We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent fine dining with Peruvian food”

Huayoccari Hacienda Restaurant
Ranked #48 of 299 Restaurants in Sacred Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Peruvian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
555 reviews
304 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Excellent fine dining with Peruvian food”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch here as part of a luxury day tour of the Sacred Valley. So don't know how much it was, but it would have most likely been worth it. It started with a complimentary Pisco Sour. Then causa or salad as starter - causa much better. Soup next - tasted home made. Then a choice of Peruvian mains - lomo saltado - beef was tender, chichurro pork, trout or chicken. Generous portions. All the deserts looked delicious. Soft drinks were complimentary also. A lovely meal. The view of the gardens & mountain was great also on the sunny day that we were there. Only downside is that it is a long way from Urubamba, almost 40 mins for us, and the road to the house is a dirt road. Make sure the taxi driver knows where it is.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yss97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    10
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“very special but just a bit disturbing”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hill top hacienda is not just about the lovely food and service and views, it is about the incredible art work and craftsmanship of the furniture in the complex.

We were in a small group that took over the private and very formal dining room and our buffet dishes were outstanding. Truly decadent eating, as pretty to look at as to eat.

As well as our dining room there is a vast room for patrons and several nice outdoor areas. for a lunch you will want to sit out side and admire the views. At night, it is desirable to sit inside and admire the art works.

There is that nagging historical bugbear however that originally this place, like most early Spanish haciendas in Peru, was built on slave/peon labour and likely on corruption and terror, too. The artworks include Inca, pre-inca as well as 16th-17th century Spanish paintings. It is unlikely a price could be put on the value of the art, owned by a private family.

Originally the hacienda was a monsterous size property, now it is a modest landholding... a reminder that Peru nationalised the large haciendas some decades ago, freeing up land the workers could claim.

One can't eat in such historic homes of the former super wealthy who owned people as well as land and livestock without acknowledging its past.

Nevertheless, this is a restaurant experience not to be missed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rubybellissimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadow Vista, California
Level Contributor
222 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Incredible Place, A Highlight Of The Trip”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Nestled high in The Sacred Valley in the midst of a cattle ranch this hacienda charms you from the entry through dinner. The 300 plus year legacy of this family owned ranch and restaurant strikes you as you enter.

You enter into a long glass case lined wide hallway are give a complimentary Pisco Sour, told to take your time viewing the pre-Inca artifacts in the cases. As you turn the corner you encounter another similar artifact lined hallway of Inca artifacts, then comes a Spanish Colonial room, then finally a large room with European art. A collection started by the current owners great grandfather and brought forward by subsequent generations.

As you try and take this in you also have access to the beautifully landscaped gardens just outside. It was like stepping into a luxury travelog presentation.

When you are ready, the dining room is set with elegant linens, fine china, gleaming glassware and multiples in silverware. The menu is fixed price with multiple choices in each of the courses. Our group of 8 were well served with an excellent dinner. The winners in the group appeared to be those who choose the fresh trout prepared with a caper sauce. I had the Lomo Saltado, a beef & mild pepper dish, but looked longingly at the fish. Pork & Chicken were also available. Wine & filtered water was included. Our cost, including tip was under $50US per person. It's cash only, so bring your Soles ("so-laes" - Peruvian Dollars).

It's located 2KM from he highway on a dirt road. Getting there was an adventure. Two taxi's of 4 people each started up the hill's dirt road. At one point the hill was too steep for the taxi to bear the load, we were requested to walk through this stretch. A bit up the road the taxi stopped & let us re-enter, a short distance later that move was repeated. It was pitch dark outside, fortunately one of the people in our cab had thought to bring a flashlight. It's not as bad as it sounds, but you do have to be prepared for the unexpected. A woman in heels would have had an issue. Fortunately this is an informal area of Peru, we were in regular travel clothing and didn't have any such issue, nor did we feel under dressed.

The place is like visiting another world in it's rural setting. Food and service that would be respected in any major city placed high on the walls of a scenic and magical valley.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EffStop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views & wonderful food. A MUST while in the Sacred Valley”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

This hidden hacienda sits up one of the sides of the Sacred Valley offering spectacular views and fantastic food. The space is grand and intimate at the same time with a small private museum in the main house and seating available both in and outside of the house. We were there for lunch and enjoyed our meal outside. The meal consisted of traditional Peruvian cuisine which was impeccably served.

This was definitely one of the highlights of our trip to the area and we recommend it to everyone that visits.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gio-1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huayoccari Hacienda Restaurant also viewed

Cusco, Cusco Region
Urubamba, Sacred Valley
 
Urubamba, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Huayoccari Hacienda Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing