We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view and peaceful environment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Certificate of Excellence
Temple, Tx
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and peaceful environment”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This hotel sits next to the Machu Picchu reserve making it a great location for touring the historic site. It is on the side of a mountain so the views can be spectacular. We had two meals that were excellent. Bar service good. The rooms were roomy if a bit spartan (keep in mind that you can only get here by climbing a mountain). Very peaceful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DocBobTemple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,347
    470
    174
    54
    29
See reviews for
433
1,091
87
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Although the rooms are not large or elaborate, they are fine, and the food at the a la carte restaurant is very good. Everyone tries to be as helpful as possible. The location is, of course, the key. It is the only place to stay at Machu Picchu -- about 20 yards from the entrance. You can enter before the daytripper crowds; you can go back to the hotel for a nice lunch and then return to the site. You can be at the site late in the afternoon, when the crowds have left. BUT, don't take the Hiram Bingham train when you leave. If you do, you must leave your room by 11 am and then hang around until 4:30, when the bus takes you to the train. During that time, the only facility is a "day room" that is crowded with 8 people, and has 2 bath/showers which are not well maintained. If the weather is good, you can sit outside. But if not, you are stuck in the day room. Also, the Hiram Bingham train itself is very expensive ($280) for what you get -- an ok meal in a fancy dining car, but in the evening when you can't see the landscape.

Room Tip: avoid a room overlooking the bus parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacques1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We read several descriptions of the Sanctuary Lodge at the gate to Machu Picchu which described it as like a Holiday Inn. We absolutely disagree. The rooms are basic but pleasant and the location is superb. Situated less than 100 yards from the entrance to Machu Picchu, staying at the Lodge allows you early access to the site, before the buses arrive from Aquas Calientes, and allows you to linger in the afternoon as the crowds thin out to catch their buses back down the mountain. But better than that, the Lodge has a lovely dining room where you can retreat for lunch--it is much nicer than its cafeteria where the day visitors to Machu Picchu have lunch. It is pretty, open and light and the food is very good. And staying there allows you to go to your room after the morning at the site, clean up, lie down if you want, and then foray back for an afternoon at the site. And the service is excellent. We had a problem with our air conditioning and within 10 minutes, a repairman was there. When he couldn't fix it, a fan was immediately brought to our room, and then within the next 20 minutes someone else had come to fix the AC and it worked. Everyone is pleasant and friendly. Good wifi in the rooms. The only criticism we had was that the "Day Room" which they offer for people leaving late in the day is totally inadequate. It has two nice bathrooms for showers, but the seating area comfortably holds 5 or 6, and the afternoon we were needed it, there were about 15 people who needed it. Luckily the weather was nice and so we were able to sit outside on the terrace. They need to fix this situation as it leaves a bad taste in your mouth for an otherwise lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: you can ask for a view of Huaina Picchu. Noisier because of the buses, although that is only from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

stay at the Sanctuary was a very bad idea, it is a maybe 2 star hotel, the noise from the street and the food are the worst I ever experience.
the room rate is very expensive compare what you get.
stay aguas calientes ,

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lriande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments in Trip advisor and helping us in improving our services. The commitment of Belmond Sanctuary Lodge is to give the best to our guests and your overall impressions about your stay are very important to us.

I sincerely regret to know that we have not met your expectations and reiterate our commitment to excellence in service. We are constantly working in improving our Lodge facilities. We already started a refurbishing of our public areas and rooms with new materials, furniture, with a contemporaneous decoration in order to upgrade the lodge facilities and always correspond to our guest’s expectations.

We count with a sample room totally restyled with a more contemporaneous decoration which counts with bright brand new fabrics, furniture and marbles. In the meantime, we believe our rooms offer character, authenticity and comfort and are priced accordingly reminding that our rates are All-Inclusive.

I deeply value your comments and renew our permanent commitment in keeping on with all the efforts and focus to maintain the facilities of Belmond Sanctuary Lodge and our renowned service quality at their best with the firm intention to deliver the best service and experience to our guests.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

The only place to stay when visiting Machu Picchu! The food & service were both outstanding. The rack of lamb was the best we have ever had.
When factoring in the price of the outstanding food and good wine included in the price of the room...we found the room rate very reasonable considering the one of a kind location.

The concierge arranged a very good private guide for us (Freddy). Freddie's command of the English language was excellent as was the depth of his knowledge regarding the Incas.

Staying at this ideal location gives you the flexibility you need to truly enjoy Machu Picchu. We relaxed in our room anytime the weather was not ideal....this would be impossible if you stay in Aquas Callientes. The hotel has free laundry service if you get wet...another nice touch.

Staying at the Sanctuary Lodge made our Machu Picchu visit.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DrBeach77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

My husband and I debated staying at the Sanctuary Lodge as part of our trip to Machu Picchu on the Hiram Bingham. Ultimately, we decided we didn't want to pack up 3 times in 3 days so we opted to keep our room at the sister hotel (Monasterio) in Cusco and come in for the day. So, to be clear, we did not stay over night at the Sanctuary Lodge and, after visiting for drinks and light snacks, we were so glad.

The Sanctuary Lodge is at the base of Machu Picchu which initially sounded really wonderful to us. What we didn't realize is that this is where all the tour buses drop off tourists, ticket counters are right outside the hotel entrance and many tours (including ours) end with swarms of tourists having afternoon tea inside the hotel. At starting rates of $750 USD when we considered booking, I was stunned. We thought this part of the hotel must be for other tourists and that there was a part that was reserved for hotel guests. wrong. We were told by hotel staff that the part of the hotel we saw was all there was. Here's what it included - a very ordinary entrance (again overrun by tourists who are visiting the ruins), a single cafeteria style restaurant and a bar/lounge. Furthermore, there is nothing within walking distance of the hotel with the exception of the entrance to Machu Picchu so, you really are stuck.

I would have felt very disappointed if I had spent so much money on such a mediocre experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank S0ulshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for sharing your comments in Trip advisor.
In the case our reception staff is requested for a site tour of our Lodge, they are always pleased to show our Lodge to our non-resident customers.

Unfortunately, it seems that you did not had the chance to see all the facilities that all our guests enjoy during their stay. You may have missed to see our fine dining restaurant and all the rich experiences that our endemic garden offers.
In the meantime, we believe our Lodge offers character, authenticity and comfort and is priced accordingly reminding that our rates are All-Inclusive.

Concerning hotels located in in the town of Aguascalientes, in the case you decide to stay in town, you may suffer of noise disturbances from local activities or trains engines and whistles. I think it is important to remind that on day time our guests usually appreciate sharing the active life of travelers visiting the ancient citadel. Also, after 5.00 pm until the next morning, our Lodge is the only place that stays in a total peacefulness, perfect moment to feel and interact with the energy of Machu Picchu ancient citadel.
Also from the time consumed by the bus trip, which between the line to purchase your bus ticket, the queue to get to the bus, the half an hour trip to get from the town to the Citadel and idem to go down, all in one day, the round trip take away an average of two hours away on your visit of Machu Picchu Citadel. Also, staying in our property offers to our guests the freedom to enter and exit the Citadel as many times as they wish during the day in order to lunch, refresh or rest for a while before to continue their discovery of Machu Picchu. This is at list what many of our guests are commenting.

Also, after your check out time, our Lodge offers the facility of an independent Day Room located in our garden, offering a privileged view on the magnificent Huayna Picchu and other surrounding mountains where our guests can rest or refresh after using our hot pond or visiting Machu Picchu until the last minute of their stay. Also, our lodge offers an endemic plants and trees, a medicinal herbs garden and a magnificent spot where our guests spend time discovering many species of colorful humming birds and a large variety of orchids.

Additionally, the exclusive access to our VIP lounge located in the train station allows our guests to wait for their train in the best conditions of comfort where one of our wait staff is serving complementary hot and cold beverages while local live music is played.

I deeply value your comments and renew our permanent commitment in keeping on with all the efforts and focus to maintain our Lodge infrastructure and renowned service quality at their best with the firm intention to deliver the best service and experience to our guests.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The Sanctuary Lodge

We stayed one night as part of an orient express tour within Peru. We travelled on the Hiram Bingham train (see my separate trip advisor report) and arrived at the hotel in the early afternoon. We were very pleased we chose to stay overnight at the edge of the park as we were able to visit on the late afternoon of our first day when many of the tourists had left for the day and again the next morning. It’s probably worth noting that there were less people about on the site in the late afternoon than in the morning.

Sadly the hotel was run and furnished on the basis that it was the only option for visitors. It felt like a very old-fashioned 1950s Government run hostel. The rooms were small and dowdy and the bathrooms with just a shower and toilet were tiny. Given that the hotel is right outside the gates of the park this is the area where all the buses drop off and collect their passengers. Any room at the front of the hotel will overlook this area and will be both noisy and dusty because of all the traffic.

It is therefore very important that a room is booked at the rear of the hotel or in one of the rooms with a patio overlooking the garden. We had to insist on a room change which was not gracefully forthcoming even though we had booked a Deluxe mountain view room we had been shown into a superior room which indeed has a view of the mountain but was at the front of the hotel overlooking the bus stop area. A number of managers had to be involved and eventually we were shown to the room type we had booked.

Our guide (an orient express guide who was with us for almost all our journey within Peru) was clearly embarrassed and was also demanding that the reception staff took us to the correct type of room. The food was adequate and as explained in the Hiram Bingham review there is a separate dining room for hotel guests and train passengers. The other food option is a canteen which was apparently very full.

However all these points seemed relatively trivial when you opened your curtains and looked out in the morning in the bright sunshine at the wonderful peaks of Machu Picchu. We were very pleased we had decided to stay here but very unclear what kind of deal or arrangement Orient express have had to sign up to to have this hotel within their portfolio, which is neither furnished or run to their standard.

To cap it all we foolishly gave the reception staff all our Machu Picchu postcards for friends and family and were charged on our bill for the stamps but six months later none have appeared either in the UK, the USA or the far east.

Please read my other trip advisor reviews of this trip: Hotel B Arts in Lima, the Hiram Bingham train, the Palacio Nazarenas and the Hotel Rio Sagrado.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank TheTonyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments in Trip advisor and helping us in improving our services with your comments.

I deeply value your comments and renew our permanent commitment in keeping on with all the efforts and focus to maintain the infrastructure of Belmond Sanctuary Lodge and our renowned service quality at their best with the firm intention to deliver the best service and experience to our guests.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machu Picchu
1.4 mi away
Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel
Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machu Picchu
518 reviews
1.3 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,788 reviews
1.4 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Andino Hotel
Andino Hotel
#3 of 3 in Machu Picchu
34 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,005 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Sanctuary Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Sanctuary Lodge

Property: Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Address: Carretera Hiram Bingham Km 7.5 | Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu 5184, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Sanctuary Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge enjoys a unique location just steps from the entrance to Machu Picchu; it is the only hotel beside the Inca citadel. This charming mountain retreat, set in orchid gardens, is the perfect place to relax, from early in the morning to magical moonlit nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Belmond, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Sanctuary Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge By Orient-Express Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Hotel
Sanctuary Lodge Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing