We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hosts and accommodations provided a warm welcome to Peru!”
Review of Hotel Samanapaq

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Samanapaq
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The hosts and accommodations provided a warm welcome to Peru!”
Reviewed March 31, 2011

The Samanapaq and Ollantaytambo were a wonderful place to begin our trip in Peru. The quality of the Samanapaq facilities, grounds and breakfast were all significantly better than we expected. We liked our two nights there so much that came back two days later after our visit to Machu Picchu. Above all other positives, the warmth of the hosts was what we sincerely appreciated the most.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAdams_Travel_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    114
    29
    5
    3
See reviews for
83
151
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
606 reviews
283 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 470 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

There are two things that I want to comment on - firstly the warmth and genuine welcome of the owners, secondly the hotel and grounds were wonderful.

We went for a walk up to the fortress one day, and the next to the grain silos on the hill opposite, and for this the owner escorted us through neighbours garden to ensure we were on the right path.

The only complaint I had was that at night the lighting was dull, and I mean dull not romantic. The heater did struggle to warm the room at night. But that apart everything was beyond reproach.

I should mention the breakfast with mountains of different home made cakes. The also have tea and coffee free on tap for you to make yourself during the day

Someone said "a hidden gem" and I would agree.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moraira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed the quiet, bountiful breakfasts, internet, English language cable channels, satellite music and beautiful surroundings. We can be very picky but this place lacks nothing. I wish all hotels were like this, we would travel more often. Easily the best accomodations we had our entire 14 days in Peru/Chile. We could have stayed in the Sacred Valley a week and not seen everything. The next time we come we'll stay here and take our time. Writing about Hostal Samanapaq brings back all kinds of great memories. 2 thumbs up!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GulfShrimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

What a great time we had at this hostal with James and his family. The best place to stay, close to everything, peaceful and the breakfast was delicious and generous.
Ollantaytambo and the Samanapaq have so much to offer. THIS IS A MUST!
Thank you again James for your warm welcome and all your kindest.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caymanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
162 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2011

We arrived here after a wet afternoon in Aguas Calientas. The warm welcome, hotel and rooms far surpassed anything we could have expected. We were given a choice of three rooms, all of which looked marvellous. Our room was roomy, with very comfortable beds and an amazing bathroom- no bath but a shower with 6 jets- granted not all of them worked but the power of the shower was just what was needed. Manela and her daughter were so attentive and quickly lit the fire and set our wet gear out in the lounge to dry off.

Breakfast was great- a real variety of stuff we had not seen before in Peru. This was by far the best breakfast we had while in Peru. The only comment would be that we were the only guests and the spread for breakfast was just huge. I am sure the food won't go to waste but there was so much.

The grounds and pottery 'shed' was lovely- we hung out in hammocks for a while after breakfast then went off exploring the ruins nearby. I could not fault this hostel. Attention to detail is clearly a priority and making people feel welcome is something that appears to come naturally. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helensuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2011

We spent 3 wonderful nights at Hostal Samanapaq on 25-27 December, 2010. The hostal is located in a quiet area of Ollantaytambo and convenient (easy walking distance) to the train station, Inca ruins, restaurants, and shopping. James and Manela are the most gracious host and hostess and helpful in every way. Their breakfasts are plentiful and nutritious and tea, coffee, and internet is always available in the lobby. The gated and secure grounds include a gorgeous botanical garden and Manela's pottery shop. Our stay here was the highlight of our trip to Peru and highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank norskusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

If you're going to Ollantaytambo, you should stay here. Walking distance to the plaza, ruins, and market. It couldn't have been better. James and his family made sure everything went perfectly, including our plentiful sack lunch, dinner for seven in their dining room, getting our laundry done in a timely manner, arranging a driver to take us back to Cusco when our driver overslept, and a heater for our room.
Many thanks to this family for their wonderful attention to detail and comfort.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ready-to-retire59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.6 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#5 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sol
Hotel Sol
#10 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Samanapaq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Samanapaq

Property: Hotel Samanapaq
Address: Corner of the Alameda de Las Cien Ventanas / Pallpamccaro, Ollantaytambo, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Samanapaq 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Samanapaq reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Samanapaq Hotel Ollantaytambo
Hotel Samanapaq Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing