We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
less popular but dont miss it

this is one of the lesser known attractions at machu picchu but it should be on your list of things... read more

Reviewed October 12, 2016
robnkim
,
alberta
Wonder view I can't express how beautiful this is

Just to stare at it makes you so relax to see Mother Nature and the incredible place the inka's... read more

Reviewed August 24, 2016
Live2travel07
,
Miami, Florida
Read all 47 reviews
  
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveler rating
7
6
4
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
6
4
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 17 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2016

this is one of the lesser known attractions at machu picchu but it should be on your list of things to see while you are there. make sure to wear bug spray and sun block, really you will regret it if you do not.

1  Thank robnkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2016

Just to stare at it makes you so relax to see Mother Nature and the incredible place the inka's build for themselves is absolutely unbelievable I just thank god I had the opportunity to visit this once in a lifetime world wonder.

2  Thank Live2travel07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2016

If you do the 4D/3N Inca trail you'll pass above the site. It makes for a great stop along the way. Our tour guide gave us a 20 min class on the Inca Civilization and importance of villages like this.

1  Thank Nolan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2016 via mobile

This was the first ruin we saw along the inca trail. It was unique and magical to look down upon it from up high on a cliff. I highly recommend Sam travel Peru as your trek operator. Good and fair cost, excellent guides, and gourmet food.

1  Thank chelseasly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2016

We visited this as part of our trek of the Salkantay, a fantastic trek, glad we did this and not the Inca Trail, far more authentic, less crowded and more rewarding.

Thank Dtothebtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2016

One of the many beautiful examples of ancient terraced Incan cities found along the inca trail, it is the first sight you see along the trail and it is breathtaking, both in its location and lit up by the sun.

Thank NiallODonoghue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2015

If you travel with Amazonas Explorer, you get to camp under this sight for the first day, and then tour it on their slower "5-Day Inca Trail". It's well worth it. The place is amazing in the sunrise, and the sun temple is very interesting, and you can go in it (and there are no crowds), making this site give something that Machu Picchu can't. Also, afterwards there is an optional path up a cliff side to get a great view from above -- if you're not too feint of heart, do it! The view is magnificent.

Thank Aidski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2015

Seeing the size of this complex brings home the scale of the agriculture necessary to serve the Machu Picchu area. Even allowing for some restoration there is also the engineering achievement to build these secure terraces.
A must stop and listen to your guide.

Thank Signum32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2015

This is one of the first ruins we looked at on the Inca Trail. Our guide Hernan Hermoza gave us lots of interesting information about it. We took time to look and absorb this beautiful site. You look down on it from the trail. Amazing. My advice on the Inca Trail Hike is to take time to look around and enjoy the beauty rather than rush to be the first one to get to the next camp. So much to absorb here.

1  Thank Mary Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2014

i saw this place on the way to macchu picchu, but didn't get a chance to stop by. wish i did tho. it looks amazing to visit.

Thank antking1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews