We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such amazing food!”
Review of Astrid & Gaston

Astrid & Gaston
Ranked #61 of 3,452 Restaurants in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: San Isidro
Description: Peruvian restaurant where creativity, quality, integration and commitment converge. Tasting menu is only served from 13:00 to 14:30 and from 19:00 to 22:30
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We sat in the bar for starters before going into the dining room. We loved the octopus and pork dumplings! Then we had pork belly and a seafood dish and ceviche. We barely had room for the ice cream sandwich!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Katherinerichter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 48 of 5,377 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The most outstanding feature of A&G is the attentive, generous and dedicated service of the staff. There really is a loving vibe there. Our servers were unhurried (on a Friday night), perfectly coordinated, and treated my young children (6 & 8 y/o) with as much patience and respect as any adult. The kitchen staff appeared similarly expert and dedicated (we sat directly in front of the glass wall separating the kitchen from the main dining room) and were extremely accommodating of our dietary restrictions (they basically changed out half the tasting menu for us when we would’ve been more than happy to just order from the regular menu).
This is definitely a foodie experience. (I wish I had photographed the scene of the kitchen staff taking their own photos of a new dish.) And, the staff are true artists. I am not a true foodie, though, and I’ve had equally good dishes and wine pairings at numerous other, less acclaimed restaurants. Thankfully, the servers and sommelier didn’t belabor the descriptions, which drives me nuts. I was definitely delighted and amazed several times. But, again, the greatest value of this restaurant to me is the staff and their philosophy.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Margaret O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Chef Gastón Acurio, the national hero of Peru, the great chef of that country, the pioneer of the modern fine dining in Peru, and his much famed restaurant known in the whole world and frequently praised with accolades, both stay relevant today, which is not a small feat by itself in a city where newer (and sometimes more daring) restaurants keep popping up, a serious challenge impressively conquered considering the status of Lima as a gastronomic Mecca of the Latin America.
Chef Gastón Acurio doesn't oversee the daily operations at his restaurant anymore, but the creative duo of Chef Jorge Munoz Castro, the sous-chef Manuel Navarro Mejia, as well as the Chef Pâtissier Astrid Gutsche are at the helm of Astrid y Gaston steering it well in the high waters of modern gastronomy.
The tasting menu, the 2019 fall (spring in the northern hemisphere) menu "Lima Love" features about 14 courses and very attractively priced at about $200 per person including the optional wine pairing (our final check came up to $500 for two including our generous tip), which is somewhat less than what other Lima's 50 World's Best Restaurants "heavyweights" would charge you. The food doesn't require our amateurish critique. It was amazing, enough said. Not one single dish was a miss, and all of them were solid hits, with no exclusion.
The restaurant's location deserves special mentions. Since 2014, Astrid y Gastón is located in Casa Hacienda Moreyra, a beautiful sprawling mansion built in the second half of the 17th century, classified as a historical monument in 1972, and situated in the city's posh neighborhood San-Isidro. The building has changed many owners and was rebuilt due to 1746 earthquake and later urban planning changes. One of the most famous events associated with Casa Hacienda Moreyra is the reception, given in (approximately) 1821, on the occasion of the Independence of Peru, to the Liberator of Peru, the national hero of South America General José de San Martín. The building is maintained beautifully and features about five different dining areas including an open terrace, which considering almost total lack of rains in Lima, might be a good option for your lunch or dinner.
The staff would arrange for the transportation back to your hotel or Airbnb rental.
The reservations are available through the restaurant's website.
We can't recommend the place high enough. You simply can't visit LIma without having your meal there.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RGSOUNDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A very relaxing and peaceful lunch experience at this incredible restaurant last week when I visited Lima
I love fine dinning; Peruvian cuisine is one of my favorites. This is the flagship restaurant of Peruvian celebrity chef Gaston Acurio and is currently ranked 33rd on the San Pellegrino World’s 50 Best Restaurants. It’s definitely worth a visit if food is one of the key reasons. Great service, elegant but relaxing atmosphere n fenomenal food; enjoy it !!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank carlosel395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We always try all of Chef Gaston Acurio's restaurants and this is another that did not disappoint. The Ceviche was so perfect, i was craving more. They used Lengueda Sole fish and is was amazing. My daughter had the brazed lamb shank Seco and it was delightful. We will return here on our trips to Lima

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jadecruises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Astrid & Gaston also viewed

 
Lima, Lima Region
 
Lima, Lima Region
 

Been to Astrid & Gaston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing