We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A worthwhile hike to the Sun Gate”
Review of Intipuncu

Intipuncu
Book In Advance
More Info
$52.00*
and up
Private Guided Tour in Machu Picchu
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A worthwhile hike to the Sun Gate”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

After touring the main Machu Picchu site, we set off on the trail to the Sun Gate. Plan for about 2 hours or so round trip. The views of the mountains and valleys along the path was spectacular as small misty clouds would drift past the steep mountains and through the valleys below. When we reached the sun gate, we were treated to a view of Machu Picchu below, brightly lit up in the sunlight. The hike itself is not difficult, and my "fear of heights" wife managed the entire walk.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Parker-Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    766
    187
    43
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
301 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Walk in the Inca's shoes”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The Inca's passed through the sun gate en route to Machu Picchu. A 45 minute (or so) walk will put you high (1,500 feet) above Machu Picchu and give you the same view that the arriving Incan's saw when they made the pilgrimage. The views were great, but the sense of history was equally important in our enjoyment of the sun gate.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mmeyernos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Made it to the Sun Gate, thank goodness it is downhill from there”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We came from the inka trail and were up at 3:30 a.m. Because the Porters needed to be back at Aguas Calientes early enough to catch the train. We had to wait in line and then finally started the last day of hiking. We climbed up the "gringo killer" final steps and made it through the Sun Gate with a sense of relief. We had made it. It was a downhill hike from there and easy although expect some people who took the bus from Aguas Calientes to Machu Picchu to be trying to hike up the narrow parh while you hike down. Admittedly, the SunGate was a bit anticlimactic. I think we all were tired and just wanted to get to Machu Picchu.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“One of the best views”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We were so happy to arrive here just as the sun was rising. The views were just spectacular. It is a must to get there before the sun rises to get the full feel for the place. Amazing.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TeeMcPhee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Morning View”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is the place you want to be in for sunrise over Machu Picchu. If you take the first bus up from Aguas Calientes, you may be able to hike up here in time to see it. (If you do the Inca Trail trek, your guide will be sure you get there in time to see it, as you pass through here on your way into Machu Picchu).

This is the location from which photographers take that iconic, postcard shot of Machu Picchu down below. Warning, though: if it's a cloudy day, you may see nothing but clouds, as Machu Picchu is at a lower elevation and this is all considered part of the "cloud forest." Nothing you can really do about that, unfortunately. But weather can change quickly, so don't give up too fast!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank davises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Intipuncu also viewed

Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
 
Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Intipuncu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing