We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Better Location. No AC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa De Huespedes Porta
Ranked #153 of 343 Specialty Lodging in Lima
KY
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Value, Better Location. No AC”
Reviewed August 30, 2009

Nice hotel, with good location, right ner Miraflores. Airport pickup and drop off for around $7. Only a few minutes walk to the shops, restaurants and maybe 20 min walk to beach. Very nice area. No Ac in room, and Bathrooms are kinda small and not the most up to date, yet for the price and a short stay is worth it.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiestoFan242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    29
    23
    8
    7
See reviews for
7
32
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2009

General Comments
This place is also known as Hostal Porta and can be found on the web at hostalporta.com. We found this place searching the internet, most likely in a forum rather than a travel site. There didn’t seem to be much information available on it. It’s a basic, no frills pension type accommodations. The rooms look similar to photos on the website, but not what we expected it’s a much older building. Staff are friendly and the location is close to shopping but not in a lively neighborhood by far.

Location
This place is located in a residential side street in Miraflores about 5 to 7 minute walk from LarcoMar. Larco Mar is a wonderful outdoor mall that is located on the cliffs overlooking the Pacific Ocean. It’s also located at the end of residential street. There’s not much in the area other than a few convenient stores. For restaurante you’ve got to walk to Larco Mar or to Av. Larco.

Accommodations
The Hostal is nice looking on the outside and somewhat tired looking on the inside. The rooms are carpeted, although we asked a few times we were unable to get a room with wood floors. The carpet was used and not they type that you wanted to walk barefoot on, but who walks barefoot on hotel carpets anyways.

There’s free internet on 1 computer that is available to anyone in the lobby. Payments for accommodations can be made in cash and credit card. Diner Club and Visa are accepted. For credit card payments, there is a 3% surcharge.

We stayed for 2 occasions and believe the numbers were 201 and 204. The rooms were clean but basic and were lined with typical Peruvian craft paintings on the walls. Each room came with 2 towels, almost white, and a TV with remote control with many English channels. I can’t remember if there was an AC, but it wasn’t needed as it didn’t get very hot at night. Each room had a fan and a cabinet. Although you could lock it, it wasn’t very secure. There was a safe in the lobby, not sure if it was real, we didn’t use it. We kept our stuff in our packs in our room and it was safe enough.

Breakfast
Buns, Jam, Butter (yellow), Coffee with milk and juice. A bottle of water costs 2 soles. There is a fridge that contains hot beverages. There are a few small convenience stores located in the area, but it is better to take a little hike up to the larger sized convenience stores.

Travel to Airport
Did it 4 times, you’re looking at about $15 to $18 US. There’s a really good guy named Agusto that drove us all 4 times. Driving in general is crazy in Peru, I wouldn’t recommend renting a car. If you do, take the insurance, you’ll need it.

Tips
Av. Larco contains all the shops. The farther away from the cliffs the less expensive crafts cost. For a real deal head to Av Ricardo Palma & Petit Thouars ( Near Saga Fallabella) there are a dozen craft malls that offer great deals on crafts.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kobayashiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2009

The location of this hotel is not really convenient. Other than LarcoMar there are very few good restaurants nearby. The area around Kennedy Park is much more lively. The room we had certainly was not as nice as the photos on this hotel's website. It was very much in need of some renovations. The website says there is a safety deposit box at the front desk. When we asked about using the safety deposit box we were told they didn't have one and just to leave our passports and valuables in the room. Which we certainly did not do.
The biggest issue we had was with fake money. We changed a 50 soles note at the desk one afternoon so we would have some bills to use for a taxi ride to the National Museum. The man on duty gave us a 20 and 3 10's. When we paid the taxi driver he told us two of the 10 soles notes were fake. Of course, when confronted the man at the hotel denied it and said we got them from the taxi driver. Since it was our word against his nothing could be resolved.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsboll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lima hotels

são paulo
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2008

Great location, helpful staff, clean rooms. Good value for budget travelers.

  • Liked — The feeling of being in an old building in a good state of conservation
  • Disliked — Shower could be better
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank waynabrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach Shores, FL
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2008

The Hostal Porta is a smaller, older property in a quiet, residential neighborhood in the lovely Miraflores section of Lima. It is only 2 blocks from the great oceanfront promenade on the cliffs above the Pacific Ocean, and only 4 blocks from the lovely shopping/dining/entertainment complex overlooking the ocean called Larco Mar. It is also located just about 5 short blocks from the Parque Kennedy, the main tourist shopping and dining area of Miraflores.

If you like the "charm" of clean, simple, older hotels the Hostal Porta offers a good value and a quiet night's sleep. The staff is English speaking and very friendly and helpful. A computer is in the lobby for the free use of guests. Continental breakfast is included.

Rooms can be booked directly with the hotel on their website: www.hostal.pe.

  • Liked — Location, value, friendliness
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank scuba71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2008

this hostel is clean, in a great location, and the staff is helpful. overall it was a good time minus the usual things you find in traveling, like no hot water in one of our rooms. the issue came on the last day when we went to dinner at 6:30pm, and returned at 8:30pm to find that the money my aunt and I had put away to pay the exit tarrif at the airport had been pilfered and my Ipod headphone taken! we promptly called the Tourist Police who took our statements and the hostel owners son came down and for our loss of $92 ($52 in cash and $40 for the headphones) he offered us $26. mind you this happened at 9:30pm and we have taxi picking us up to go to the airport at 3:30am. long story short, they gave us $50 and we left never to return to that hostel again. as i said, it was not all bad, just protect your personal items and cash (check them at the front desk when you leave) and you should have a good time

  • Liked — location, good staff
  • Disliked — theft in my locked room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomandcatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostalporta, Marketing Manager at Casa De Huespedes Porta, responded to this review, June 26, 2008
In the hostal sometimes we have guests who say things are missing from their room. We then kindly ask the guest to really check all their bags and see if they didn’t put it in a spot they forgot they put the item. Usually they find it or remember they lost it in another place.
In this case the guest didn’t notify the reception, but went straight to the Tourist Police. The Tourist police came and as a standard procedure they take the side of the foreigner. They threaten the hotelowner, that the hostal can be closed down, and in reality if a complaint is really charged to the authorities, it causes a lot of administrative problems for the hostal, and basically the police gives one option to the hotelowner: Fix it with the police, and fix it with the guest.
This is what happened.
On the other hand, the police did a small investigation towards the guests, and found several inconsistencies in their story. The money that was supposedly stolen came from a hidden part of the wallet, where all bills where folded tightly, but in the main section of the wallet unfolded bills were found. The guest didn’t have a proper explanation of the unfolded bills.
What we as hotelmanagement always find odd, is that complaints from guests always come on their return trip ( the night before they leave Peru ), and not the night they arrive. Most likely it is that they overspend their budget, find out about the airport tax, and do anything to get money, or lower the rent, by complaining about the paint on the wall, or a noise in the door, or even theft.
The housekeeper that had access to this room, is a trusted employee with several years of experience in our hostal. He knows how important it is to be honest, and never failed us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2007

Spent three nights here in July 2007. Room was clean, though hot water wasn't plentiful. Staff were efficient. I used the airport pickup, which was a good value and safe. Free internet is offered in the lobby. Good location on a quiet street in Miraflores, walking distance to Larco Mar mall. Would stay here again and would recommend to others traveling to Lima.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TheHappyTraveler73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Hotel LLaqta
#119 of 227 in Lima
74 reviews
Miraflores
Hotel El Ducado
Hotel El Ducado
#83 of 227 in Lima
266 reviews
Miraflores
Alpes Lima
Alpes Lima
#23 of 343 in Lima
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
KACLLA, The Healing Dog Hostel
Miraflores
Red Llama Eco Hostel
Red Llama Eco Hostel
#11 of 343 in Lima
180 reviews
Miraflores
Atelier Hotel
Atelier Hotel
#68 of 312 in Lima
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa De Huespedes Porta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa De Huespedes Porta

Property: Casa De Huespedes Porta
Address: Porta 686 | Miraflores, Lima, Peru (Formerly Hostal Porta)
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 343 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa De Huespedes Porta 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Casa De Huespedes Porta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Huespedes Porta Hotel Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing