We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service, heavy deco”
Review of Rafael

Rafael
Ranked #63 of 3,453 Restaurants in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Miraflores
Reviewed December 23, 2016

The food was delicious and nice service, but the only downside was a rather heavy deco and not that relaxed atmosphere.

The drink list was very extensive with a large selection of piscos. The food menu was typical Lima/Peruvian selection of dishes with a hint of modern interpretation. the tuna carpaccio was nice, but the seafood tiradito was exccellent. For mains we chose the langoustines and the mero (grouper) fish steak. The mero was deliciously prepared and very juicy.

Rafael is on the ground floor with big windows. Inside the decoration is in-between modern and formal, but it didn’t have a heavy formal feel to it. The lights were quite dim, so the mood was somewhat romantic.

See more travel and food stories at my blog of a tireless traveller on wordpress.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank markoj05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 172 of 1,504 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2016

Rafael was amazing. My boyfriend and I arrived just after they opened on a Saturday night. Although we didn't have a reservation, they made room for us at a small table near the bar. Our sever was very happy and helpful. We shared a starter and two pasta dishes before ordering dessert. The scallops had a particularly nice flavor. I hope to come back one day!

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank altajd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2016

The food and the service was great. But I would like the meal suzes to be bigger (was not enough for me and my wife). Expect 20-25 USD for a main meal (2016).

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ekaterina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2016

Rafael has always kept a very low profile. Lima has Gaston Acurio as a unique promotor of peruvian gastronomy and Central recently rated amongst the best restaurants in the world, but locals and insiders, head for Rafael.

Everything is just right. An small restaurant with very good atmosphere and professional staff. You can ask for any dish and one will not be disappointed.

Definetely go for the foie gras or the several dishes of scallops or try Rafel's versions of the ceviche or tiradito. All different and original.

For main course try the Mero. The best fish available in Peru. But all the meat and fowl dishes are superb too!

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Manuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2016

This is a foodie Mecca. Cocktails, food, service, intimacy are excellent. We ordered the full meal deal and every course was excellent and well timed. Fine dining is our thing so we go all out when we travel and out budget is high. We seek new food experiences and there is nothing cliche' here.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravelBunny91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rafael also viewed

Lima, Lima Region
 
Lima, Lima Region
Lima, Lima Region
 

Been to Rafael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing