We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dissapointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Let me first say that in the small town of Aguas Calientes there are few "hotels" the majority of the places to sleep are hostels. With that in mind I expect that Gringo Bill's probably has better accommodations than most. The hotel appears to have been built in sections up a large hill. To get to our room we had to haul our luggage up four different flights of stairs. The room was very musty like it had not been used in several months. The decor was very old. The biggest issue was that the doors outside did not close all the way. There was about an inch on the bottom of the door that was open. This town is in the middle of the jungle! There are bugs everywhere! I woke up on our second (and last thankfully) morning and found bug bites all over my legs and stomach. I can only assume that something crawled into our bed while we were sleeping. The other big issue is breakfast. It is included with the room but is awful. I would recommend eating anywhere else. The coffee looked and tasted like thick sludge and the food was pretty bad. There are also several stray cats that seem to enjoy fighting and making a lot of noise right outside the hotel. I did not sleep well to say the least.

There is a very nice hotel about 100 feet away that we ate lunch at one day. It appeared to be the best option if you have room in your budget. One other saving grace was a French bakery/restaurant called La Boulangerie De Paris. Please visit that restaurant, it is a welcome break from all of the other restaurants in the town that offer the exact same food!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megs98198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    135
    124
    70
    53
See reviews for
75
190
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arequipa, Peru
Level Contributor
130 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

It is situated nearby the machupicchu plaza. Beds were ok, linen were clean, bathroom was ok (neither clean nor dirty) however the hotel had problems with the water, the day we prepared us to go to machupicchu there was no WATER in the whole hotel ( even their reservoirs were empty), they ran out of water!, this is a very normal problem in machupicchu that is why most hotels take provisions well not this one. So we went to machupicchu with just washed faces :S ( we had to use our own bottled water ofcourse, which is very expensive in Machupicchu by the way). When this happened the receptionist was not very helpful at all, she was trying to put the blame on god knows who and implying that we should buy bottled water (and pay for it) to shower. Breakfast was tasteless and we wondered if they had hygiene standards. When we came back from Machupicchu our room was not clean, so imagine what a terrible surprise .
We reserved the family bungalow and it was pricey at the end we complained about the water and the untidy room and we got a discount. This was not a nice experience!,I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lamossella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Machu Picchu hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

The best advice is to treat this as a quirky back packer hotel. The word boutique does not apply to this hotel. I have not stayed in other places in this town but imagine them all to be quite basic. The rooms were average but had a bit of individuality about them. Lots of dark wood and red Peruvian hangings . Good balcony overlooking the roof tops and power cables. Sadly it poured with rain whilst we were there and our roof leaked onto the beds. Left at 4.45 am to join the bus queues for Machu pitchu sunrise so didn't try breaky. Staff helpful and hot water from the basic facilities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leedsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night in the family room with a couple of girlfriends, it was grim. The staff on reception were very helpful but the room was very tired ,bedding had hairs on and during the night it rained and we were woken up with rain dripping on our beds!! The positives hot water and a balcony to sit out on luckily we only slept in the beds for 7 hours. Would not call it a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leeds29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, MN
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

We had room 16 right at the top of the stairs to the breakfast room. It was noisy. There was also construction going on in an adjacent building and that noise continued late into the night. Our room was adequate. The beds were comfortable. The breakfast was fine. We only stayed one night. It was the most expensive hotel that we stayed at in Peru. Not really worth the price but the location of Aguas Calientes gives them the right to charge more. We did find Macchu Pichu to be spectacular and well worth the two days we spent exploring it.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank stillwaterlocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I originally booked Gringo Bills because I had waited to long to book my hotels and the selections were limited, however I was pleasantly surprised because the hotel turned out to be better than expected. Claudia, the front desk clerk, greeted us at the trained and showed us to the hotel. Before going to the hotel, she walked us down to the booth where we could purchase our bus tickets to Machu Picchu as well as showed us were the only two ATM's in the city were located. Claudia was extremely helpful and friendly. When we told her that we were leaving the next day at 5 o'clock in the morning, she made arrangements so we would get breakfast before we left. They don't normally serve breakfast that early.

The rooms were basic which I'm fine with. My biggest complaint was the fact that there were mosquitoes flying around in the room. I didn't think about how big a factor that was until I actually laid down to sleep that night. They ate me alive! Now having said that, I slept well none the less. The beds were comfy and warm. The was enough hot water to allow for an nice long shower.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePlanetrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

It appears that Gringo Bill's has fallen on hard times. I was looking forward to soaking in the hot tub after 11 hours of walking around Machu Picchu, but the tub was empty. The bar and restaurant were also closed. But still a good value. Offbeat with unusual decor, friendly staff, comfortable beds.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machu Picchu
0.2 mi away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#1 of 3 in Machu Picchu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
1.4 mi away
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
#1 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
1.5 mi away
Casa Andina Classic Machu Picchu
Casa Andina Classic Machu Picchu
#7 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
1.5 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel

Property: Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle Colla Raymi 104, Machu Picchu, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Machu Picchu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After 29 years of service in Machupicchu Town, Gringo Bill's has become one of the best choices for mid-range tourist. We have been working non-stop to improve our small family owned business to provide our guest with a special place in an "out-of-the-ordinary" type of hotel in Machupicchu Town. We thank all those who have commented on our hotel and we are taking any bad comments to good use to help us prepare much better. Thank you kindly, Lawrence Kaiser ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Gringo Bill's Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing