We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Machu Picchu”
Review of Machu Picchu

Machu Picchu
Book In Advance
More Info
$115.00*
and up
Machu Picchu Private Guided Tour from Aguas Calientes
More Info
$147.00*
and up
Machu Picchu Entrance with Lunch at Tinkuy Buffet Restaurant
More Info
$346.99*
and up
Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
kihei
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Machu Picchu”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Despite warnings not to visit during rainy season, the weather was fine with brief showers. The passing clouds and mist gave a magic to the photos not otherwise seen. And, there were not so many people visiting the site.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank gmorgan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15,705 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14,429
    963
    222
    51
    40
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Truly impressive. We had seen a number of Incan ruins, but Machu Picchu was well preserved and gave an excellent sense of the Incan life. Impressive views from the top of MP into the valley.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wtpihc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A wonder of the world - gotta do it!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Get a guide (before you go is better) and go early! Get on the first buses from Aguas Caliente (between 5:30-6:00am)... an early morning, but you won't regret it!

Take food with you, as its expensive at M.P. Bathrooms are only located at the entrance, so use them before you go in (they cost one sole - keep your ticket as you can reuse it during your stay).

Do the Wayna Picchu hike!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank meekiejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B'ham
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great if you know what to expect”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We booked Machu Picchu and not Wayne Picchu as all the guide books tell you the later is very steep and only for those with no fear of heights at all. At no time does anything refer to Machu Picchu being similar.
Obviously it's high up but none of the pictures or guide books tell you that to get in you have to overcome a fearsome bus ride to the top (similar to Death Road in Bolivia) and then have to walk along a very narrow ledge for a few minutes to get onto the site.
I had explained I have a fear of steep drops and was told I would be OK. I paid an additional $20 dollars for a tour guide along with entry to the site and the bus up there. By the time we got off the bus I was so shaken I could not go in the park. Needless to say money wasted. On a positive note my husband went off on the tour and had a great time. My only frustration is had they been honest with me I could have stayed in the village doing stuff rather than sitting at the top of the mountain waiitng. I would also add February is not a good time to travel here. There is a risk of landslides and the driving conditions are poor (even the guide admitted it was dodgy this time of year).
Don't let is review put you off, just know your limitations.
My husband later showed me video footage of what is a beautiful site.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank JudithChalmers_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Travel to Peru and Ecuador with Gate1 Travel”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This was our first time travel with Gate1 travel and it was a great experiences. The schedule was really good, one long day tour, second day at leisure or participate optional tour. The hotels arrangement were excellent, and the guides were very knowledgeable. Talking to other travelers with Gate1 and they all had possitive experiences. Will definitely go with Gate1 again. Mahcu Picchu was great, learned a lot about the Inka culture and it was truely an amazing experiences. Our next tour with Gate1 will be Aficica!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pianochick488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Machu Picchu also viewed

Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
 
Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Machu Picchu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing