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NilsvT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We got got room # 1 and it is in a semi basement with a window looking on a path. Only one window and a very dark room.
There are rooms on the second floor and looking on a mountain. It seems that they look more moderns. Bed linen and towels were very clean but not the room itself. It was very cold and the small heater was not enough to heat the small room. Food was too much salty and I am not sure about the cleanliness since one of us got very sick the day after. It is suppose to be the best hotel in the area...
The owner was very helpful and courteous. It is like a bed&breakfast.
Very close to the train station.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anickat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samanapaq, Propietario at Hotel Samanapaq, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
We regret that you had had a bad experience with us, and worst, we didn’t know about it until your opinion was posted. Regarding the room, this one isn’t in a basement, it is on the first floor of the main building. We gave it to you, and the next ones to your friends to keep all you together. Besides that, these rooms are near to dinner room, the chimney and the TV room, and they are very recommended by other guests.
However, in the future, we will be more careful with the rooms, but about the food, we prepare it with hygiene and cleanliness standards, and we haven’t any problem with that. Besides that, when we had had some guests already sick, they got free medical attention.
We are worried to satisfy our guest’s needs and more. Because of that, If we had known about your discomfort, we could had solved immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Stayed here for three days with our three children in two rooms near the breakfast room. The beds are firm, rooms very very clean although a bit dark for reading, breakfast is decent. One night we had no hot water late in the evening, but the rest of the time had no problems. Kids and I loved exploring the grounds. They were doing some improvements to the outdoor parts while we were there, but it was still very nice.

What set this place apart were the hosts and staff, who treated us all like family. Although my kids don't speak much Spanish, owner James played and communicated with them perfectly. My 10 year old said James was his favorite part of staying here!

On our last night, I became very ill and could not leave in the morning with the rest of the family for our excursion and transfer to Cusco. James and the staff not only let me stay in the room until 3pm when my family returned, but also made me special tea, checked in on me, and refused to accept an extra day's payment for the room. He explained that we reminded him of his children and grandchildren and would not hear of charging us extra (but we left money in the room, we're sneaky!).

Although this is not a five star hotel, all five of us would highly recommend it for a peaceful and very friendly place to stay in a cute little town. The hosts really set this place apart.

Room Tip: We liked our room in the main building near the breakfast room. It felt like being in a house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travlinmomz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas, USA
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed here three nights and loved every minute of it. The hotel is located two blocks from the main plaza and a lot of restaurants. The staff was EXTREMELY helpful, always checking to see if you needed anything. The hotel grounds have wonderful gardens and are very peaceful. The room we stayed in did not have heat, but we didn't really need it. It was quite chilly outside but once you were in bed, you were completely comfortable. The hotel can provide space heaters if you need them, we got one but ended up only using it in the bathroom.

I recommend the services of Raul as a taxi from Cusco to the hotel and vice versa. He also took us on a day trip to Moray and the salt flats at a very reasonable rate. He even told you information about the places you passed. He may have been a little more expensive than if we found a taxi on our own, but not much and we felt very safe with him.

The breakfast provided is not your traditional American breakfast, more similar to the kind you would find in Europe. The fresh juices were wonderful and I will miss them!

I would love to stay here again if I ever return to Peru. After seeing Urubamba and Pisac I am glad we decided to stay in Ollantaytambo as it was much more peaceful and didn't look run down like some other places in Peru.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs because drivers in Peru are very horn-happy. Arrange for the hotel to pick you up at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMD915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Really enjoyed this hotel (it's listed as a hostel, but I don't think that does it justice). Great friendly welcome, open fire, coca tea. Clean room which was smallish, but all we did was crash there anyway. Lovely building with nice gardens only a short walk to the town centre (the best town to stay in in the area by the way). Highly recommended and great value too.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honkycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Samanapaq is a wonderful place before or after exploring the Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu. Clean and spacy rooms, very friendly staff and the best breakfast menu during our whole Peru trip. We can recommend Samanapaq without any doubts.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheresaFra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.3 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
397 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
1,578 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sol
Hotel Sol
#11 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Samanapaq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Samanapaq

Property: Hotel Samanapaq
Address: Corner of the Alameda de Las Cien Ventanas / Pallpamccaro, Ollantaytambo, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Samanapaq 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Samanapaq reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Samanapaq Hotel Ollantaytambo
Hotel Samanapaq Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing