We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Mass
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I was here in January 2013. After reading other reviews, I was wondering if they all went to the same place! I had stayed in 3 different towns before AC, and found this hostel to be the best one I stayed in. I thought the room was very clean, the bed was super comfortable and the shower worked just fine. The breakfast was the best out of any I had in a hostal in Peru, came with eggs, nice bowl of fruit and any cereal and bread you wanted. I paid for the bag lunch and liked it as well. Marguerite, the owner was very helpful with hints about the town. Her son was there the second night and was just as friendly. I would recommend this place to anyone. Hey I got a facecloth here and they had bath mats!!!! They are currently updating the place and I am sure it will be even lovelier!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cajrn57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    154
    136
    78
    58
See reviews for
90
213
40
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Nothing really special about the shower actually, but after the 6-day trek I was on, it was the best shower I ever had.

Breakfast is average, strange paintings all over the place, and the ugliest dog I've ever seen. That's the best way I can describe Gringo Bill's. It did it's job by providing a comfortable room and working shower, but that's about it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We spent 2 nights here on either end of our Machu Picchu visit. We got the impression that the quality is slipping quite a bit. Although it was marginally OK, I cannot recommend it. We stayed in the family room, which had 5 beds total in two bedrooms which is great. However the master bedroom and bathroom had a real funky smell, and cleaniness was iffy. It is becoming a bit run down all over. The view from the balcony of this room was very nice. Yes you see laundry on neighboring rooftops but that is true of every place in Aguas Callientes except the two very high end places at the far ends of town.
Breakfast was poor, and if you wanted eggs it was an extra charge.
Pool/spa was closed (probably is except for the busy season)
Service was friendly at the front desk and helpful.
Location is good.

Room Tip: unless you get a good deal, stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Machu Picchu hotels

Annapolis, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I booked a suite at Gringo Bills in October, and after discussing it with the other women traveling with me, we decided not to stay overnight in Aguas Calientes. So, I canceled my hotel reservation, literally the next day. It has been over 4 months and multiple emails back and forth between various "management" personnel at Gringo's and I have yet to receive my refund. I have not stayed at this property, and therefore cannot rate the rooms, etc, but I can say that I will NEVER stay here or recommend that anyone else stay here if you value ethical business transactions. I knew planning a trip to Peru would come with the occasional snag and didn't expect it to go smoothly all the time, but I had hoped that a seemingly reputable hotel like Gringo's would provide better service. So bottom line, unless you are 100% sure you want to stay here and nothing will come up that will require you to change your reservation, look elsewhere or wait until you are sure because if you cancel, you won't see that money ever again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currumbin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed at Gringo's in December 2012. Arrived in the dark around dinner time to find my booking had not been logged in.
This was interesting, as my name was on the sign to be met at the train. Which I was not!
One staff member hurried to find a vacant room, which was cleaned and allocated in around 30 minutes.
Because of the error, I accepted the clean would be below par. The room was as well. Noisy, no hair dryer. Took 2 hours to get a hair dryer.
No introduction to the hotel or its facilities. Restaurant currently closed except for dinner, don't know why.
Cleaning and kitchen staff friendly but no English at all. Just a tiny bit would be great.
Breakfast ok, bed less than ok.
Only saving grace was price around $100.00 Australian per night.
It was a shame, as Macchu Picchu is the crowning jewel to most travelers vacation, to have poor accommodation when returning from this wonderful part of the world was disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nathan717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The wifi is not working in the room. The whirlpool and the swimmingpool were both out of orther. The room was not cleaned.
The only positive aspect of the hotel we can say, is its central position to get the bus to Machupichu and to go to the restaurants. Even though we stayed only one night, we really did not enjoy our stay and we cannot recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We arrived on the first night to a blackout throughout the entire town. Luckily, they hotel had solar lamps prepared and that got us through the first night. We got a decent room with comfy beds and clean sheets. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast is below par, you get cold bread some fruits and eggs (seems that way throughout peru). Avoid the 25 soles lunch pack, just make do at Machu Picchu with some biscuits or something, it'd taste better than the lunch pack sandwich. Wifi speed was okay but PC at reception was spoilt though they let you use they working laptop. Chill out area was nice though, with cable TV and occasionally an amusing hairless dog. Priced reasonably for Aguas (we got room for 3 at $105 a night).

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jingcong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machu Picchu
1.4 mi away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#1 of 3 in Machu Picchu
2,095 reviews
0.2 mi away
Andino Hotel
Andino Hotel
#3 of 3 in Machu Picchu
36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,825 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#10 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel

Property: Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle Colla Raymi 104, Machu Picchu, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After 29 years of service in Machupicchu Town, Gringo Bill's has become one of the best choices for mid-range tourist. We have been working non-stop to improve our small family owned business to provide our guest with a special place in an "out-of-the-ordinary" type of hotel in Machupicchu Town. We thank all those who have commented on our hotel and we are taking any bad comments to good use to help us prepare much better. Thank you kindly, Lawrence Kaiser ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing