We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,419)
Filter reviews
2,419 results
Traveler rating
1,583
535
201
63
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,583
535
201
63
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews entrance to machu picchu aguas calientes sun gate once in a lifetime entrance gate watch the sunrise hiram bingham location location location rooms are small orient express minute bus ride hot tub pisco tasting orchid garden day trippers next morning orchid walk
Filter
Updating list...
1,400 - 1,405 of 2,419 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2013

No one can argue that the location of this hotel is incredible. I can't think of a more striking setting than the one this hotel has. That's where the superlatives end. The food was good. The drinks were good. The rooms were good. The price was almost $1000/night, all inclusive. That's not quite as bad as you might think as the hotel in Aquas Calientes are also expensive and don't have the benefit of the Sanctuary Lodge's location. If you have the money, stay here. If you're expecting unparalleled luxury, you'll be disappointed. I'm glad we stayed here, but I probably wouldn't do it again.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stoneguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for helping us to improve our services with your comments.

Based on our regular’s guest’s comments, their experiences may be very different from yours but, however, it is good to know the reasons why we couldn’t achieve your expectations, so we can take special attention to each one.

Hotels located in in the town of Aguascalientes, none of them offer the privilege to overnight nestle in the flank of Machu Picchu Citadel. Also, in the case you overnight in town, the for concerning prices none, our hotel is an all-inclusive and offer the privilege to overnight on a platform of the Citadel when our guests do not suffer any noise disturbance from evening to morning as they overnight “alone” in this Sanctuary. Also, in the case you overnight in town, you may suffer from the noise a town generate until late at night, also the time consumed by the bus trip means that between the line to purchase your bus ticket, the queue to get to the bus, the half an hour trip to get from the town to the Citadel, all round trip take away an average of two hours on your visit of Machu Picchu Citadel. Also, staying in our property offers to our guests the freedom to enter and exit the Citadel as many times as they wish during the day in order to lunch, refresh or rest for a while before to continue the discovery of Machu Picchu.

We can guaranty you of our permanent commitment in keeping on with all the efforts and focus, reinforcing our renowned service quality with the firm determination to always correspond to the great treatment that our Trip Advisor reviewers use to rank.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel was on my must do list for our trip to Peru and the visit to Machu Picchu. I was not disappointed. It was exactly as I expected. Excellent service and a comfortable room. I was a little surprised at some of the reviews that complained about the size of the room for the price. I thought the room was a reasonable size and comparable to other international rooms where we have stayed.

The transfer from the train at Aguas Calentes to a bus to take us up to Machu Picchu and the Sanctuary Lodge was very efficient. When we arrived the Bellman from the hotel took our bags and we were able to go straight into the ruins with our guide. When we returned to the hotel it was very pleasant to go straight to our room, clean up and then head down to the bar for a relaxing drink. We did enjoy having the minibar in the room stocked with soft drinks, beer and water.

Our travel agency - Latin Journeys booked the room for us with all our meals pre-paid. (This work out well for us as I hate to worry about what each item costs us.) We had an excellent dinner with some local musicians providing some entertainment. The sea bass that we had as an entree was some of the best I have ever eaten. We also enjoyed their selection of wines.

The selection for breakfast made it difficult to decide but everything ordered was cooked well and served in a timely manner. Well fortified it was easy to walk just a few steps and enter the ruins as daybreak. Being able to enter before the many visitors was worth it as our pictures were able to be taken without tourists in every shot. It also made it easy to travel to the Inca Bridge with ease - not many people around.

Returning to the Lodge for lunch - another well prepared meal and a short walk through the Orchid Gardens made for a relaxing day. We had plenty of time to take in the view before our bus ride back to the connecting train and return to Cusco.

The best thing was since we went during the rainy season we were able to take a break during the short rain showers that occurred while we were there.

If a trip to Macchu Pichu is on your trip of a lifetime and you want an incredible memory - stay at the Sanctuary Lodge.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susandO9489RZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We opted to have a upscale hotel when we visited Machu Pichu.
This hotel is just perfect. The staff, the food and drink, the rooms, the gardens, facilities, location, (well you cannot get any closer to the attraction !!) - were absolutely perfect.
We felt like staying forever and there's not many places you can say that about.
It's not cheap, but the value is exceptionaly good.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inspector2Cumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which will aid us in constant improvement and upkeeping of our level of service.

We remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Few people will stay here, and those that don't are not missing out on much except convenience when visiting M.P. and the most exclusive view from any communal hot-tub in the world.
The place has an explorer feel to it, but it is very well-maintained and surprisingly civilised in the evening, as one is effectively marooned there until dawn. The food was very good and there was authentic evening entertainment from an Andean band. A terrace room with a patio and dining set, is ultra-expensive (think suite at the Burg al-Arab), so normal rooms are a better bet. If you can afford to stay here, then do so, as one avoids the scrum at home time and can soak up the rarified atmosphere at leisure.

Room tip: A cheap room is relative here, but the best value.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Occasional-Jetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for helping us to improve our services with your comments. The commitment of Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge is to give the best to our guests and your overall impressions about your stay in our property are very important to us.
Based on our regular’s guest’s comments, their experiences may be very different from yours but. However, it is good to know the reasons why we couldn’t achieve your expectations, so we can take special attention each one.

Marc Yeterian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed three days and two nights at the Sanctuary Lodge. Yes, it is expensive but is worth it. We were able to visit Machu Picchu at our leisure which enabled us to really appreciate the magic of this wondrous site. Rather than take the bus up, rush around the site, and rush back on the bus, we took early hikes, returned to the Lodge for a luscious breakfast, visited Machu Picchu again, returned for a delicious lunch, visited Machu Picchu still again while others were hurrying to the buses. When Machu Picchu closed we returned to the lodge where we soaked in the beautiful hot tub, drank pisco sours, and enjoyed the view of the sun setting on the ruins of Machu Picchu. After, we enjoyed a fabulous gourmet dinner. The next day we repeated this magical experience.

Room tip: We loved room 40 that includes a terrace.
Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlust-Boi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Guest:


We appreciate the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion with us and the lovely description you have made of the hotel.

We will be happy to have you with us again.

Sincerely,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews