We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Certificate of Excellence
Del Mar, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Always fantastic”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My family and I have stayed at the lovely Sanctuary Lodge next to Machu Picchu several times over the past 11 years and it is always fantastic. We prefer the rooms with terrace to see the mountains and ruins, especially at sunset and sunrise the views are breathtaking. The staff and management are wonderfully gracious. Although this hotel is a sister hotel of the Hotel Monasterio in Cusco, we have never experienced any racism at this location as we have at the Hotel Monasterio.

Room Tip: Simply the best when visiting Machu Picchu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BestofPuntaMita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us and the lovely description you have made of the hotel.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,358
    475
    177
    54
    29
See reviews for
439
1,100
87
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Probably the best customer service I have ever had at any hotel anywhere in the world. Within 30 minutes of check-in the staff all called us by our name no matter where we encountered them on the property. They went to extra lengths to fulfil every request and were constantly asking if they could do anything else for us. At dinner, they even surprised my wife with a huge birthday cake and Peruvian musicians. Very good restaurant, and an excellent spa. Best way to do Machu Picchu at sunrise as the hotel is a 30-second walk from the entrance gate.

Room Tip: Must have a mountain view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us and the lovely description you have made of the hotel.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The title says it all. We arrived mid-morning and were able to enjoy a few hours at the ruins, then come back for a rejuvenating lunch. By the time we returned to the site at 3 pm, the crowds had gone and we were able to enjoy Machu Picchu almost by ourselves (and this in the busiest time of year). Likewise, being on spot the next morning helped us to make the most of our time there. Although the rooms are not amazing, the service was good and the meals were excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisZ556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us and the lovely description you have made of the hotel.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Thank god for this hotel in the location it was, otherwise I would not have had the opportunity to enjoy Machu Picchu twice. The ride up the mountain was too much for the wife. It was a very nice hotel considering how difficult it would be to manage. The staff was helpful and pleasant. Restaurant staff was especially patient and there were food options for the whole family. The weather was very inconsistent so it was nice to have the kids/family room near the hot tub, so we could get out of the hotel for a bit. Don't expect a 5-star hotel on top of a mountain, in the middle of nowhere! It was "nice", "comfortable" and "clean".

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WebmanRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us and the lovely description you have made of the hotel.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The food here was outstanding and was included in the price of our rooms. The kids were given a mountain view room which opened onto a patio and then into a common area that included an orchid trail and outside jacuzzi. Looking up you can see the Machu Picchu terraces. Seeing llama profiles on terraces at sunset was great. Also being able to get into and out of the park easily was worth it. We hiked Wayna Picchu, which is a tough hike due to steepness at 7am, then returned to the hotel for a shower and relax before checking out and enjoying the great buffet lunch.
Our room was a standard room that was well appointed. The room had complementary cold drinks and snacks, very comfortable beds, plush towels and fast wifi. If you're willing to spend the extra money for this place, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rwcorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us and the lovely description you have made of the hotel.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERMUDA
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The service here wasvery good but felt very hurried. We arrivedby the Hiram Bingham train and were toldwe hadto check-in in five mnutes then meet ourguide. This was stressful because there was a line-up at check-in and then the personwho checked us in wanted to tell us other things we didn't have time to listen to. My husband and I felt rushed and the experience totally winded my 80 year old mother, she ended up sick all night.
It was my birthday and performers i. The retuarant sang Happy Birthday and a slice of cake was brought to me, before I even had an appetiser. That was unexpected nd again made things feel very hurried. I didn't like the performers coming to us for tips and to buy their CD. I thought this was not five star behaviour
The hotel is expensive. I'd say even with the service it wasn't worth it. I booked believing I would be able to go to the citadel as much as I liked, but this is NOT the case. In fact it's about $50 per person to go to the citadel each day and the tickets are not available at the hotel. You have to go into the nearby town. To get there and back is an $18 bus ride- so that's about $70 per person. I already spent $950 for one night in a room. Mountain view room features a small window high up through which i could see so e trees. But this also meant it was extremely loud starting early in the morning (6a.m.) when the buses start bringing up passengers.
This hotel felt like a big rip off. At breakfast they tried to get us to buy from the menu and would not readily replenish buffett items.
I actually preferred my stay in La Cabana in Aguas Caliente where we were not rushed and subjected to so much noise.
It was also difficult to get in contact with the hotel via email. After i had booked and paid I sent a few emails over several weeks before one was answered.
The bathroom and its amenities are supurb!

Room Tip: Ask for ones awayfrom the hotel's main entrance to avoid outside noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Summer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us and the lovely description you have made of the hotel.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The service at the hotel was top notch, the food was good, but there was nothing special about the rooms. I would rate them as Holiday Inn generic. In my opinion it was very overpriced.. There was still a line to enter Macchu Pichu even though we were there early enough to watch the sunrise. That said, the grandeur of Macchu Pichu was overwhelming, and I would strongly recommend the hike up Huana Picchu if you can. You don't have to be particularly athletic if you pace yourself and using a walking stick makes it much easier to maneuver.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 13ser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for helping us to improve our services with your comments.

Based on our regular’s guest’s comments, their experiences may be very different from yours but, however, it is good to know the reasons why we couldn’t achieve your expectations, so we can take special attention to each one.

Hotels located in in the town of Aguascalientes, none of them offer the privilege to overnight nestle in the flank of Machu Picchu Citadel. Also, in the case you overnight in town, the for concerning prices none, our hotel is an all-inclusive and offer the privilege to overnight on a platform of the Citadel when our guests do not suffer any noise disturbance from evening to morning as they overnight “alone” in this Sanctuary. Also, in the case you overnight in town, you may suffer from the noise a town generate until late at night, also the time consumed by the bus trip means that between the line to purchase your bus ticket, the queue to get to the bus, the half an hour trip to get from the town to the Citadel, all round trip take away an average of two hours on your visit of Machu Picchu Citadel. Also, staying in our property offers to our guests the freedom to enter and exit the Citadel as many times as they wish during the day in order to lunch, refresh or rest for a while before to continue the discovery of Machu Picchu.

We can guaranty you of our permanent commitment in keeping on with all the efforts and focus, reinforcing our renowned service quality with the firm determination to always correspond to the great treatment that our Trip Advisor reviewers use to rank.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machu Picchu
1.3 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,824 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel
Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machu Picchu
526 reviews
1.4 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Andino Hotel
Andino Hotel
#3 of 3 in Machu Picchu
35 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,023 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Sanctuary Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Sanctuary Lodge

Property: Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Address: Carretera Hiram Bingham Km 7.5 | Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu 5184, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Sanctuary Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge enjoys a unique location just steps from the entrance to Machu Picchu; it is the only hotel beside the Inca citadel. This charming mountain retreat, set in orchid gardens, is the perfect place to relax, from early in the morning to magical moonlit nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Belmond, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Sanctuary Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge By Orient-Express Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Hotel
Sanctuary Lodge Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing