We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be everyone's bucket list”

Santuario Historico de Machu Picchu
Book In Advance
More Info
$48.00*
and up
Admission Ticket to Machu Picchu Ruin and Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Reviewed August 26, 2015

Trip was planned well in advance with help from Diane Valenti of Llama Expeditions. Starting out in Lima at the Manderin in Miraflores thru Cusco, Sacred Valley, Macchu Picchu and colorful train ride to Lake Titicaca. Diane either met us or had excellent guides weave us around the maze called Lima and / or Cusco. Had reservations at both Gaston Acurio restaurants and an off the beaten path cerviche place (where we were pleasantly surprised). Diane also made arrangements for us to visit an indigenous school to observe and dine with the children and their families. Accommodations throughout were outstanding and we were fortunate to book the Sanctuary in Machu Pichu for three couples. My recommendation if you're traveling this far is to take a few more days for the train ride and trip to Lake Titicaca.
The personalized guidance and service we received from Llama made this trip most memorable.

Date of experience: May 2015
Thank kaloudisg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (18,429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"the bus"
in 1,246 reviews
"bucket list"
in 752 reviews
"sun gate"
in 818 reviews
"inca trail"
in 677 reviews
"seven wonders"
in 100 reviews
"magical place"
in 164 reviews
"next morning"
in 188 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 225 reviews
"early in the morning"
in 205 reviews
"awe inspiring"
in 153 reviews
"dream come true"
in 92 reviews
"uncover latin america"
in 136 reviews
"bug spray"
in 93 reviews
"sanctuary lodge"
in 140 reviews
"hiram bingham"
in 87 reviews
"private guide"
in 88 reviews
"rainy season"
in 136 reviews
Filter

3,835 - 3,839 of 18,429 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2015 via mobile

Llama Expeditions and Diane Valenti created a memorable trip to Peru and Macchu Picchu for me and my husband which will always be one of our most memorable vacations. Their attention to details and diversity of experiences provided us with an opportunity to enjoy the richness of this wonderful country and people.

Diane was able to make arrangements for us to stay at the sanctuary at the top of Macchu Picchu. Besides being an amazing hotel, we were able to step out the front door and enter the park when the gates opened. We experienced breathtaking views at multiple levels as we hiked among the ruins and watched the fog lift to reveal the enchanted village.

Our Llama Expeditions guide, Tomas, provide exceptional service to meet our requests. We are both photographers and he went out of his way to point out, and take us to, sights that are not normally photographed.

If you are planning a trip to Peru, we highly recommend working with Diane and her team!

Date of experience: September 2014
Thank 853KathrynG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2015

Make sure you ask your doctor for a prescription to prevent altitude sickness. Good sneakers, a hat...and endurance. The going gets tough but worth it. It's amazing to Learnabout the Inca society and see the remains. Key is to travel with a well established tour company that provides a top notch guide v

Date of experience: August 2015
1  Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2015 via mobile

You can read other reviews but you know this place is incredible. A journey to get to but worth it to see the sites. Bring bug spray, I wish I had read more warnings. The sand flies are awful and will get on your exposed legs and arms. Wear long pants and sleeves but get bug spray. It's 2 days later and we are still applying itch cream.
Other tips is to get there as early as possible to avoid the larger crowds. I got tickets to Climb Hyanapichhu but we had to turn back. It was to dangerous for my 6 and year olds. Other than that they enjoyed exploring and seeing the llamas.

Date of experience: August 2015
3  Thank Ghiatrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2015

We booked 7 day trip with this agency Uncover Latin America, they are really good, great communication throughout, we had a few problems with luggage and altitude and they went our of their way to make sure we had the best time possible. I would highly recommend them.

Now to Machu Picchu, the place is stunning. The views are amazing my husband and kids were taken away by the magic you feel up there. Get there early to really enjoy it. Take lots fo water and snacks for the kids. Aguas Calientes doesnt have much to offer so honestly you dont need to plan to spend a long time there.

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santuario Historico de Machu Picchu also viewed

Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
 
Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Santuario Historico de Machu Picchu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing