We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, bad service, food court style”
Review of Astrid & Gaston

Astrid & Gaston
Ranked #30 of 3,627 Restaurants in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: San Isidro
Description: Peruvian restaurant where creativity, quality, integration and commitment converge. Tasting menu is only served from 13:00 to 14:30 and from 19:00 to 22:30
Reviewed July 9, 2016 via mobile

Too much protocol to make a reservation, they ask for your allergies and concerns in advance. Once there, no one mentioned our reservation details, they gave us a lousy table, and the waiter charged items that we did not order. The area where we sat had very loud music, and seemed like a fancy food court from a mall. Compared to other restaurants we visited, this was of the least category. One can find much finer service and quality in many other Lima venues.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Anappg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (6,365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,266 - 1,270 of 6,365 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2016

My significant other and I were excited to try Peru's fine dining and we're excited when we were able to book a table for lunch at one of the founding restaurants with only one day's notice. The grounds and architecture were beautiful. The service was efficient but unobtrusive. And the food was delicious and interesting. Between the two of us, we sampled about 1/3 of the menu (and about 1/2 of the desserts) and everything was great.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank skend01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2016 via mobile

Astrid and Gaston have created an spectacular gastronomical adventure , besides being great hosts. Congratulations

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank juanluisy2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2016

This was a meal that will not be forgotten. Although we arrived a few minutes before the restaurant opened, the host welcomed us as though we were long-lost guests and seated us in the bar area. The food was beautifully presented and delicious in flavor. Decor was magnificent and the service was personal yet unobtrusive. Not to be missed is the "chocolate bombe", a dessert that defies description and can only be experienced first-hand. It easily fed six of us and has given us topics of conversation for weeks ever since!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank slibber
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2016

My two friends and I showed up right at 7:00pm without a reservation. The maître d' was extremely friendly and had us wait at the bar to see if he could get us a table. After he gave us a tour of the restaurant and the different kitchens, he sat us down at right in front of the kitchen!

We ordered both tasting menus, the larger one has an additional (I think) 5 or so dishes. We were awed at every course and had a delightful time listening to the creativity and stories behind every dish. The timing of every dish was perfect and we were extremely excited that we got to eat here. Being from New York, I was also surprised at the price of the tasting menus - being able to get 20+ dishes for less than 130USD is pretty much unheard of in NYC nonetheless from a world renowned restaurant.

Make sure you get a chance to stop by!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank ofrizzzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Astrid & Gaston also viewed

 
Lima, Lima Region
 

Been to Astrid & Gaston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.