We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place”
Review of Chaska Wasi B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chaska Wasi B&B
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A special place”
Reviewed January 19, 2010

We spent 4 nights in Ollantaytambo at Chaska Wasi hostel. The hostel is located in the old walled part of the city some of it from Inca days. More importantly, Katty the owner was unbelievably helpful. She created a wonderful atmosphere at the hostel, making a New Year's eve dinner for all of the guests.

As others have said, the upper level floors have a wonderful view of the valley and the nearby ruins. The hostel offers a great value..

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderer71Alaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    29
    25
    3
    8
See reviews for
8
42
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2009

Staying at Chaska Wasi was a pleasure!!After a hard time in Cuzco we found a place to rest and relax.The room was lovely,very clean and warm,and with hot water!!!Katy and her brother were ever so helpful and friendly.When my rucksack fell apart they took me to the local market,found the right man and explained everything (my Spanish wouldnt let me do it;)) so I was sorted in less than 30 minutes!!
If you are in Ollantaytambo thats the place to stay:))

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank machuca68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben Lomond, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2009

My friend and I stayed here one night on the way to Machu Picchu and then stayed an additional five nights on the way back through. I can't recommend this place enough. Top of the line. Katy is very helpful, and has great service. We stayed on the top floor that the other reviewer mentioned and, yes, it offers a great view of the ruins. If I ever return to Ollantaytampo (which I hope to do next year) I will definitely rent a room at Chaska Wasi Hostal.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koteek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
415 reviews
205 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2008

Katy is the ultimate host, friendly, informative. Backpacker beds for S/.20@, basic kitchen, two cable TVs, and the upper-level rooms have great views of the town and the valley.

  • Liked — Katy, the manager.
  • Disliked — No short-comings at all!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperDave47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.3 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#5 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sol
Hotel Sol
#10 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.3 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaska Wasi B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaska Wasi B&B

Property: Chaska Wasi B&B
Address: Calle Principal s/n, Ollantaytambo 08471, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chaska Wasi B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHASKA WASI was opened on October 20, 2002 . and from there we have grown with you .when was opened chaska wasi always felt more like home !! and that you can feel when you get over here !! clear now is a little bigger , but the essence does not change !!! chaska = star wasi = house "House with stars " so that the hostel does not lose its name , it is always important to look at the stars .so now we have spectacular views of the stars !! when you get to Ollantaytambo first you imagine it is, be within the story. Walking through these narrow streets , all built with stones and have next to water channels , which were built in the Inca era. CHASKA WASI is within the APU Pinkulluna . so we have our own entrance on the colcas . opposite the hostel we can see the tree Pisonay with more than 160 years old. There are also hikes of 1, 2, 4 and 6 hours. quarries, Inca bridge, Intipunku , Pumamarka and native communities ( Willoc , Yanamayo Patacancha ) in general can ask how to get to places. ollantaytambo enjoy !!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Chaska Wasi B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaska Wasi B&B Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing