We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do the math - it really is worth it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2014

You can travel pretty far on this planet and in the end, Machu Picchu will rank up there as one of the most amazing places to visit. With that said, why not stay just steps from the entrance to enhance your visit. Sure you can save some money staying down in Machu Picchu Pueblo (nee Aguas Calientes) but the hassle to get up and down the mountain, the bus fares and the time away from the citadel should sway you toward the Sanctuary Lodge. Did I mention you can sit in the hot tub and look up at the ruins? Food (all meals) were outstanding (alpaca steak was my favorite). Atmosphere and service were very good. Rooms were a bit small but, heck, you are sleeping on the front porch of a Wonder of the World. Book it!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ozdess9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,122)
There are newer reviews for Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

895 - 901 of 2,122 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2014

Fantastic location especially if you have trekked inca trail. Staff, food, drinks, service fantastic. Great to be able to access Machu Picchu before sunrises and as sun sets. Thoroughly recommend a massage.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

This hotel couldn't be more conveniently located to Machu Picchu, and it's worth it. The rooms are very nice, extremely clean, with good A/C, lots of TV channels (if that matters), and fairly good WiFi. The mini-bar food and drink was all included, which was a pleasant surprise. I stayed in one of the rooms with a mountain view - but don't get too excited since the hotel faces away from Machu Picchu, so the view is of the other beautiful mountains in the area.

The restaurant was amazingly good - with food that was prepared close to 5-star quality and presentation. I had the Alpaca main course, which was delicious.

I also got a 55-minute "Inca" massage at the Spa, and it was very relaxing, and a good idea before my hike up Huaynu Picchu the next day.

Well worth staying here if you plan to visit Machu Picchu for more than a day trip (and you should)!

Room Tip: Ask for the mountain view if you want it. They had a Pisco Sour tasting at 6:30 when I was there...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

This was a special treat for us. The location cannot be beat. Being able to rise early to explore Machu Picchu, return to the hotel for a respite and then close Machu Picchu down is a very unique experience. The rooms might not be biggest, but they don’t skip a beat with how they’re filled. I applaud the hotel for not nickel-and-diming you because you are above town. All of our meals, non-premium drinks and mini-fridge items are included in the rate. There is a mad rush at the buffet, but you never have to enter that part of the building. The restaurant was for hotel guests only so you were able to find reprieve. Don’t miss the nightly Pisco tasting. Heber did an excellent job at explaining Pisco and made us a few beverages with Pisco other than the Pisco Sour. Overall a wonderful experience.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank DauphineGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

My wife and I booked a two night stay at this location in one of the "terrace" rooms May 8-10, 2014. Although pricey at $2,700.00, we did not regret our decision. Room assigned (#40) was quiet, comfortable & well located in the lodge. Staff support was outstanding. Meals and drinks provided were of excellent quality (my wife is gluten intolerant and kitchen staff went out of their way to accomodate). Location is the very best to be found. There are cheaper lodging options in Macchu Piccu but....it is a long half hour bus ride away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jestom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Expensive: yes. Is it a 5-star hotel? No. As everyone already said, you are paying for the location. I do not regret at all splurging for one night especially after 4 days hiking the Inca Trail. Enjoy the prime location and good service. We loved it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adriane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

A friend recommended we stay here for our Machu Picchu trip, she said it was worth the outrageous price. She was right! We stayed here one night and loved every minute. The food was outstanding.

Make sure you order the Trout Ceviche - you will not be disappointed.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Christy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, General Manager at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machu Picchu
1.3 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,861 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel
Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Machu Picchu
545 reviews
1.4 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,061 reviews
1.5 mi away
Andino Hotel
Andino Hotel
#2 of 5 in Machu Picchu
44 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Sanctuary Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Sanctuary Lodge

Address: Carretera Hiram Bingham Km 7.5 | Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu 5184, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Price Range: $554 - $1,407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Sanctuary Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge enjoys a unique location just steps from the entrance to Machu Picchu; it is the only hotel beside the Inca citadel. This charming mountain retreat, set in orchid gardens, is the perfect place to relax, from early in the morning to magical moonlit nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Sanctuary Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge By Orient-Express Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Hotel
Sanctuary Lodge Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing