We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absurdly expensive but worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2013

So for those of you looking to stay here, I'm sure you are already well aware that it is quite expensive to stay at this hotel. However, you get to stay right next to the ruins which gives you the opportunity to be the first ones to enter the ruins in the morning. (Aka you can get some wonderful pictures of when the sun first hits the ruins with no tourists!) On top of this, the hotel is quite nice. The rooms were a little smaller than expected but the staff were helpful and the gardens/hot spring and waiting area were all incredible. The connected restaurant which is technically apart from the hotel is AWFUl though. There was a fly in my sister's water, my mother's water glass was broken, the music was so loud that you could not carry on a dinner conversation and, the service was horrendous. The food was alright. This unfortunately distracted from our stay so I hope that the hotel can help the restaurant to improve but overall the hotel is quite nice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,032 - 1,038 of 2,173 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013

A visit to Machu Picchu is an incredible experience and a stay at the Sanctuary Lodge will be the icing on the cake! Located at the entrance to the park it makes it a lot easier to visit during hours of the day when the site is less busy. The service, and standard of food, in the Hotel is very good, which is unusual for somewhere that is so popular and always crowded. Most of the rooms are quite small and the other facilities are rather restricted but when the surroundings are so magnificent why would you want to use the hotel for anything else than relaxation after a long and absorbing day of sightseeing.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 3NJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

If you visit Machu Picchu it is essential that you enter the site first thing in the morning when the crowds are light and the sun is rising. So either walk through the sun gate or stay in the Lodge and rise early.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank DalesYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Delightful old hotel in just a tremendous location.Food very good,service excellent ,room very good.Understated but you could see the underlying Orient Express service levels.Great place for "going out in teeshirts , shorts et al to return easily and freshen up for a delightful dinner etc".Having arrived mid-morning ( independently) the first day ,to be able to spend much of the day at the site and then being able to be back out at the citadel early the next morning at 6.30 am ( pre-breakfast back at the hotel) before the rush was just great.Even check out at middayish was fine as we had shower facilities etc available after being on site before travelling back to Cusco in the late afternoon.All in all a little Oasis!!Highly recommended place to stay to enhance the Macchu Picchu experience. We did similar at Hotel Das Catarates at Iguacuo Falls.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed her got one night so we could see Machu Pichu. This is an Orient Express hotel but its hard to tell that. The food is good but the rooms leave much to be desired. The worst part is if you plan to tour the site the day you leave you will have to put ALL your luggage in storage as there are no late check outs, that's because they are moving people through here like cattle! Our room smelled awful, musty and old. All our clothes smelled! Come on Orient Express you can do better!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelerdeb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed 1 night at the Sanctuary Lodge, our room and meals were part of the extensive Hiram Bingham train to Macchu Picchu package and we couldn't be happier with this arrangement. It made everything so easy for us and we didn't have to wrorry or plan anything.

The Sanctuary Lodge is the only hotel located right at the entrance to Macchu Picchu, so needless to say it is super easy and convenient to get to the ruin and back.Our room is small compared to the junior suite we had at the Hotel Monasterio. But we expected the rooms at the Sanctuary Lodge to be smaller given it is located at the ruin. However it was clean, the bed was comfortable, we slept well, and it was fine for an overnight stay.

The services at the lodge is efficient and very attentive. From the moment we stepped off the bus, our luggage is handle quickly, our room was ready and check-in process was a breeze. We were immediately escorted to our room so that we didn't waste any of our precious time to explore the ruin.

We had all our meals at the lodge restaurant including 1 dinner on the day we arrived, followed by 2 breakfasts on the second day (1 when we got up at 5AM to go see the sunrise at Macchu Piccchu then a second one after we come back from the ruin at 10AM). 1 lunch and a nice afternoon tea before we returned to the train station for our return trip to Cusco. Dinnr and lunch were made to order, no buffet here. There was a nice assortment of breakfast buffet, but in addition to the buffet, we can also order from the menu. Only thing we had to pay for were our wines and cocktails. The food was very good, we were surprised considering it is the only hotel up in the mountain. Everything was well made, great ingridents and very delicious.

The best advantage about staying at the lodge is the proximity to the entrance of Macchu Picchu. On our second day there, we wanted to go watch sunrise at the Sun Gate. As neither my husband nor I are morning people, we didn't have to get up at 4AM to catch a bus from Aguas Calientes and to get up the hill. We got up, had a nice cup of coffee and some light pastry, went out to the hotel, and walk 10 feet to the entrance and voila, we were in. And when we got tired from a long day of hiking, we just turn around and went back to the hotel and relax at the bar. Can't get better than that! The only let down for us was we had thought that since the hotel is right next to the gate, there is a seperate line for hotel guests.

Overall, we were so happy to stayed right next to the ruin, enjoyed the scenary of the mountain right from our room, it saved us plenty of time from having to travel back and forth had we stayed in Aguas Calientes. We ate well at the hotel, the service was attentive so it was worth every penny.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelodyLee17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

An experience not to be missed. The Sanctuary Lodge is the gatehouse to Machu Picchu and offers a unique venue to explore the citadel. After taking the Hiram Bingham train we arrived at the hotel in the early afternoon and headed out for a guided tour of the citadel. By 3:30 the crowds started to disperse and soon we had the place ourselves. Peaceful and majestic, the views were breathtaking. Early the next morning we had another opportunity to enjoy the site without the multitudes of people and later we explored the trails to the Sun Gate and Inca Bridge. This hotel is a one night stop, however it is excellent at delivering remarkable quality and exceptional service. As a guest you are treated to excellent cuisine, nice accommodations, tranquil gardens with exceptional views and outstanding customer service. Despite the thousands of people visiting beyond its doors the hotel provides a secure and intimate environment.

(After checkout on the second day you have use of a day room. It is located in the garden and has an inviting living room and two bathrooms with showers. It was a nice respite before we departed for the train.)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jvallery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Machu Picchu hotels
1.3 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,893 reviews
1.4 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
1.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel
Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel
#16 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
562 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jaya Hotel
Jaya Hotel
#12 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
20 reviews
1.5 mi away
Andino Hotel
Andino Hotel
#15 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Sanctuary Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Sanctuary Lodge

Address: Carretera Hiram Bingham Km 7.5 | Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu 5184, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Machu Picchu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Machu Picchu
Price Range: $705 - $1,522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Sanctuary Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No picture of Machu Picchu can prepare you for seeing it with your own eyes. Perched high in the Andes, it is one of few places in the world that can be described as truly unmissable. It’s on everyone’s travel wish list, attracting a million visitors each year. But there’s only one way to see it in style: by staying at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge. When we say we’re one of a kind, we mean it. Belmond Sanctuary Lodge is the only hotel that sits at the entrance of the ancient Inca citadel of Machu Picchu. For years we have been the unofficial gateway to the Inca world, inviting our guests to explore with unrivalled access and expert guidance. While most visitors to the citadel endure a winding bus ride from Aguas Calientes, our snug retreat is a few footsteps away. Wake before sunrise and be the first through the gates. The mountains look magnificent emerging from a thick cloak of mist, and Machu Picchu is stunning in solitude. Stop, breathe and soak it all in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Belmond Sanctuary Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge By Orient-Express Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Hotel
Sanctuary Lodge Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing