We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostal Bonbini
Nearby Hotels
$299
JW Marriott
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel B(Lima)
$492
$437
Travelocity
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$90
$75
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$225
$214
Travelocity
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$257
$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$136
$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Casa Cielo(Lima)(Great Value!)
$77
$65
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveler rating
5
19
36
12
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
19
36
12
6
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 78 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2010

We had booked in to another hostal in central Lima which on arrival turned out to be very grim. We had already tried to book into two others which had no vacancies. So we were very relieved to find Hostal Bonbini close by and pleasantly surprised with both the quality of the facilities and the price. Our room with private bathroom was spacious, clean and quiet. A comfortably furnished lounge area immediately outside our room was complete with free internet access. While the establishment is reasonably old, all facilities were clean, well decorated, and fully functional. The shower provided really hot water.

A family run operation, the staff were cheerful, friendly and helpful. A small budget restaurant on the ground floor is part of the same operation and provided an ¨American¨ breakfast included in the room rate.

The location, just two blocks from the Plaza de Armas meant that we could walk easily to many places of interest.

We would have no hesitation in using this hostal again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger-Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2010

We returned to the Bonbini at the end of our Peru trip. We had so far been quite happy with it. But this night we went out to a pena (folkloric dancing, music) and returned at 2 am by taxi. Not a late hour in this town. The hotel was locked up tight. Another person was ringing the doorbell. We all yelled, rang the bell, called on the phone - to no avail. We were 2 women on the streets of central Lima with limited funds, no credit cards, and no passports to check into another hotel. We were stuck spending the night in a bar. This is a 3 star establisment on the sign. The night clerk was upstairs on the internet and ignored the calls. When I tried to talk about it the next day - no manager/owner available. And they are not too interested in finding one. Very unsafe.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hikergirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

I highly recommend the Hostal Bonbini. I stayed for over 2 weeks at the Bonbini in April and it's my second time staying there. I used to always stay in Miraflores but I like the colonial part of Lima, there is so much history, old flavor, and it feels so safe, much safer than years ago. The hotel is very clean, very comfortable, lots of clean space, very accommodating. The owners and the employees are wonderful people and they are dedicated to helping travellers at the hotel. There is incredible hot water and great towels in large clean bathrooms, there is a television if you need, beds were comfortable and lighting was good. Rooms are private and there are sitting areas outside of the rooms as well as access to the roof where there is another little sitting area and you can see a bit of Lima. I would highly recommend staying in the old part of Lima and I would also highly recommend staying at the Hostal Bonbini, you will feel safe and at home and well-cared for!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goodheartotavalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

We stayed at Hostel Bonbini for 2 nights. We had been in Cusco and booked a hotel through the GoPeru website for Lima, same day. Big mistake. Thought they accepted payment they then sent another e-mail saying they could not honor the reservation so canceled it. Of course I didn't know this since I didn't check my e-mail after.

We arrived in Lima, headed to the hotel then found there was no reservation. The location wasn't quite as good as we had hoped so we left to find another. After a failed 2nd attempt at another hotel (fully booked) we decided to try this hostel that the cab driver knew. We were very pleased with the results.

The hostel is older but in a great location. Literally 2 small blocks off Plaza Mayor. Walking distance to most of Lima's attractions. We actually spent a full day walking all over downtown Lima. Stopping in twice to drop off our shopping just because it was that convenient.

We had a 'matrimonial' room as they call a double room here. If you ask for a double room there you get 2 single beds. Ours had a double bed, then a single bed which we put our luggage on. The room was big with a fan (no air-con) and big windows.

The shower was great! We had stayed at other hostels where the shower was a dribble. LOTS of hot water and great water pressure. The place was older but very clean. The staff were super helpful with all our random questions - how much to go to airport by cab, how to get to barrio chino, where to get a good price on pisco (the supermarket!). We left our luggage there after we checked out as we had a late flight, no extra charge. Breakfast was included but we didn't get to eat it since we were late to rise.

It is basic but a great price for the location and space that you get. The only warning is that the room was a little warm from the sun and there is no air conditioner. We were there in May, during their winter. I presume that it might get very hot in summer.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussiechickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2007

We arrived in Lima at night and were flying out the next morning. We had the hotel arrange a car to pick us up. We drove through some rough parts of Lima to get there but the place itself was safe.

I completely agree with the previous review. It was run down but clean.

Staff was friendly and helpful. We didn't have time for breakfast and someone in the dining room put together a bag of food for us.

We were there for less than 12 hours but it served it's purpose well.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WWSTMTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews