We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea at the Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea at the Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I didn't stay at the Lodge but had afternoon tea at the Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge. It was a bit of a drama even just entering the lodge too, they wanted to ensure that I had a reservation (which I did have and I had names of hotel staff correspondents to prove it)

Disregarding that entrance episode however, the afternoon tea spread itself was a nice break from all the climbing and walking around at Machu Picchu and the tea (or coffee) and sandwiches and scones and other light bites, though not wide in range, was enough for an afternoon re-fuel.

There was no view of the Machu Picchu site from the restaurant though, so don't come to the afternoon tea restaurant expecting to see it.

I can't remember the exact amount as my partner paid the bill but it was an approx of just over US$20 per person.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveldivaritagoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,347
    470
    174
    54
    29
See reviews for
433
1,091
87
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
341 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Outstanding service, location, food and drink. The hotel is adjacent to the gate of Machu Picchu and is the only hotel nearby. It is definitely a first class hotel with great staff and services. Other hotels are a half hour bus ride away. It is worth the price.

Room Tip: Book early to get a room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohntheSkierGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Our two nights in the Sanctuary were the highlight of our entire trip to Peru. The location alone was worth the price and the jacuzzi, food and incredibly friendly service put it over the top! I wouldn´t hesitate to stay here again. All of the hotel staff have an incredible attention to detail from remembering your name, favorite drink, getting tickets, even holding an umbrella over you while walking to the jacuzzi. It was quite, the beds were extremely comfortable and Machu Picchu was only 10 steps out the front door. We absolutely love our Sanctuary experience!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlexaPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

This was a great hotel to stay at!!! When we arrived by Peru Rail it was raining and a rock had fallen on the tracks. As we got off the train we saw 2 porters from the hotel there to carry our big bags for us and get them to the hotel. When we arrived the receptionist said she would aid
us in addressing the fact the Peru Rail had not informed us of a station change from Poroy to Ottanyanamumbo. The food was great and the service matched it.

Room Tip: We had a room on the garden which was devine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosalee I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

After check in at a non-descript lobby, walking up a short flight of stairs and looking at an average door, you walk into a room that is reminiscent of a cabin on a transatlantic cruise ship, including the tiny balcony. The room is small but immaculate. The bathroom looks like it is restored perfectly. If not restored, it is amazingly well maintained. The turn down service included a pair of white slippers sitting on a small white cloth on either side of the bed and as I recall a couple pieces of delicious chocolate. I was amazed at how quiet the rooms were, given the age of the building. Slept like a baby, even at this altitude.

The bar is well stocked and the drinks are included in the room price, even after check out. Service throughout the hotel is without peer. Dinner was memorable. I had a duck breast with a raspberry reduction sauce. That, alone, was worth the stay and probably the best meal I had in Peru. We were with a group of 20 and everyone was very pleased with the dinner. Lunch was at a very large buffet -- also very good.

The lodge is steps away from the entrance to the Machu Picchu site, so you can come and go as you like. The best times are late afternoon after the buses leave and early morning before the buses deliver folks who are staying in town or arriving by train.

As noted, we were with a tour group, so I don't know how much the night cost. I do know that if you are going to Machu Picchu, THIS is the one place to splurge. Just as Machu Picchu is not to be missed, neither is this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VenturaTraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Just returned from a stay at the Sanctuary Lodge. I was a bit skeptical that the price could be justified by the stay. However, the staff and the overall ambience of the Lodge overcame that initial reluctance to book here. The Lodge itself is unassuming. Apparently it was built just to entertain digniteries visiting Machu Pichhu. But the rooms are very comfortable, although on the small size. The price for our stay included three meals and all drinks, including soda, beer, wine, cocktails, etc. Every afternoon there is a tea as well as a tasting introduction to pisco. Staff were all very helpful and gracious. Of course the best part of staying here is the location to Machu Picchu. This means you can stay late until it closes and arrive early--all without the many tourists that mob the venue during the day. It is a splurge, but for my husband and me it was well worth it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PatWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge is right at the entrance to Machu Picchu. All other accomodation for visiting Machu Picchu is at the bottom of the mountain at Aguas Calientes. The Lodge has excellent decor and service and was immaculate. However, the room was small for the expensive price. The restaurant has a nice ambiance. Waitress Silvana and waiter Uriel were delightful, cheerful people, very professional and their work was excellent. I enjoyed there conversation and appreciated their thoughtfullness. The food was excellent. Although the cost to stay was expensive, all food and drinks were included and being right at the entrance to Machu Picchu made up for it. It was great to be able to go back to the lodge and your room at anytime from Machu Picchu. Being able to go to MP early morning and late evening was especially good. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machu Picchu
1.4 mi away
Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel
Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machu Picchu
518 reviews
1.3 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,788 reviews
1.4 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Andino Hotel
Andino Hotel
#3 of 3 in Machu Picchu
34 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,005 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Sanctuary Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Sanctuary Lodge

Property: Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Address: Carretera Hiram Bingham Km 7.5 | Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu 5184, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Sanctuary Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge enjoys a unique location just steps from the entrance to Machu Picchu; it is the only hotel beside the Inca citadel. This charming mountain retreat, set in orchid gardens, is the perfect place to relax, from early in the morning to magical moonlit nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Belmond, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Belmond Sanctuary Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Lodge By Orient-Express Hotel Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu Sanctuary Hotel
Sanctuary Lodge Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing