We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“location, quiet, nice staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tikawasi Valley Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Tikawasi Valley Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“location, quiet, nice staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

It is two minutes walk to Ollantaytambo and 15 minutes walk to train station or 3 peso for tutu. It is easy 4 minutes walk to town center, where you can find plenty of restaurants and a mini market.
The hotel staff is helpful and let us store luggage a day in advance for our Machupichu trip. Our room is on the third floor and the staff carry our luggage to the room before we got into our room. The breakfast is typical with yogurt, several kinds of cut fruits, egg at the way you like them to cook, and ham/cheese, ... We paid $55 for twin room and well valued.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    86
    28
    11
    2
See reviews for
53
74
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed here two nights before going to Machu Picchu and one night after returning. The ruins in Ollantaytambo are also amazing and you can see them from the hotel. The hotel backs up to the ruins. The town is nice and a relaxing experience compared to Cuzco. Some nice little places to eat and some great bakeries near by. The people who run the hotel are very friendly and helpful. We left for Machu Picchu VERY early on the train and the hotel provided us with a bag breakfast which was more than sufficient. The walk to the train was about 10 minutes on a street that wasn't completely lit but felt safe. The rooms were clean and there was plenty of hot water. They provide a hair dryer in room. The Wi-Fi was spotty, but I'm not sure any place in the valley would have great Wi-Fi? Nice court yard for relaxing. Daily breakfast of fruit, bread, cereal, coffee, ham, cheese, yogurt and eggs to order. Only complaint is that some of the other patrons are noisy when coming back from Machu Picchu and leaving early in the morning. They do have signs up to remind people to be quiet but the walls were thin. I would recommend this place as an access to Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

A very nice, updated hotel at a reasonable price. Everything about this place is lovely: the facility, the cute courtyard, the staff, the service, the breakfast that was included in the price. We had stayed at another nice hotel in Ollantaytambo that we also loved prior to our stay here. The only difference is that Tikawasi Valley seemed to have newer/more modern furniture & fixtures: the building, the bed, the comforter, etc (the other hotel had more of a cottage feel, which was nice & comfortable as well).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lotfius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star City, Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

My wife and I spent only one night at this hotel on our way to Machu Picchu. We loved our clean , comfortable room with two queen sized beds. The room was uniquely constructed and tastefully and cleverly decorated. The bathroom was also very nice. The service was outstanding. We got a 4:30 am wake up so we could catch the 6:10 train to Aguas Calientes. A light breakfast had been prepared for us. The hotel is a five minute walk from the main square and a ten minute walk to the train station. Near the train station, there are many little shops open at this time of the morning selling all kinds of merchandise. We bought bug spray on the advice of one vendor; we never saw the first bug at Machu Picchu. The train ride is spectacular with the best view on the left side going to Aguas Calientes and on the right side returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doodles45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

This hotel has checks all the boxes for a mid-range hotel. The rooms offer hair dryers, hot showers and heat (ask for a heater) which are all great on cold nights. There are also tvs with satellite but internet and satellite are spotty in the valley. The grounds are really well tended with thoughtful touches like fresh flowers, vaulted wood ceilings and some rooms with inca walls. The hotel is very clean and the people are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is good with eggs to order. The hotel is in sight of the Ollantaytambo ruins and a very short walk from the plaza. This is a really great little town and great hotels. We extended our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank designcunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed here two nights as our launching point for Machu Picchu. It was nice. I liked how they had accommodations for a family of 4. They even provided breakfast for us when we needed to catch the 6:10 train to Machu Picchu. The breakfast was good and they had WiFi. It was not the most dependable, but it was enough to check e-mail. Sometime it was a little hard to make Skype calls. The rooms were fine. They were clean and they sufficed for what we needed. The street could get a little noisy, especially if you want to go to sleep early to sleep in late. The little courtyard was nice and quaint. They are close to the Temple of Ollantaytambo and a short walk to the train station. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

I stayed in Tikawasi last May 3-5, 2014. My room was at 3rd floor, with a very beautiful view of the archeological site which are just few steps away from this hotel. The location is excellent. The service is excellent. My room is spacious. Breakfast was good. Nothing I could ask for, really!

But the real deal was Shelly, the friendliest and most helpful person ever. She recommended the best restaurants in town, she helped me with my itineraries, she arranged my luggage to be transported to Cusco as I cannot bring them in Aguas Calientes, and so much more. Shelly became my hero in Ollantaytambo, and I was very grateful that she works for Tikawasi. The hotel alone made my first Sacred Valley destination memorable, but Shelly served as a cherry on top of my very beautiful and sweet stay in Ollanta.

You should stay in Takawasi if ever you are stopping at Ollantaytambo. Everyone in this hotel are friendly and nice people. If ever I would be given a chance to visit Peru again, I will make sure to find ways to visit Tikawasi and Shelly once again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richpad2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.0 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#3 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sol
Hotel Sol
#9 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.0 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tikawasi Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tikawasi Valley Hotel

Property: Tikawasi Valley Hotel
Address: Calle La Convencion s/n - Ollantaytambo, Ollantaytambo, Peru
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tikawasi Valley Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tikawasi Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tikawasi Valley Hotel Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing