We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem, great location- safe”
Review of Grand Hotel Betsy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel Betsy
Ranked #137 of 226 Hotels in Lima
Milwaukee, WI
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“A hidden gem, great location- safe”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Location is in a safe neighborhood and is right next to huge grocery store, mcdoncald, chilis, and few other american chains. The husband speaks very good english and the wife is not as fluent, but very kind. The rooms are HUGE and include refrig, tv, and microwave. They provide a bar of soap, so BYO shampoo and conditioner. In Lima, i strongly recommend only seeing the sites with tour groups, and when you are in taxis, make sure to put your suitcase in the trunk/boot and lock the doors. I would recommend this hoel in Lima- it was the largest room i stayed in during hte whole trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mightygeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    18
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
17
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waco, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Very good location in Miraflores two blocks from a traffic circle surrounded by several restuarants and a wonderful grocery store. The lobby is roomy, and the courtyard pretty. There is a small elevator in case your room is on an upper floor. Breakfast (chapa bread, jam, juice, instant coffee or tea) is served on the 6th floor with a good view of the surrounding Miraflores area and the Huaca Pucllana Inca ruins, just a couple blocks from the hotel. Staff was friendly, although none seemed to understand any English. The hotel seemed quite secure with the front door being locked day and night. Beds were rather hard. Some of the rooms have a refrigerator and microwave oven. Bathrooms were large and clean.

Room Tip: Suites are large and just a few dollars (soles) more expensive than a double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FromTexas2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

OVERALL
Nice, semi-charming place. i would stay here again if i were looking for a bargain.

PROS
The bed and pillows were reasonably comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. The courtyard is reasonably pleasant. The room was pretty basic, but had a bit of charm. Decent Miraflores location. Paid only about $50. Nice, basic breakfast served on rooftop.

CONS
Lock on window was missing, but once mentioned to the staff they sent a guy to fix it within a half hour. Windows open up to outdoor hallway. No hot water, but they said this was only temporary because of a broken pipe (actually there was a bit in the morning).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank particle_bored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We spent 2 days in Lima and found the prices at the Grand Betsy to be reasonable and liked the fact that they had a/c (surprisingly a lot of places we looked at did not!). The hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff were helpful and the area was safe. This is a good place to stay for those traveling on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terrence M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I look for a long time in Lima for an afortable place with air conditioning. I stay 10 days in grand hotel Betsy and I enjoy my stay there. The staff is friendly. Small but clean room, fridge, microwave, little continental breakfast in the morning. Safe neighbourhood, nice location. Only complaint the safe box doesn't work in all the rooms but they offer me to keep my passeport in the safe in their office.
Quiet place but around 5 or 6 AM you will hear a rooster singing, That is the beauty of vacations in downtown Lima, I enjoy my stay there, My thanks to the staff, I enjoy my vacations.

Room Tip: Safe box in the rooms doesn't work,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaston A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Compared to the other hotels in Peru, this one was the best we stayed in. I gave it a 3.7 because it was almost close to "very good". The property in general was clean and pleasing to the eyes , but there was a water issue in the toilets on the first and second floor as well as around 5 am. We came as one huge group of students around 70 of us. When I asked them about it they hung up on me, great. The room also didn't heat properly, so it was hard to get out of bed. The food was great on the bright side and the front desk was friendly. There is also a nice view of the square from the 6th floor. Overall I would say that besides the other issues recently stated, I would have given the hotel 5 stars.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the middle or closer to the ground floor in case of emergencies; the elevator is ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissDianap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Tx
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2009

This was our second hotel in Lima and a vast improvement over the first one. We came there after a week of strenuous (for us) high altitude touring and hiking around Cusco, Machu Picchu, and the Lake Titikaka islands. We were tired, dirty, and worn. The rooms were clean, quiet and well lit. There was hot water and wonderful towels. The staff was very accommodating despite limited English skills. The hotel also provides free internet access. The only down side was that breakfast was uninspired consisting of rolls, jam. and oleo, with instant hot drinks.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AggieTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
San Isidro
Roosevelt Hotel & Suites
Aku Hotels
#65 of 226 in Lima
97 reviews
Suites Plaza Las Flores
#128 of 226 in Lima
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Hotel El Ducado
Hotel El Ducado
#84 of 226 in Lima
262 reviews
San Isidro
NM Lima Hotel
NM Lima Hotel
#35 of 226 in Lima
582 reviews
San Isidro
Ananay Hotel San Isidro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Betsy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Betsy

Property: Grand Hotel Betsy
Address: Av. Santa Cruz 665 | Estamos Ubicados en El Distrito de Miraflores a Una Cuadra Del Ovalo Gutierrez, Lima 18, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 226 Hotels in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hotel Betsy 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Betsy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing