We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deliciously Chaotic”
Review of La Mar

La Mar
Ranked #11 of 2,591 Restaurants in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Miraflores
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Deliciously Chaotic”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

As soon as you near the circus called La Mar you hear a buzz or is it a roar ? It is lively and wild ! So much life and so much flavor and so little time !! Before long you are elbowing your way through a dense crowd to lay your lips religiously on your first Pisco Sour, and I say first because there will be more to follow, and this is only a warm up, the waiters are zooming past you in a whirlwind, the kitchen staff is literally bubbling under pressure as the orders keep pouring in,..
Ehrrrr...." can we talk about the food ?"
Sorry I got carried away, Great food, Acurio is in command, special taste, humanity, creativity, after all he put Peru on the Gastronomic map of the world, freshness, beautiful ingredients from the local markets, and skill in the kitchen
We can t wait to return

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CHNFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,667 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,468
    898
    232
    40
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a meal”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Everything was perfect and I mean perfect. My wife and I were thrilled to go here and after 5 days of hiking to Machu Pichu we were exhausted. This was our second meal in Lima and it was flawless in every way. It was a one of a kind meal with truly clean flavors. It was packed and being a cebicheria it did not smell fishy at all! PLEASE EAT HERE!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spadonir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun and delicious lunch”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Come early! We were second in line at 11:45 am. The food is delightful, bright flavours, great combination of traditional Peruvian and fusion dishes. Presentation was great and so was the service.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank DorisBorisBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“One of my best meals ever!!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

It's so dificult to elect one restaurant here is this city.
Everywhere it seems better then the other. I felt sometimes that my standards were getting to high...
Here is the place to spend a lovely afternoon with yoursefl, your friends, your family.
Nice atmosphere, simple but very elegant, with a staff really concerned in Give you the best service.
We had a cebiche degustantion to share in four, delicious , then I had

I think we stayed here for almost four hours, and it was just perfect!!!
While in Lima don' t miss this one specially if you are here during a weekend.
One of my top three in Peru!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AUECWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful Pescados and Mariscos”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

If you are looking for a very good restaurant, you must go to "La Mar"; one of my best three....
You will have a great choice of fishes and seafoods with many differents sauces.
The place is nice and people working there are helpful.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luomweupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mar also viewed

 
Lima, Lima Region
Lima, Lima Region
 
Lima, Lima Region
 

Been to La Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing