We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location with a couple of issues.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Absolutely perfect location for visiting Machu Picchu. Perhaps given the hotel's monopoly - it is the only hotel on site or within 30 minutes of Machu Picchu - the prices for the room and food are excessive. But the service is great, the staff is incredibly helpful and friendly, the food outstanding, and again you can't beat the location. The jacuzzi is only open for a few hours a day so we weren't able to use it. Overall, we had a great stay and the location unquestionably enhanced our ability to maximize our visit to the site.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusaDogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,169 - 1,175 of 2,211 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge surpassed my low expectations. The service provided there was exceptional. The rooms were old, but nice - definitley not high-end luxury, but adequate for the night. However, I am so thankful I spent the extra money and stayed there because of the location. I arrived by train, toured the citadel, spent the night, toured/hiked again, and departed. By staying at the MPSL, I was able to avoid a round trip bus ride, which was a reflief given the length and stress of the bus ride vs collapsing in the room immediately after leaving the park, getting up at 5:30 and still being one of the first in the park, and being able to come back, change/shower/refresh after hiking Huayna Picchu and to the Sun Gate before touring the citadel again. It was definitely worth it, as it allowed me to maximize my time at Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us and the lovely description you have made of the hotel.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The only hotel on the mountain just outside the entrance to the incredible Machu Picchu ruins. The lodge is worth the money and the rooms are nice as well. The value comes in staying at the lodge and being able to be the first ones to enter the ruins and the last to leave. You can come back to the hotel to eat, nap and have food and reenter as often as you like.

The morning breakfast was buffet and suite to order. The early evening dinner for live entertainment was excellent and then following that up with a nice time in the hot tub to relax the muscles after a full day of hiking

Just the best!

Room Tip: Don't stay in town and waster the half hour ride up and back when you can stay at the mountain e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greatplacesnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us and the lovely description you have made of the hotel.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

May 30/31 2013
We paid a premium price of approx. US$1,100 per night. After reading several reviews after our stay, it would appear that the first disappoinment was not being greeted at the train station and steered towards the buses. On arrival we felt part of a herd of cattle - there were at least 8 people needing attention and only 3 staff. Extremely poor skills from reception staff - we stood at the tiny reception filling out cards with people hassling to buy hats, wanting to leave luggage etc. Orient Express have a lovely dinning room and could have a member of staff focussed on new arrivals and take them to a comfortable seat with some refreshment. Something we experienced at our previos hotel in Cuzco which was $80 per night.
We were then informed by the staff that we should have purchased entry tickets for Machu Picchu before catching the bus - they had simply omitted to tell us that even though we booked our accommodation almost a year ago. They then offered to organise tickets and advised than unless we wanted to go down the mountain (half hour bus ride) ourselves to get cash from an ATM, we were obliged to pay a 10 percent credit card fee. Too hard, so we paid. Remember we booked a year ago for my husband's 60th, on arrival at the room found twin beds and not King. Also no privacy whatsoever from our terrace as overlooked by communial terrace for rooms cheaper than ours. They sorted out the bed issue with a quick fix of putting beds tgether with zip only to find we had a huge lump at the top end of the bed.
I enquired about the day spa and discovered that there are two rooms next door to each other but during most of the day luggage is stored all the way along the walls - can't imagine what kind of peaceful massage it would be with that much traffic. I was then shown to the day care centre which had been completely taken over by one family who had cases opened and clothes strewn everywhere. I was told this is where I could choose to change and have a shower before a very expensive massage - the prices are less competitive than New York - I don't think so . The lady showing me around was the masseus but I did not appreciate her attitude and when I started aking questions I felt that she feigned poor English to avoid being questioned further.
A positive perspective was our dinning experience - the food was good and although some waiters had difficulty communicating, we enjoyed the experience. We stayed 2 nights. The experience of being on the mountain after closure of the ruins was lovely.
I would only recommend the Orient Express due to location but would refrain from recommending to others. I think due to lack of competition on MP itself Orient Express obviously have a captive audience and haven't addressed many issues. We have read a lot of reviews and very few are expressing a wonderful experience. I believe senior management of Orient Express should read trip advisor regularly to understand the requirements of customers who are paying top dollar for a less than average experience.
I should mention that the hotel tried to make amends by leaving a bottle of champagne and fruit in our room but that definitely did not compensate for the disappontment

Room Tip: Here Orient Express have asked for rating on swimming pool - there is no pool!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Verena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for helping us to improve our services with your comments. The commitment of Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge is to give the best to our guests and your overall impressions about your stay in our property are very important to us.
Based on our regular’s guest’s comments, their experiences may be very different from yours but, however, it is crucial for us to know the reasons why we couldn’t achieve your expectations, so we can take special attention to each one.

We deeply value your comments and sincerely apologize if we didn't meet your expectations. We can guaranty you of our permanent commitment in keeping on with all the efforts and focus, reinforcing our renowned service quality with the firm determination to always correspond to the great treatment that our Trip Advisor reviewers usually rank.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Location, location, location. And you pay for it. The room was rather small and basic but clean and comfortable. Food was delicious. A positive surprise. Staff is friendly - despite this being a busy place (I believe most people only stay for one night, max two nights) around check-out time and whenever a bus arrives (which is every few minutes...). We enjoyed the pretty orchid and herb garden which has a good view overlooking Machu Picchu. Worth it to stay here to avoid the lines at 4:30am in Aquas Calientes for the bus up to Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chartfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Let me start by saying that even if this was a hut(and by no means is it that), it still would be the most amazing place I have ever stayed. As many have said before it is really all about the fact that you are literally steps from one of the most magical and mystical places in the world. Being able to experience Machu Picchu any time of the day really makes the experience special.The character of Machu Picchu changes dramatically from early morning to late afternoon. Also not having to take the bus up the mountain is a huge plus. Its not fancy but the rooms are fine, the food was excellent and a massage was included in the price. It is very expensive,no doubt, but i suppose its the price one pays for being next to the "lost city in the sky". If you're looking for the 4 Seasons or Aman resorts this is not for you...if you're looking for once in a lifetime this is it!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayraka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us and the lovely description you have made of the hotel.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Affiliation with the prestigious Orient-Express chain combined with a whopping USD925 nightly charge would suggest -- indeed, demand -- the best in accommodations and service. Sadly, neither was on display during our two-day visit to Machu Picchu. Our experience at the Sanctuary Lodge easily ranks as the most disappointing not only in our journey to Peru, but as one of the most underwhelming and downright frustrating hotel stays we've ever endured in several decades of travel to such other "remote" locations as Morocco, Guatemala, Egypt and even Uzbekistan.

First, the good stuff:

The property's location just outside the gates of the ruins is simply unbeatable. No half-hour bus ride to and from Aguas Calientes required, just a few steps out the door and through the turnstiles. We were thus able to enjoy the site both in the early morning hours, as clouds of mist wafted up from the valley and danced over the ancient city and mountains, and again at the close of day, after most of the bus-driven hordes had departed. (Do not, however, believe the advertising blurbs suggesting that a stay at the lodge enables guests to gain a head-start on others less fortunate. Both days of our stay, hundreds were already straining at the gates by 6 a.m.)

At least upon arrival by train from Ollantaytambo, the hotel also does a good job of putting its guests at ease. We were met by a friendly and gracious representative who took charge of our bags and led the way to the nearby bus station. We'd purchased a package that included transportation to and from the station, and those tickets were already in the representative's hand. When we discovered that, owing to our own oversight, we'd failed to purchase the necessary advance entrance tickets to the ruins, the desk staff at reception also arranged for those to be delivered to our rooms before we turned in.

At that point, however, all adult supervision appeared to end, and the hotel was taken over by what appeared to be raw trainees unaccustomed either to meet guest demands or perform their basic tasks with any degree of competence. A shocking level of ineptitude was on display until the very moment of our departure.

For instance:

Having made dinner reservations for that evening (all food is included in the tab, along with everything in the room minibar, alcoholic or otherwise), we arrived at the appointed time only to be escorted to a seat in the bar, where we were left unattended for twenty minutes. The restaurant being mostly empty, I eventually inquired of the bartender if perhaps there was some problem, at which point he summoned the young female maitre d', who explained that she'd simply "misunderstood." Misunderstood? Misunderstood that we wanted to eat dinner at the time we'd reserved? "I'm sorry," was the automatic response. If you stay at the Sanctuary Lodge, you must become accustomed to hearing that phrase in both Spanish and English. They say it a lot.

It gets better:

Told we should try out the jacuzzi, which boasts a drop-dead view of one of Machu Picchu's terraces from its secluded garden location, we eagerly made a reservation for the next morning. We arrived, again at the appointed time, to discover that housekeeping hadn't bothered to clean up the rather considerable detritus left by the doobie-smoking Spanish hipsters who'd submerged themselves the night before. Repeated attempts to rectify the situation proved fruitless. Again: "I'm sorry."

A sign prominently displayed on the registration desk encourages guests to "relax after a strenuous day's walk with a comforting massage." Fine. My wife booked a time. The masseuse never showed. When I walked downstairs to inquire, the two young (and I mean young) men on staff shrugged their shoulders, shuffled paper, juggled phones a la The Three Stooges, and explained that that "the lady called in sick" and that "we were just about to telephone you." Again: "We're sorry."

And so it went, up to and including check-out, when I was asked to pay for bus tickets back to Aguas Calientes that had already been included in the over USD2,000 package price. It was enough to make one forget about the fact that, in addition to its location, the hotel also had the fastest wifi service we encountered in Peru, and an above-average dining room. To his credit, the hotel manager later sent down a small but nicely woven traditional rug to the Hotel Monasterio in Cuzco (sister hotel to the lodge) after we'd registered our complaints with the staff there.

In his book "Turn Left at Machu Picchu," travel writer Mark Adams refers to the Sanctuary Lodge as "an Embassy Suites minus the parking lot and the pool." That's spot-on, though I've had better service at an Embassy Suites. Next time we'll stay in Aguas Calientes -- some of the newer hotels there make up in service what they can't promise in location -- and we'd recommend the same to travelers currently contemplating the Sanctuary Lodge.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kirk E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for helping us to improve our services with your comments. The commitment of Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge is to give the best to our guests and your overall impressions about your stay in our property are very important to us.
Based on our regular’s guest’s comments, their experiences may be very different from yours but, however, it is crucial for us to know the reasons why we couldn’t achieve your expectations, so we can take special attention to each one.

We deeply value your comments and sincerely apologize if we didn't meet your expectations. We can guaranty you of our permanent commitment in keeping on with all the efforts and focus, reinforcing our renowned service quality with the firm determination to always correspond to the great treatment that our Trip Advisor reviewers usually rank.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Machu Picchu hotels
1.3 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,912 reviews
1.4 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
1.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
693 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
1.6 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Sanctuary Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Sanctuary Lodge

Address: Carretera Hiram Bingham Km 7.5 | Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu 5184, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Machu Picchu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Machu Picchu
Price Range: $699 - $1,592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Sanctuary Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No picture of Machu Picchu can prepare you for seeing it with your own eyes. Perched high in the Andes, it is one of few places in the world that can be described as truly unmissable. It’s on everyone’s travel wish list, attracting a million visitors each year. But there’s only one way to see it in style: by staying at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge. When we say we’re one of a kind, we mean it. Belmond Sanctuary Lodge is the only hotel that sits at the entrance of the ancient Inca citadel of Machu Picchu. For years we have been the unofficial gateway to the Inca world, inviting our guests to explore with unrivalled access and expert guidance. While most visitors to the citadel endure a winding bus ride from Aguas Calientes, our snug retreat is a few footsteps away. Wake before sunrise and be the first through the gates. The mountains look magnificent emerging from a thick cloak of mist, and Machu Picchu is stunning in solitude. Stop, breathe and soak it all in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Sanctuary Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge By Orient-Express Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Hotel
Sanctuary Lodge Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing