We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a nice place to stay in Lima”
Review of Casa San Martin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa San Martin
Ranked #47 of 345 Lima B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 24, 2009

We find this hotel on-line, and stayed on it after we return from Cuzco. The hotel we stayed first (Antigua Miraflores) was great, but it was full back them. This hotel was described as a nice boutique hotel, wich it's not.

The staff was very friendly, helping us a lot, trying to fix the problems we found there.

The hot water was almost non-existent, we stayed there for 2 nights and we had hot water issues every night. First it sundenly ended and the next day it was cease to exist... I had to take a cold shower before returning back home.

There was a leak on our bathroom and the water started to flow to the room and them to the hotel corridor. The bathroom door was poorly painted and felt dirty.

The breakfast was really good, made to order, with fresh juice and scrambled eggs.

The internet worked fine, although I didn't manage to acess from the free wi-fi connection.

The hotel is located 2 blocks from Av. Larco and very close to the mall and to the Kennedy Park.

The lady at the counter even gave us a discount due to all this problems, but I would not recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrHarryBrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 110 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2009

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights, the location was great and quiet. The room was simple but large and comfortable with international TV. The management was really helpful and friendly. Breakfast was the best we had during 3 weeks holiday, with fresh fruit and juice, eggs, cheese and warm bread. We would happily go back and recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolHolHol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2009

After staying in a 5 star Hotel with all perks, come to find out it wasn't all what I expect from them, especially when I wanted to stay another day, it was as if it was my first time there. so I decided to leave and find something else. I came across Casa San Martin Hotel, even though it wasn't a 5 star Hotel, the service there was like know other. It was great. I have learn just because you are staying in a 5 star Hotel that doesn't mean you are going to get great service all the time. If for some reason you visit Lima Peru, look it up, you can't go wrong with price there.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blkthunder2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

We loved our stay at Casa San Martin. It's small, cozy and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. An excellent value. Highest possible recomendation. The lovely & gracious owner explained that a guest who could not pay their bill retaliated by giving them a poor review. Don't believe it. This is a find!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottnkassandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights as we wanted a location in the Miraflores area without paying an arm and leg per night. It is an older hotel and very typical for a room in Peru. Because of being very humid the hotel had a musty smell in the rooms but this is typical. The towels were even a little damp. It was not a problem for us though. We asked for a room in the back and the nice lady (owner) said it would be about 20 min. Somehow someone was moved so we could have a quiet room. The owner did everything to help us, she even made a local call to talk to a friend in Spanish and make arrangements for them to meet us. Her breakfast was cooked to order and was by far the best breakfast we had for 8 days in Peru. We even asked if there was someplace to get coffee in the evening and she insisted upon making us coffee and bringing it to our room. There was also free internet. Know that this is a no frill hotel but the owner made it so pleasant for us I would go back. The driver was waiting for us at the airport with our name on a sign and he also brought us back to the airport at 4 in the morning. It was $20 each way. Pay in cash and she gives you a better rate. We used US $.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2009

Choose one of the upper floor rooms, great views and balcony on the 5th floor

Staff is great
very good breakfast
perfect spots for lunch and dinner, just up the block
away from crowds, and close to locals
nice massage, beauty shop next door
excellent language school close by

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidamartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2009

i found this hotel to be clean with helpfull management and staff the rooms were excellent and cosy . location centre of miraflores and close to the larcomar centre where you can find excellent restaurants and good food . the hotel manageress was very influential in helping me with my trip to cusco and to visit the magnificent inca city the machu pichu which was breathtaking and also the beauty of cusco its self .
thankyou to all at the casa san martin hotel for this special holiday

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claretandbluearmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Hostal El Patio
Hostal El Patio
#13 of 345 in Lima
506 reviews
Miraflores
Ibis Larco Miraflores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
JW Marriott Hotel Lima
Miraflores
Hotel Stefano's
Hotel Stefano's
#42 of 236 in Lima
581 reviews
Hostel Playa Ola Grande
#130 of 345 in Lima
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa San Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Martin

Address: Calle San Martin 339 | Miraflores, Lima 18, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 345 B&Bs / Inns in Lima
Price Range: $59 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa San Martin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are pleased to introduce our new Hotel Casa San Martin, located in the heart of Miraflores between Jose Larco and Alfredo Benavides Avenues, guests are within easy access of Lima’s key commercial centers, restaurants and tourist sites. Our Hotel combines colonial style and modern convenience into a unique beautifully decorated establishment, offering our guests a high quality of service in a relaxing and comfortable setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Casa San Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Martin Hotel Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing