We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go for the view alone!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Huaca Pucllana

Huaca Pucllana
Ranked #36 of 2,441 Restaurants in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Miraflores
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Go for the view alone!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

The location of this restaurant is amazing! So gorgeous. Even if the food were terrible this would still be a must. However, the food was quite good and the service was fine. They have English menus, although as far as I could tell we were the only English speakers there. Get reservations as we were there on a Tuesday night and it was packed. Sit on the patio. This upscale restaurant, with the 1,500-year-old pyramid, was my husband's favorite part of Lima.

Helpful?
Thank psatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,131
    714
    200
    49
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“One of the Most Spectacular Restaurants in Lima”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

The setting is amongst ancient ruins in Lima. Make sure to get a table outside. I take small groups of travelers to Peru and I make sure to take the group to Huaca Pucllana each time we visit Lima. We usually start off with a Pisco Sour, move onto the appetizers like Tokapu where the diner may choose a combination of any four appetizers on the menu like blue crab claws, corn tamales, broiled scallops, or yucca spirals.

For the main course, most people in the groups I take to Huaca Pucllana favor the fish, especially the trout, or paiche filet from the Amazon.

It is an impressive place, that I recommend you put on your list when visiting Lima.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pixfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
89 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Impersonal service with a one of a kind view.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Peruvian fusion food was good, not great; however, eating dinner almost on the steps of one of Peru's impressive archeological sites is mind boggling.

The presentation was impressive but the food was just O.K.

The service was below par. It felt as though our table of just two were almost a bother in comparison to the attention the larger tables got.

Always had to hunt down our server and ask for more bread, another beer, dessert, etc.

Also had too many "suits" (managers?) standing around doing nothing.

Helpful?
Thank Dr0119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

While on my City Sightseeing tour we passed this restaurant and the tour guide pointed it out as a must for great Peruvian food. After the tour, I grabbed a cab and headed over there. For some reason I didn't anticipate it to be quite as fancy as t was. Oh well. The waiters didn't speak very much English, but I managed with my broken Spanish. I ordered the garden salad and the aji de gallina for lunch. I am, by no means a carnivore, frankly I sway much more to the vegetarian side, but figured I had to order a Peruvian classic. I'm so happy I did, as the aji de gallina was amazing. The sauce had just enough kick for this white girl and the chicken was cooked perfectly. I really didn't know what to expect, but ended up with an amazing lunch.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielle1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and atmosphere...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

What a wonderful restaurant. Highly recommend. Upscale dining, but extremely relaxing atmosphere. The restaurant has both inside and outside dining. The outside dining is under a large "awning-style" roof that has a view of a live-dig archaeological site from the 5th century. The food and drink selection was excellent. If you enjoy fish, especially sushi style, do have the ceviche (seh-VEE-chay)...jus tfantastic, tasty, and not too heavy or filling. Of course you will have had or need to have a Pisco Sour drink...simple, but traditional. Much the way a Mojito is in Brazil.
The menu has many options, but I tend to try the local dishes whenever possible. Do not shy away from the "cuy"...(Guinea Pig). They do a light frying and it comes looking more like nuggets and is not the entire animal. (Although I am sure that is available in Lima as well).
A wonderful restaurant and atmosphere. Upscale, but the price won't shock you as the same meal might in New York City or elsewhere.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TCU61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huaca Pucllana also viewed

Lima, Lima Region
Lima, Lima Region
 
Lima, Lima Region
Lima, Lima Region
 

Been to Huaca Pucllana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing