We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
In high demand - travelers recommend booking ahead!
  
Ways to Experience Santuario Historico de Machu Picchu
from $48.00
More Info
from $48.00
More Info
from $351.00
More Info
from $131.70
More Info
Reviews (18,521)
Filter reviews
18,521 results
Traveler rating
16,978
1,132
277
74
60
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16,978
1,132
277
74
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the bus bucket list sun gate inca trail seven wonders magical place next morning once in a lifetime early in the morning awe inspiring dream come true uncover latin america bug spray sanctuary lodge hiram bingham private guide rainy season
Filter
Updating list...
2,609 - 2,614 of 18,521 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2016

Machu Picchu was built in the 15th century and then abandoned in unknown date. The Urubamba River runs around Machu Picchu but about 2000 feet below. It is an ancient city of cut stone fit together without mortar so tightly that its cracks still can’t be penetrated by a knife blade. The city has more than 150 buildings ranging from baths and houses to temples and sanctuaries. Buildings, walls, terraces, ramps were constructed on the steep mountainous terrain and make the city blend into the rock slopes on which they were built. Locals and some scientist believe that the citadel was built with a shape of a condor. The American archaeologist Hiram Bingham "discovered" Machu Pichu in 1911.
This was and is a mystic place to the locals. You must go! Be prepared to suffer a little bit of "puna" or mountain sickness but it is well justified by this "breath taking" ancient place.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank Dr-Bea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2016

Most breath taking location I have been to would definitely recommend anyone to go here, it makes you wonder how they build this ruins as its such a isolated location.

I did the hike up Huayna Picchu and would recommend doing that for the full view of the site below, but a word of warning the hike up can be steep at times, have no railing to hold onto and for some daunting but well worth it.

Yes it is high up in the mountains, be prepared for rain it will happen but it doesn't has long maybe 30 minutes at the most. Remember to bring insect replant as there are alot of bugs that will bite you I saw some travellers when the day finished and their arms were red raw with bites all over their legs and arms.

I would recommend wearing jeans and a tee shirt and a hat and shoes you dont care about if you are going to hike up one of the mountains as mine got quite dirty and the paths on the site are dirt once it rains it starts getting muddy.

Date of experience: October 2015
2  Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2016 via mobile

Truly lives up to the expectations as it's such a beautiful place. Despite the large cost of getting there, hotels, buses etc. it's well worth it. We climbed Machu Picchu mountain as well and had some great views, many said it was better than wanya Picchu. The climb was steeper than expected and not a stroll in the park but worth it. Wouldn't recommend if you are easily scared by heights.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank obrunckhorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2016 via mobile

It's one of the seven wonders of the world so of course it's an amazing place, it will leave you speechless and it's definitely a mystic place.

However there are too many rules and you can't really enjoy the place 100%.
First of all, toilets are outside the main entrance (1 sole to pay) and you can re-entry only twice.
In the site you are not allowed to smoke (which I don't smoke but I understand the necessity), you are not allowed to drink from plastic bottles or eat (in this case guards might close an eye, just try to be discrete). I do understand the care for the site, but it's a bit extreme: I think it would be much easier to put a fine in case you damage/drop litter around.

Also, you basically can't jump or sit on the border of the stairs, and trust me as soon as you do it a guard will whistle!

There are a few treks you can do around the site, I highly recommend the one that leads you to the Inka bridge: it takes you only 15 minutes to get to the end of the trek and it's worth it, the view on the way it's stunning and the end will leave you speechless!

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Lizzabetzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2016

Let's be honest, you probably came to Peru to visit Machu Picchu, and I don't blame you. It's definitely a sight to behold. We had 3 days in Cuzco to get acclimated to the high altitude which I highly recommend doing beforehand because you wouldn't want to feel sick when at Machu Picchu!

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank EvanEdinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews