We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, yes! Worth it for the whole Machu Picchu experience, absolutely!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Expensive, yes! Worth it for the whole Machu Picchu experience, absolutely!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

When we stepped off the train from Cusco to Aguas Calientes/Machu Picchu, we were treated like VIP’s. Our bags were taken to a holding spot specific for Lodge guests, and then we were escorted to a private air conditioned lounge, where we were offered complimentary drinks. We needed to get up to Machu Picchu, so we had to purchase the bus tickets to take us to the Sanctuary Lodge. The entrance to the ruins is only steps from the front door of the Lodge, (no waiting in line for buses to take you up/down to the closest town of Aguas Calientes, where most of other people stay). We stayed three day, two nights. The 1st room we were given was very small, but very clean, and the view outside the small window was nonexistent. The rooms have complimentary slippers for its guests with the Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge logo sewn on it, (I love mine) ; but if you want the shampoo and conditioner cute clay containers as souvenirs, you will have to pay for those. The next day, we were upgraded to a larger much nicer room, by the terrace, with stunning views of the mountains. Not sure if it was because we were staying two nights, (most people we saw there, were only staying one night), or if it was because I was extremely sick when we arrived from Cusco. (Drinking mate with peppermint tea and taking a few Cipro pills made me better by next day). The staff is very nice, the food was very good, (they fly in their steak from US because it’s tenderer), and of course you can eat and drink all you want since it is all inclusive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clarisabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us and the lovely description you have made of the hotel.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,337
    461
    173
    53
    27
See reviews for
427
1,079
86
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos Hills, CA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Before our trip to Peru, I had agonized about whether to stay at the Sanctuary Lodge, given the high price. Now that we are back, I am really glad we did. When you consider that for most people, visiting MP is a "once in a lifetime" experience, it's definitely worthwhile to stay at this property to maximize the experience (I have a trip report with photos here if you're interested: http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowTopic-g294311-i818-k6877883-An_independent_trip_to_Sacred_Valley_Machu_Picchu_Cusco-Peru.html).

We arrived on 7:45 train from Ollantaytambo, dropped off our bags, and immediately rushed to the park for our 10AM slot for climbing Huayna Picchu. By the time we completed this (around 1AM), our room was ready and we were able to refresh in our room. We headed back to the park around 3pm, when it was much cooler and the crowd had dwindled. So lovely.

The dinner was delicious, as well as the breakfast and lunch on the next day. The staff would do anything you asked. My husband wanted to do the hike to Intipunka the next day, but didn't have a ticket. The staff drove down to Aguas Caliente to get a ticket for him at no extra charge. I had an amazing massage (the Inka) while he went hiking. They moved our luggage down to the train station and had a nice little private waiting room for us.

Sure, the room was nothing remarkable, but still extremely comfortable. If you can afford it, I would definitely stay here. It's worth it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us and the lovely description you have made of the hotel.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This "no frills" lodge is the perfect accommodation for visiting the fabled ruins. The rooms are small and spartan but somehow seem appropriate for the occasion. The food and service are very good, and it's wonderful to be able to just "roll out of bed" and head for the mountain. The entrance to the ruins are only steps from the front door of the Lodge making it also convenient for collapsing at the end of a strenuous day of hiking. The ruins themselves are breathtaking - truly a once-in-a-lifetime experience. The whole package is truly unforgettable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EastHamptonGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us and the lovely description you have made of the hotel.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen,TX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I wouldn't want to stay any place else while visiting Machu Picchu. The key word - location, location, location! Great dinner and drinks for our group of 14. Rooms are small but adequate. We spent all of our time outdoors on the site or in the restaurant, so we didn't miss the square footage in the hotel room. It's worth it to stay here one night while you are trekking around the site or climbing Huaynu Picchu or heading for the Sun Gate. Location - that's what you are paying for, and the ability to access the site after everyone else has headed for the train. It's worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine-SouthTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us and the lovely description you have made of the hotel.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We arrived at 11am, having walked the Inca Trail and been up since 3am, and although our room wasn't ready, our bags were waiting and the bar was available and most welcoming. To be sure after camping 3 nights in the Andes the room was perfect, the splurge was more than worth it. Having read other reviews I wasn't expecting much, but was pleasantly surprised at how nice everything was for such a petite property. We booked the shaman wedding which was absolutely amazing. Having got emotionally attached to the area on the trail, to finish with a wedding ceremony was very moving. The staff ensured a smooth ceremony and made our stay very memorable. We are so glad we spent extra staying here, it meant our bags arrived courtesy of Orient-Express both to and from the station, we literally walked out of the citadel and into a welcoming bar and had the leisurely views of the site others just wished they would have had that you don't get staying at Machu Picchu pueblo!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us and the lovely description you have made of the hotel.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I agree with GaryK104's review on Sept. 27, both as to positive things (great location and food) and limitations (room quality perfectly adequate, but not luxurious as one would expect given the price). All I have to add is that even the deluxe mountain view room at $1400 per night is not a large room and overpriced. As promised, these have nice little terraces with a mountain view, but not of the site itself. Nice to relax there after leaving the site.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inmy60s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us and the lovely description you have made of the hotel.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The hotel is small but beautiful as are the rooms. The service is amazing and as the other reviewers have stated, they take good care of you even though you are staying for only one night. ( special waiter Uriel). Nice to not have to go down the mountain after a long day of hiking at Machu Picchu. Makes it convenient to be there more than one day. The rooms are nice and nothing spectacular but you have to remember you are not paying for the room but for the convenience of staying at the property. Food in the restaurant was very tasty, as were all the meals I had while in Peru. One nice little perk is that the hotel takes your bags down the hill to the train station so you don't have to. Then when you pick up your bags, the porters take you to a very luxurious separate waiting area with drinks to wait for your train. Was well worth the splurge if this is a once in a lifetime trip.

Room Tip: As for a room facing the garden and not the wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TicaMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us and the lovely description you have made of the hotel.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machu Picchu
1.4 mi away
Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel
Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machu Picchu
510 reviews
1.3 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,773 reviews
1.4 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Andino Hotel
Andino Hotel
#3 of 3 in Machu Picchu
31 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
969 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Sanctuary Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Sanctuary Lodge

Property: Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Address: Carretera Hiram Bingham Km 7.5 | Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu 5184, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Sanctuary Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge enjoys a unique location just steps from the entrance to Machu Picchu; it is the only hotel beside the Inca citadel. This charming mountain retreat, set in orchid gardens, is the perfect place to relax, from early in the morning to magical moonlit nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Belmond, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Belmond Sanctuary Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge By Orient-Express Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Hotel
Sanctuary Lodge Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing