We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I could say better things”
Review of Casa San Martin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa San Martin
Ranked #46 of 310 Lima B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wish I could say better things”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

On the positive side - the hotel staff are very nice and helpful. They made tour reservations for us and recommended restaurants. We slept in our first morning after at 1:30am arrival and they were very accommodating serving us breakfast. The taxi pick-up and delivery went as planned. The hotel is well-situated in Miraflores and we were able to walk around the neighbourhood.

On the negative side - the room smelt like cat pee, probably the humidity but not pleasant. The bed sheets were damp with all the humidity. The floor in the room was so dirty our socks and feet ended up black but it was cleaned the next day. No bottled water in the room - with our late arrival it was not possible to purchase any for the morning. There is no safe in the room and they open the interior windows to catch the breeze during the day so there is no security for your belongings.

Overall, we should have paid a little more and stayed in a better hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    39
    9
    12
    2
See reviews for
13
33
24
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I chose this hotel from Trip Advisor reviews and Lonely Planet's write up (to be fair the 2010 edition, which I think has been updated).

On the good side, the hotel staff were nice, the taxi pickup from the airport worked perfectly and was good value. The room size was large and there's a lift for luggage.

However, although the hotel is not very old, it's pretty tired. In our bathroom the ceiling was covered in mould and damp and patches of paint actually fell off during our stay. My bedside light was dangerous with exposed wires and the light over the mirror had a smashed cover. The shower cubicle leaked and our cleaner told us off for not using the bath mat to sop up the water!

It's cold in Lima at the moment and there was only one blanket on the bed originally, so we were cold.

We paid $78 a night and there are better places to stay in Lima than this for about the same price. I wouldn't go back here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjs1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana, United States
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was an excellent, moderately priced hotel with reliable airport transfers, clean rooms, hot showers, and an excellent location in the Mira Flores District near the Pacific Ocean and quite a few good restaurants. The staff spoke English and the early morning wake up call came in right on time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smk47807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We arrived in Lima after several days trekking to Machu Picchu. Our cab driver was late and we we got scammed by a guy at the airport (very official looking, excellent fake airport ID) for 100 soles. This was our fault for not being careful enough but it turned into an argument with the staff which was probably due mostly to language considerations. All this led to a bad feeling about Lima in general. The manager, Lidia, did her best to make us feel better and the staff honestly tried to help us out after the misunderstanding but we never felt comfortable there. Breakfast was excellent but the building needs serious work. Lots of peeling paint, a few tiles missing from the bathroom and when you shower there's water all over the floor from a leak somewhere behind the wall. Again, after the misunderstanding the staff was great but I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: try to get a room away from the street side, it can get noisy. Also, before you go to bed at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scudrunner19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here for our first 3 nights in Peru. We took advantage of the USD20 taxi from the airport, which went to plan and made our arrival easy. The owner and staff were welcoming and helpful. Nice size room. Good breakfast. Good location, close to Parque Kennedy.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights. Prior to our visit we had confirmed airport pick up for $20 however when we arrived at the Lima airport there was no one to pick us up. No problem as we just got a taxi thru the airport registered taxes called Green Taxi for 45 soles. The location is great in our opinion. It can be a little loud at night (on the weekends) but its not constant noise and once we were asleep it never really woke us up. We arrived very late so I would suggest to either buy a bottle of water in the airport or have the cab stop. Nothing was open around the hotel and they only gave us 1 small bottle of water and we were thirsty from our long trip in. The room is very nice we were on the 3rd floor with a queen bed and private bathroom. The bed was comfortable however the pillows are not. It might be a good idea to ask for more pillows if possible. Only other real complaint with the room is there is no safe. Overall great experience and we would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen-Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed for 2 days/1 night in Casa San Martin. Perfect location. Lovely staff. Cinthia was great! She organized a city sightseeing tour for me. Everybody was very helpful. Freshly cooked breakfast was great. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 69w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Hotel Miraflores Lodge
#102 of 226 in Lima
209 reviews
Miraflores
Casa Andina Standard Miraflores San Antonio
Miraflores
Hotel Casa Cielo
Hotel Casa Cielo
#59 of 226 in Lima
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bayview Hotel
#108 of 226 in Lima
288 reviews
Miraflores
Hotel Las Palmas
Hotel Las Palmas
#96 of 226 in Lima
185 reviews
Miraflores
Atrium Miraflores Boutique Apart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa San Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Martin

Property: Casa San Martin
Address: Calle San Martin 339 | Miraflores, Lima 18, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 310 B&Bs / Inns in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa San Martin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are pleased to introduce our new Hotel Casa San Martin, located in the heart of Miraflores between Jose Larco and Alfredo Benavides Avenues, guests are within easy access of Lima’s key commercial centers, restaurants and tourist sites. Our Hotel combines colonial style and modern convenience into a unique beautifully decorated establishment, offering our guests a high quality of service in a relaxing and comfortable setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Casa San Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Martin Hotel Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing