We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Location makes this hotel outstanding, right next to the entrance to Machu Picchu. And location also justifies the very high cost of this hotel. If I return to Machu Picchu I will again stay at the Sanctuary Lodge, not because it is really a luxury hotel that would command those kind of rates if it were located anywhere else, but because of where it is located. Otherwise the hotel is good, but not outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francisco2pr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,279
    451
    167
    53
    27
See reviews for
414
1,033
85
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

This hotel is located next to the entrance of Machu Picchu. It is a beautiful hotel with excellent bedrooms and public areas. Our room was spacious, exceptionally well appointed and the bed was so comfortable. Service is excellent and the food superb. This hotel is expensive but worth every penny. A wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Try and book one of the suites. Stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 590David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director de Recepción at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

This us a difficult review to write as the location of the hotel basically trumps everything. The location is simply unbeatable. Period. It is steps from the entrance to Machu Pichu-the only hotel at the site. All other hotels that are close are in Aquas Caliente which is a 30 minute bus ride each way to Machu Pichu. So you are staying at the doorstep of the site. The hotel is all inclusive-food and beverages including most alcohol. We stayed three nights in the Presidential Suite, the largest "best" room in the hotel. It is expensive. The room was actually a combination of two rooms-one room was obviously a bit small for a bedroom suite and it appears the hotel joined the two rooms to form the "Presidential Suite." The rooms are old and not fancy at all-very simple. But then again you are in the middle of the Andes. The only advantage to the suite was an additional barhroom. The second bedroom only had a single chair and desk in it-a couch would have been nice. The room had a nice small terrace overlooking a green lawn area. The terrace for the Presidential Suite was no larger than any of the other suites. The food was quite good-nice selections at all meals and a good amount of food. Some guests seemed enraptured by the free alchohol which is not the best idea if you are planning on walking in the high altitude in the Andes. The pickup and drop off arranged by the hotel was quite good-we were met at the train by an employee who walked us through the Aquas Calientes market to the bus pickup and assisted in obtaining tickets to Machu Pichu-the government controls the bus access and there is no other way to the hotel. The hotel did take care of transporting our luggage. Drop off service was equally good. The greatest benefit of the Sanctuary Lodge is access to the site. You can enter right away in the morning before the hordes of busses arrive and see Machu Puchu early and with few people about. Then take a break midday go back to the hotel when the site is crowded, relax, return to the site when people head out and enjoy the solitude. It is especially convenient if you plan on climbing any of the two mountains around Machu Pichu-remember that you need separate tickets for this-as the hotel's location allows you to have breakfast and head out for your walk without worrying about the busride up the mountain. The price for the hotel does not include entrance fees. Make sure you obtain these tickets and hold onto them! All in all an incredibly expensive hotel for the room quality-not food as it was excellent. But you are paying for location. And you receive it no doubt. Machu Pichu was a once in a life trip and if that is your view then I suggest that you go ahead and pay for this amazing location and access while it is still available. Not a fancy room but an unbeatable location.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sftcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director de Recepción at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at Sanctuary Lodge for 1 night whilst visiting Machu Picchu. The location is perfect as it is right at the entrance to the park so you can walk in and out as you wish. Service and food were very good but the restaurant lacked atmosphere. However, the bartenders put on a free evening display and class about how to make pisco sours and a pisco tasting session, which was great fun. There is no lounge area so when it rained and we had checked out of our room, there were people standing around everywhere with nowhere to sit except in the restaurant. The bedroom was tiny and is definitely the most we have paid anywhere in the world per square foot - there wasn't even a proper bathroom just a ec and showe with the basin being integrated into the wardrobe space. There's no swimming pool and the spa is just 2 rooms in the bedroom area so not a designated spa. It's worth the money for the location especially if you are not so young any more and want the convenience of being so close to the park and not having to queue for a bus but if you're young, you'd be better saving your money and staying down in the town.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter, the sound proofing is fantastic. Definitely don't waste your money on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSOCBrentwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for helping us to improve our services with your comments. The commitment of Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge is to give the best to our guests and your overall impressions about your stay in our property are very important to us.
Based on our regular’s guest’s comments, their experiences may be very different from yours but it is good to know the reasons why we couldn’t achieve your expectations, so we can take special attention every one.
I also thank you for mentioning that the service and food were very good. I just wanted to mention that for the greatest majority of our guests our rooms offer character, authenticity and comfort and am priced accordingly.

I am sorry that the day of rain, you may not have used our Day Room which consist of a room located on the upper part of our garden which offer a fantastic view to the mountains surrounding Machu Picchu with all comfort facilities, sofas, books, TV, and equipped with two showers so our guests can refresh or warm after their check out when the weather is chilly. I will make sure that this information will be better transmitted to our guests in order to guaranty that they will always be able to use the well-being that offer this room.
We deeply value your comments and will keep on with all the efforts and focus, reinforcing our renowned service quality with the firm determination to always correspond to the great treatment that our Trip Advisor reviewers always rank.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We opted to stay at the hotel because of the convenience. It is expensive, but because we came along way to see Machu Picchu and the hotel location allowed us the opportunity to experience MP after most everybody left and it was worth it to be able to walk around the site and experience it with very few people there. Also, we were able to get in as soon as the site opened the next morning and make the hike to the Sun Gate before the crowds arrived. Granted the hotel is quite basic in the rooms, but it is my understanding, which could be wrong, is that the Peruvian authorities will not allow any changes to be made. If anybody knows different, let me know. The staff is great, they are very helpful. All of your meals and beverages are included in the price as is anything in the minibar. And if you need something to eat or drink, they bring it to your room quickly and without an extra charge. They also will do any laundry you have at no charge. They are very strict about the 11:00 AM checkout time, but have a nice day room you can use until you decide to take the bus down to catch the train. They will also transport your luggage down to the train station for you and a hotel employee watches over it. When you get to the train station, the hotel staff member brings your luggage and guides you to a private waiting room where soft drinks, water, coffee or tea are available at no extra charge. The staff at the waiting area checks your ticket and makes sure you get on the correct train and brings your luggage and puts it on the train for you. All in all, we thought it was worth it and if your budget allows it, we recommend staying there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CraigIVes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director de Recepción at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us and the lovely description you have made of the hotel.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We decided to book a night up at the Sanctuary Lodge so that we had tow chances with the weather and could be in the park at opening and closing to enjoy a more peaceful time. All of these things can be achieved by staying down in the town but the journey up and down is a torture for anybody with a fear of heights....like me.

The cost is astronomical, the rooms tiny and the bathrooms almost too small to get in and out of in any comfort. We had a meal in the restaurant as there is absolutely no other option. I have to say that the food was very good, but this is Peru where it is practically impossible to have a bad meal.
The nightmare came when we went to bed. We requested a mountain view room which looked out onto the park entrance and work started as soon as the park closed to renew the tin roof of the ticket booths. The noise was horrendous. We were assured by the hotel that work would stop at 11. It continued all night long and we had no sleep. There has to be some liaison between the park and the hotel if people are paying £500 a night but there clearly wasn't. We spoke to reception several times during the night but nothing changed. In the morning the manager was contrite and he knocked the price of dinner off the bill.
Would we stay now knowing everything we do? No. Stay in the town and get up early...it's really only the convenience that makes staying at the Lodge worthwhile.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear guest,

It is crucial for us to know the reasons why we couldn’t achieve your expectations, so we can take special attention to each one.

We deeply value your comments and sincerely apologize if we didn´t meet your expectations. We can guaranty you of our permanent commitment in keeping on with all the efforts and focus, reinforcing our renowned service quality with the firm determination to always correspond to the great treatment that our Trip Advisor reviewers usually rank.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Extremely overpriced, this is the only game in town for those visiting Machu Picchu who do not want to take the bus ride into town before or after visiting the site. The rooms are an embarrassment -- two twin beds, not even a queen, poor lighting, small sizes. Nice gardens, however, and really fine food and drink. No elevator. Has wi-fi in rooms. Nonetheless, Sanctuary Lodge was a welcome respite after our 8 hour hike into Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Mrs,


I thank you for bringing up this matter to our attention.

We deeply value your comments and sincerely apologize if we didn´t meet your expectations. We can guaranty you of our permanent commitment in keeping on with all the efforts and focus, reinforcing our renowned service quality with the firm determination to always correspond to the great treatment that our Trip Advisor reviewers usually rank.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machu Picchu
1.4 mi away
Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel
Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machu Picchu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
1.3 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,715 reviews
1.4 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Andino Hotel
Andino Hotel
#3 of 3 in Machu Picchu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Sanctuary Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Sanctuary Lodge

Property: Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Address: Carretera Hiram Bingham Km 7.5 | Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu 5184, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Sanctuary Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge enjoys a unique location just steps from the entrance to Machu Picchu; it is the only hotel beside the Inca citadel. This charming mountain retreat, set in orchid gardens, is the perfect place to relax, from early in the morning to magical moonlit nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Belmond, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Sanctuary Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge By Orient-Express Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Hotel
Sanctuary Lodge Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing