We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Japanese Fusion”
Review of Osaka - MOVED

Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: San Isidro
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Japanese Fusion”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

All we order was good; used to be better 1 year ago but still a good place.
A few dishes too expensive for what they are....tiradito type sashimi are the best

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlaviaVM, Community Managment at Osaka, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Google Translation
Alan gracias por tu visita en Osaka. Nos da gusto que hayas vuelto a pasar una nueva experiencia en nuestro local. Siempre velamos por la calidad e innovación de nuestros platos y el buen servicio del personal.
Esperamos que nos visites nuevamente.
Saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    157
    36
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fabolous Japanese Fusion”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We loved our meal at Osaka. the drinks were delicious and the service could not have been better. we found all the dishes to be very creative; the salmon carpassion, in a passion fruit sauce was delicious, and so was the grilled octopus. the sushi rolls and the Thai ceviche were also delicious; would definitely recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MMG07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlaviaVM, Community Managment at Osaka, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por el buen comentario. Estamos felices de que hayan disfrutado de una grata experiencia en Osaka. Esperamos tenerlos nuevamente en nuestro local y que puedan deleitarse con nuestra variedad de platos y bebidas.
Saludos Cordiales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
1,019 reviews
401 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 576 helpful votes
“Sadly wouldn't recommend”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

I had really high expectations for this place I guess and sadly they weren't met.

We went on a Sunday afternoon so maybe the staff were just looking forward to finishing for the week. There wasn't many people there so the atmosphere wasn't great. No drinks menu, service seemed haphazard and not quite what I was expecting considering the prices. Food was good but portions were small and it was expensive for what it was. Some of the dishes were good but none of them were amazing.

There are better places to eat for much less in Lima.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eatydrinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlaviaVM, Community Managment at Osaka, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por su comentario, nos hubiera gustado que se sienta satisfecha y cómoda en nuestro local. Le pedimos disculpas por no haber sido lo que usted esperaba. Esperamos que vuelva a nuestro restaurante para compensar la situación que pasó.
Será un placer recibirla nuevamente.
Saludos Cordiales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
94 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Big Disappointment.”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Food was alright.
Ordered the mariscos al fuego and the server offered to half the portion from 6 to 3, which was considerate.

It was delicious but upon asking the hostess what went into the sauce for it, she asked for a minute to check and promptly forgot about my question. I gave it more than 15 minutes (and was observing while she was chatting to her colleagues) before asking her again. Without any embarrassment, she simply spouted what was already in the menu (it was a japanese butter) and mentioned that it was a little spicy. Well, I'd already eaten it, so yes I knew that it was spicy.
I expected a higher level of service from a restaurant that has so many branches. I had previously visited the one in Santiago, Chile and was impressed by the service, but then again it might be because it was in a W Hotel instead of the restaurant itself having good service standards.

I was by myself so I chose to sit at the bar, where I could watch the chefs at work. Unfortunately, they all simply just stared back at me like I was some strange creature. It made me extremely uncomfortable. Usually I like to chat with the chefs if I'm seated at the bar, but this time, with about 4 guys just staring at me while I picked at my food, was extremely awkward.

I also had octopus a la parilla with miso sauce. I was looking forward to good grilled octopus but instead it didn't seem grilled, and was drowning in sweet miso sauce. It came with an accompaniment, which I chose the thai rice at the recommendation of the server. The rice was good and homey, cooked in some kind of savory sauce with a selection of veggies cooked with it.

I decided not to order more and allow them to disappoint me more.

I am a backpacker who splurges on food, so I don't usually leave tips, but if I were the sort who did, I would not leave a tip here.
Just had lunch at La Mar in Av La Mar yesterday, and it was amazing, of a similar price range with fantastic service even though they were a lot busier than Osaka was when I was there. Perhaps the contrast is too great, but I usually research places to eat and am not usually this disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wanderlustmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlaviaVM, Community Managment at Osaka, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Google Translation
Señorita, ante todo, reciba un cordial saludo. Lamentamos mucho la mala experiencia que pasó en Osaka. Es parte de nosotros ofrecer platos de alta calidad, nuestra máxima prioridad es proporcionar un buen servicio a nuestros clientes, que ellos se sientan satisfechos y cómodos con lo que ofrecemos.
Recordamos su presencia en nuestro establecimiento, y nos apena mucho lo sucedido con el servicio, prestaremos más atención al desempeño del personal. Le ofrecemos, de parte de todo el equipo de Osaka nuestras más sinceras disculpas. Nos hubiera gustado que este inconveniente no hubiese pasado.
En cuanto a los platos, le aseguramos que cada uno de ellos es preparado con mucho detalle y supervisado antes de salir, procurando tener la calidad y frescura de siempre. Nos apena que el pulpo no haya sido de su agrado.
Esperamos que pueda venir a nuestro establecimiento una vez más para disfrutar de nuestra gama de platos a la carta y de nuestra gran cultura. Esperamos que vuelva para poder reivindicarnos, la esperaremos encantados. Muchas gracias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
87 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Japanese fusion in Lima”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

These guys have brought sushi to another level by delicately adding new ingredients to the preparation of sushi and using mixed techniques. Ask for their most creative sushi dishes but if you love japanese food do not leave without trying their traditional noddle soup.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandybs_, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Osaka, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Google Translation
Juan gracias por recomendar nuestra cocina nikkei. En Osaka trabajamos para brindarles a ustedes la mejor experiencia nikkei, combinando cortes, cocción y sabrosos insumos peruano-orientales.

Esperamos nos visites nuevamente.
Saludos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osaka also viewed

 
Lima, Lima Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing