We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly/Familiar Atmo”

Barranco's Backpackers Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barranco's Backpackers Inn
Ranked #59 of 330 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly/Familiar Atmo”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

In the best part of Lima / the bohemian artist neighborhood / you find this friendly relaxed little hostel owned by Chris; who´s lived in Lima for 10 years and knows all the inns and outs of not only the capital but the whole of Perú. The rest of the staff are also beautyful, very helpful and nice people. It´s quite economic to stay here (10/11/35$ dm/double) and you can cook at home;) I higly recomend it;D Thank you Chris and Family.

Emil Tsakalis

Room Tip: The upstairs dorm has a bit more air flowing through it if you like that. Downstairs dorm is just as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilTsakalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    42
    21
    2
    5
See reviews for
1
41
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SoCal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Needed a place for me and my gf for 12 hours after Cusco trip prior to a very early morning flight next day. Wanted simple, clean, walking distance to all the fun in Barranco AND at a reasonable cost. BBackpackers delivered on all counts.

Even though my flight was delayed over an hour, the driver Chris sent was still there waiting. Solid service!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Unlike most people this is where I landed before returning home after a great time in Peru. It was a great place, clean, hot water, and really relaxed. The staff were amazing, helpful and very kind. It was affordable ($10-$11/night for a dorm) and Barranco was a beautiful area with lots of excellent restaurants, grocery store and bank machine if needed. The hostel also has a kitchen for use, internet and a patio area to sit and relax with other travelers. Everyone that met there was great.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoundRefuge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Really good value, hospitable environment, informative staff and clean. Fun place to stay. We were able to take a pretty good walk to Miraflores. Not necessarily a real short walk but not bad at all. Good place for young travelers. Barranco is a good place to be based out of and explore Lima without paying the ridiculous prices in Miraflores. This stay was back in 2008.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bo-DeanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

The service was the best about this hostel, Chris answered all my emails promptly and in English and they organized safe taxis for us. All the staff was very nice and helpful. There is hot water and the rooms are clean and there is a very good supermarket close-by.

Although the hostel is not right in the center of the action, I found the street was reasonably noisy (it wasn't possible to close the windows) and because I'm a light sleeper, I didn't enjoy this too much.

We didn't like the area Barranco very much, and although we haven't been to Miraflores, I think it would have been a better choice. We normally like to spend our holidays with locals rather than other tourists, but Lima didn't seen a very safe or nice place to be and maybe touristy Miraflores would have appeared safer. First thing we got told, was not to go to the beach as it is unsafe. So we spend most of the time in the room.

The hostel itself felt safe and my review is strongly influenced by the fact, that I didn't like Lima in general and recommend to spend as little time as possible there and more in the Sacred Valley/Machu Picchu area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

this was our first stop for our trip of South America. we din't know what to expect. we were welcomed warmly. the bar tender / guide gave us info about lima and took us on a guided walkin tour at no cost. the owner Chris, made us feel at home and gave us and assisted us alot for our trip. we also got assistance for booking buses from the hotel staff. clean. spacious. great value for money

Room Tip: the ensuite room is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S0nki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Good value hostel, comfortable beds and ensuite not vey modern, but was clean. Breakfast was quite good, owner was very welcoming and offered information. Pillows could have done with being replaced. Overall good and would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunny147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Barranco
Beraja Family Hostel
Beraja Family Hostel
#13 of 330 in Lima
34 reviews
Miraflores
151 Backpacker Hostel
151 Backpacker Hostel
#62 of 330 in Lima
73 reviews
Lima Backpackers
#2 of 330 in Lima
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barranco
The Point Hostel Lima
The Point Hostel Lima
#157 of 330 in Lima
98 reviews
Miraflores
Nomade Backpackers Hostel
Pariwana Hostel Lima
#1 of 330 in Lima
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barranco's Backpackers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barranco's Backpackers Inn

Property: Barranco's Backpackers Inn
Address: Mariscal Castilla 260 | aka Malecon Castilla 260, Lima 13, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Barranco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 330 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Barranco's Backpackers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barranco`s Backpackers Hotel Lima
Barrancos Backpackers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing