We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sophisticated cafe”
Review of Alfresco

Alfresco
Ranked #41 of 2,505 Restaurants in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Miraflores
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Sophisticated cafe”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Alfresco is located on a busy thoroughfare in the Mirafores district of Lima occupying an old building that has been modernised to retain some of the originals character. Some of the dinning occupies the older, more secluded, inner part whilst other tables are in the extended front section, pavement cafe style, though enclosed. It seems to be popular with tour groups at lunchtime. Dishes are presented stylishly, quality not quantity, I can recommend the Peruvian speciality Cerviche Tricolor, raw fish served with three different zingy sauces. Service was attentive.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    680
    478
    140
    48
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Maybe it was good... But it isn't now”
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

It seems it was a very good restaurant in the past, but my visit was not as expected. No music, silence is soooo boring when you are in a restaurant. The space is really big and it looks like empty, furniture is not nice, I remembered of a haunted mansion while I was having dinner.
The food was ok, I has a grilled fish with asparagus and it was ok, but the service was really really slow. (1 hour for one order :S)
I think there are lot of good restaurants in Lima with the same price, and better environment and service. I'll not go back there.

Helpful?
Thank Gondeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
Level Contributor
110 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood in Mira Flores”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

When we asked the concierge at our hotel the best ceviche in town, he recommended this restaurant. We ate early (7 pm) by Peruvian standards, but the place filled rapidly with locals. We were able to get a table for two overlooking the street corner. Service was excellent. We requested the ceviche, and the waiter made some excellent suggestions.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3,319 reviews
914 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 656 helpful votes
“Good Ceviche & Service”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Although not ranked by Frommers and others this restaurant was suggested by the nearby J W Marriott where we were staying, We arrived around 12.15 and there were few customers but by one the place was full of locals and tourists. The service was good and the food excellent and diverse. We opted to shared two smaller plates which were ample . The first was a ceviche based on soles, octopus and cilantro and was extremely good. The second was a causo, a mashed potato base stuffed with sole and a creamy marinade of shrimp also very tasty. Looking around there were a variety of dishes worth trying. The wine list was good and not expensive

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oldjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kungsholmen, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best restaurant I've been to in Peru!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant serves ceviche to DIE for! I was there 3 times during a five day trip to Lima, and maybe it says a lot about the food. Delicious, tasty, an explosion of spices. A great food experience. Absolutely love it!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Berkita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alfresco also viewed

 
Lima, Lima Region
Lima, Lima Region
 

Been to Alfresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing