We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst value for money in an amazing location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The worst value for money in an amazing location”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Is not a hotel, it makes you feel like a warehouse for piling up tourists. The location is great because you are at the entrance of the Machu Picchu but you can hear, see and smell the tourists buses from everywhere in the hotel, and the facilities are ugly. They rush you to check out at 11:00 a.m, even if you pay for a suite. No nice common areas to spend some time indoors. The hotel is full of bags all around, giving you the feeling that everyone is in a rush there. I would never recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: If you still insist to go there, get a Suite or a room with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Blntxu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for helping us to improve our services with your comments. The commitment of Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge is to give the best to our guests and your overall impressions about your stay in our property are very important to us.
Based on our regular’s guest’s comments, their experiences may be very different from yours but. However, it is good to know the reasons why we couldn’t achieve your expectations, so we can take special attention each one.
We are sorry if you could perceive the buses presence nearby the hotel. We are not use to receive this kind of comment from our guests but maybe you have been present to a particularly high affluence day and it may have happen that in this case buses have been maneuvering closer to our property. However our rooms are distant enough from the bus station and we usually never receive complaints from visual or smell contact with buses which engines are green compliant. The check-out time in all Machu Picchu or Aguascalientes hotels is between 10.00 to 11.00am. and we are glad to offer complementary late check-out when our property is not fully booked. The day you checked-out unfortunately all rooms were assigned to a 1.00 pm check-in new guest.
For what concern the bags movement, inevitably between 11.00 and 01.00 bags are getting in and out the hotel due our guest´s bags crossover but this movement just last from 12 to 1.00pm after what all bags are delivers in our guest´s rooms and are not visible anymore.

None of the hotels located in the town Aguascalientes offer the privilege to overnight nestle in the flank of Machu Picchu Citadel. Also, in the case you overnight in town, the for concerning prices none, our hotel is an all-inclusive and offer the privilege to overnight nestle in the flank of Machu Picchu Citadel when our guests do not suffer any noise disturbance from evening to morning as they overnight “alone” in this Sanctuary. Also, in the case you overnight in town, you may suffer from the noise a town generate until late at night, also the time consumed by the bus trip means that between the line to purchase your bus ticket, the queue to get to the bus, the half an hour trip to get from the town to the Citadel, all round trip take away an average of two hours on your visit of Machu Picchu Citadel. Also, staying in our property offers to our guests the freedom to enter and exit the Citadel as many times as they wish during the day in order to lunch, refresh or rest for a while before to continue the discovery of Machu Picchu.
We deeply value your comments and apologize if we didn´t meet your expectations. We can guaranty you of our permanent commitment in keeping on with all the efforts and focus, reinforcing our renowned service quality with the firm determination to always correspond to the great treatment that our Trip Advisor reviewers always rank.

Best Regards
Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,347
    470
    174
    54
    29
See reviews for
433
1,091
87
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Yes, the Sanctuary Lodge is expensive but this is an once in a lifetime trip (very lucky if you get another chance and I plan to). Machu Picchu cannot be fully appreciated in a 4 hr pit stop so plan on staying overnight.

Location:
Tops! You cannot beat it as it is the only hotel at the citadel and you don't have to worry about taking the bus from Aquas Calientes each day. Wake early, catch the sunrise near the Guard's House (best spot supposedly) and then head back for breakfast. After breakfast, enter the citadel again. Same goes for lunch - enjoy the sights/hiking, head back for lunch and then enter again after most of the crowds are gone. Fabulous.

Room:
We had one on the terrace which was great. Enjoy a pisco sour on the patio, read in the chaise lounge and take a nap to the sound of a bubbling fountain. While the room is not so large, it was well equipped with bathrobes, mini-bar... plus the bed is extremely comfy (not the norm in Peru) which is highly appreciated after a day of hiking the ruins.

Meals:
This is all inclusive establishment including liquor. The food is delicious. On par or a notch above Cuzco's best restaurants.

Service:
I must say that they are willing to go well beyond the norm. We had somewhat of an emergency and they actually went to the pharmacy in Aquas Calientes for us. I have never had hotel staff do that for me before - ever!

Would I stay here again?
Definitely and plan to on my next trip. And yes, Machu Picchu is absolutely worth visiting more than once. Next time via the Inca Trail!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_r_h_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I recently visited Maccu Picchu and had considered paying $1,700 dollars for a room, given the fact that it would be a once in a lifetime experience where you would feel inside Maccu Picchu with unobstructed view. Thank God i didnt spend that money! I had the chance to visit a room ( we met a couple that was staying there) and the room was FAR from what i had in mind. The view was to a garden with Maccu Picchu waaaay back and you barely had a view since there was a huge tree obstructing it. Furthermore, this shennanigans about the advantage of going early to the park doesnt pay off. You can stay in Aguas Calientes, visit in the afternoon around 4 pm where there will be far less tourists and go early the next morning where you will catch the sun (if not overcast)Also, dont fall for "the park is CROWDED with tourists", just dont go on the peak hours. You can walk around easily, with no problem at all. Anyway, i dont think staying at the hotel would have changed my life! Saved some money and had a GREAT experience as well

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Santinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for helping us to improve our services with your comments.
For what concern the competition in term of pricing, indeed there are cheaper hotels and hostels in the town of Aguascalientes but none of them offer the privilege to overnight nestle in the flank of However, it is good to know the reasons why we couldn’t achieve your expectations, so we can take special attention every one. Also, in the case you overnight in town, the time consumed by the bus trip means that between the line to purchase your bus ticket, the queue to get to the bus, the half an hour trip to get from the town to the Citadel, all round trip take away an average of two hours on your visit of Machu Picchu Citadel. Also, staying in our property offers to our guests the freedom to enter and exit the Citadel as many times as they wish during the day in order to lunch, refresh or rest for a while before to continue the discovery of Machu Picchu.

We deeply value your comments and will keep on with all the efforts and focus, reinforcing our renowned service quality with the firm determination to always correspond to the great treatment that our Trip Advisor reviewers always rank.

Best Regards,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Location: Situated about 100 yards from the entrance to Machu Picchu. The advantage is we were able to go into the site when we arrived at noon, then at 4:00, just before it closed and when it opened to catch the sunrise.
Service: All staff helpful, attentive and pleasant
Food & Beverage: Part of the package - it was of a high standard and included all our drinks.
Room: We had a standard room with a very small "patio" but it was adequate as apart from sleeping we weren't in the room for long.
Tip: The hot tub is a great place to relax with a bonus view of Machu Picchu!

Room Tip: Unless you are staying for more than one night, I would recommend selecting a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stoneycanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for helping us to improve our services with your comments.

We deeply value your comments and will keep on with all the efforts and focus, carrying on with the reinforcement of our service quality with the firm determination to always correspond to the great treatment that our Trip Advisor reviewers always rank.

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

What a treat to stay at the Lodge after a day of exploring Machu Picchu! We obviously were tired, and were invited to be seated so a reservationist could come to help us check in. (God forbid you should have to stand at the counter!) We had checked our bags at Aqua Caliente when we exited the train, and they were waiting for us in our room. The doors opened to the terrace with a waterfall next to it, and the orchid gardens as well. The sun was setting over the mountain and the evening was warm and inviting. Dinner and all drinks are included, and I highly recommend the alpaca, which was perfectly cooked. There was a fire in the fireplace, excellent musicians playing guitar and pipes, and great service. Unfortunately, we did not bring our bathing suits, and therefore were unable to enjoy the jacuzzi, which would have been bliss.

We were really sorry that we had to leave the next day, We stored our bags with the front desk while we hiked the Inca Trail to the Sun Gate, and used the day room to freshen up afterwards. What a wonderful experience the Lodge is! Expensive, but worth every penny to be able to step out at sunrise and watch the sun break through the clouds over the Sun Gate.

Room Tip: I doubt that there are bad rooms here. Ours was #40, at the very end of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nevertooold53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for helping us to improve our services with your comments.

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Maine, United States
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The location at the entrance to Machu Picchu is a whole lot better than staying down in Agua Calientes and taking a bus up every day. That one feature trumps any other issues. That said, this hotel would be quite ordinary in any other location. The rooms are small with limited ventilation and the food is just OK. The service is great so that helps. Ultimately the biggest issue I have is that the hotel location is an ecological nightmare located as it is in a place with limited water and means to get rid of it or of other waste. It really shouldn't be there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for helping us to improve our services with your comments.
First we thank you for you positive comments on neatness and about the food and helpful service quality given by our staff.

We deeply value your comments and will keep on with all the efforts and focus, carrying on with the reinforcement of our service quality with the firm determination to always correspond to the great treatment that our Trip Advisor reviewers always rank.


Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We loved this hotel. How nice it was to be able to leisurely stroll a few feet to the park when it opened and stay until the last minute, when it was quiet and most of the tourists had left. Our room was very comfortable and had a view of Huayna Picchu, and we enjoyed excellent meals in the restaurant. I'm so glad we stayed here and not down the road in Aguas Calientes, where we would have had to spend way more time dealing with the chaotic shuttle bus situation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisy92008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeperu, Director General at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your contribution, it will certainly help other guests coming to Machu Picchu!

All the best,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machu Picchu
1.4 mi away
Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel
Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machu Picchu
518 reviews
1.3 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,788 reviews
1.4 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Andino Hotel
Andino Hotel
#3 of 3 in Machu Picchu
34 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,005 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Sanctuary Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Sanctuary Lodge

Property: Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Address: Carretera Hiram Bingham Km 7.5 | Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu 5184, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Sanctuary Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge enjoys a unique location just steps from the entrance to Machu Picchu; it is the only hotel beside the Inca citadel. This charming mountain retreat, set in orchid gardens, is the perfect place to relax, from early in the morning to magical moonlit nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Belmond, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Sanctuary Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge By Orient-Express Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Hotel
Sanctuary Lodge Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing