We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is this a joke? Awful, atrocious!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Certificate of Excellence
Emeryville, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Is this a joke? Awful, atrocious!”
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

This is as much a luxury hotel as spit is equivalent to Champagne!
I suspect those that have given this property more than a 3 rating (which is being FAR too generous) are simply wrapped-up in the romanticism of the location....and likely have never stayed at a true 5-star property (of which Sanctuary Lodge does not come close - think your local Motel 6 last updated in 1993).
Service as Applebee's is fair superior to the blank stares and simple lack of attention that one finds at this property.
For the life of me I canNOT believe Orient-Express has any association with this travesty of a property.
$100 / night would be an oversell for these facilities...and they're pushing 10x that price.
Appalling.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
9 Thank tahoegrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for sharing your comments in Trip advisor and helping us in improving our services with your comments. The commitment of Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge is to give the best to our guests and your overall impressions about your stay in our property are very important to us.
Based on our regular’s guest’s comments, their experiences may be different from yours but it is crucial for us to know the reasons why we couldn’t achieve your expectations, so we can take special attention to each one.

I am pleased to inform you that we are constantly working in improving our facilities and rooms. During this low season we are implementing in public areas and rooms new materials and furniture in order to upgrade even more the lodge and always correspond to our guest’s expectations.

We already count with a sample room totally restyled with a more contemporaneous decoration which counts with bright brand new fabrics, furniture and marbles. In the meantime, we believe our rooms offer character, authenticity and comfort and are priced accordingly reminding that our rates are All-Inclusive.

I deeply value your comments and renew our permanent commitment in keeping on with all the efforts and focus to maintain the infrastructure of Machu Picchu sanctuary Lodge and our renowned service quality at their best with the firm intention to deliver the best service and experience to our guests.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,337
    461
    173
    53
    27
See reviews for
427
1,079
86
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

The position is amazing as the hotel is almost in the park. The rooms are simple and small but comfortable. The restaurant is one of the best we had in Peru. Higly recommended if you do not want to visit the park at the peak times. Do a guided tour in the late afternoon and the next morning an early visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kika67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
235 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Located just footsteps from Machu Picchu the hotel is 5 star with all luxury amenities imaginable. Even little things like recyclable envelops and letter heads make it very special. You can see Machu Picchu in the evening and the get up early for a sunrise and spend the entire day exploring. The food was excellent. So was the service

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us and the lovely description you have made of the hotel.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I hiked the Inca Trail for 4 days with a friend and on the last day of our hike we decided to book a room at The Sanctuary Lodge. It was recommended to us by a friend but we were reluctant to book the hotel because of the price. We were trying to stay within a budget and the price per night was over our budget. We decided to splurge and we are SOOOO GLAD that we did!!!
It is SOOOO worth it to stay here at least for one night (or two)!
It was so nice to get pampered after 4 days of trekking and not showering. The hotel is literally at the entrance of Machu Picchu. You walk over to the hotel right after hiking and exploring. The hotel provided us with robes, slippers (which we can take home for free), really comfy beds, free mini-bar, free laundry service and free room service!!! It was the BEST!!! The ONLY downfall was that the spa wasn't super hot. But at least there is a spa and they are upgrading the spa area so it might get better.
Do yourself a favor and stay here when you go to Machu Picchu. Just DO IT!!! You won't regret it. Trust me!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The best part of the Sanctuary Lodge is it's location to Machu Picchu. The service was excellent as was the food, the room was nothing special considering what you pay. The day room was a nice convenience that was offered to provide you place to refresh before your bus ride back to town.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TMVoight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacasmayo, Peru
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

So for those of you looking to stay here, I'm sure you are already well aware that it is quite expensive to stay at this hotel. However, you get to stay right next to the ruins which gives you the opportunity to be the first ones to enter the ruins in the morning. (Aka you can get some wonderful pictures of when the sun first hits the ruins with no tourists!) On top of this, the hotel is quite nice. The rooms were a little smaller than expected but the staff were helpful and the gardens/hot spring and waiting area were all incredible. The connected restaurant which is technically apart from the hotel is AWFUl though. There was a fly in my sister's water, my mother's water glass was broken, the music was so loud that you could not carry on a dinner conversation and, the service was horrendous. The food was alright. This unfortunately distracted from our stay so I hope that the hotel can help the restaurant to improve but overall the hotel is quite nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

A visit to Machu Picchu is an incredible experience and a stay at the Sanctuary Lodge will be the icing on the cake! Located at the entrance to the park it makes it a lot easier to visit during hours of the day when the site is less busy. The service, and standard of food, in the Hotel is very good, which is unusual for somewhere that is so popular and always crowded. Most of the rooms are quite small and the other facilities are rather restricted but when the surroundings are so magnificent why would you want to use the hotel for anything else than relaxation after a long and absorbing day of sightseeing.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 3NJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machu Picchu
1.4 mi away
Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel
Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machu Picchu
510 reviews
1.3 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,773 reviews
1.4 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Andino Hotel
Andino Hotel
#3 of 3 in Machu Picchu
31 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
970 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Sanctuary Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Sanctuary Lodge

Property: Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Address: Carretera Hiram Bingham Km 7.5 | Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu 5184, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Sanctuary Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge enjoys a unique location just steps from the entrance to Machu Picchu; it is the only hotel beside the Inca citadel. This charming mountain retreat, set in orchid gardens, is the perfect place to relax, from early in the morning to magical moonlit nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Belmond, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Belmond Sanctuary Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge By Orient-Express Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Hotel
Sanctuary Lodge Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing