We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Way over-rated” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Posada del Parque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Posada del Parque
Ranked #199 of 321 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Way over-rated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

This place is not charming or quaint. It is cold, damp, noisy and barren. Don't believe the reviews that say its friendly and offers an adequate breakfast. Breakfast is a roll and instant coffee. The staff is tired and unfriendly. For a few bucks more you'll do much better than this place. Give it a pass.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tban0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    24
    18
    19
    12
See reviews for
12
34
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I will not repeat what others have said about the rules, cheap breakfast (powdered juice, nescafé) the rooms smelled of mildew, ceiling in our room was stain with different coloured mold....
too bad good location and gorgeous facade.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WhateverMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lima hotels

Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

This colonial style mansion turned into a hostel was really beautiful, relaxing and centrally located. It is a great value for the price and is interestingly decorated with ceramics and artwork from the region. The breakfast is continental but that is okay because the food in Lima cafeterias is very cheap. You want to eat the breakfast there anyway because the eating area is so charming. The location is great because it is in a cul-de-sac street and you can't hear the incessant traffic noises from the avenue. The beds were comfortable and the room and bathroom very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It would be nice to have a phone in the room but they let you use their phone at the front desk with a phone card. One taxi driver couldn't find the place so you should tell the taxis to let you off at the 1st street of Avenida Arequipa or the 2nd Street of the Avenida Petit Thouars. It is close to walk down the cul-de sac from there. Otherwise they might get lost if they don't know where Hernan Velarde is. If I return to Lima I would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We arrived late at night and were pleased to be met at the airport by a driver arranged by the hotel. On arrival at La Posada we were impressed with the quiet location, in a cul de sac, but near the centre of town and the house itself was quaint. The rooms were traditional, sleeping was difficult as my bed had a plastic under-sheet, which made it very hot during the night. Only one towel was provided. There were many signs telling guests what they were allowed, or not allowed to do; giving a less than welcoming feel to the place. Breakfast was very poor - it would have been better to rent the accommodation on a "room only" basis.
We could easily walk to the cathedral area and felt that with a very little effort the owners could make La Posada a really thriving business - it just needs a bit of thought and a better breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We were very disappointed by this place during our stay in Lima.
First, an unfriendly welcome at our arrival ... and they asked us to pay the totality of our stay before even entering the room (it is the only time we had this situation in three weeks in Peru !).
The room had nothing special and the breakfast was bad and unconsistent : 2 toasts, a very small dosis of marmelade/butter, orange juice in powder ...
Moreover, the rules of this hotel (posted in the room) are incredible, just an example : if you check in before noon you will be charge 50% more during the low season and 100% during high season (one more night for just a few hours !). Fortunately, we were not in this hotel at our early arrival in Lima and had the chance to have our room at 7AM without additional charge in the Hotel Kamana.
Finally, during the check-out, the manager was (for the first and only time) nice with us ... and asked us to put a favorable review on the web ... so we did it !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pedro_g67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

Mylene O's review pretty much expresses it to a "T". First, you are met at the airport and way overcharged for a transfer in a vehicle that looks like it may not make it across town -- I'm confident the taxi driver wasn't the beneficiary of the amount the hostal charged for this service. Sad. Then you are forced to pay for your entire stay up front the moment you check in. Rules are posted in the room -- more rules than I've ever had at any place I've stayed. For example, "no refunds for any reason" -- nowhere else in the world is this rule posted IN the room. There was NO electrical outlet in the bathroom. There was one electrical outlet that worked part of the time in the bedroom and there was no mirror near the outlet, so blow drying hair was interesting. The room we had had no windows to the outside, but had windows above the door (which was held together by masking tape) to the interior hallway. There were no coverings on the high windows, and the light in the hall shined directly into the room, making nighttime seem like daytime. Breakfast was pathetic. Coffee was instant, and free, BUT if you wanted a second cup you would need to pony up a dollar. Breakfast starts at 8 a.m. sharp, and don't even think of asking for your allotted cup of instant coffee before 8 a.m. We reserved a matrimonial room. Upon arrival, we were told there were two beds in our assigned room and if we used the second bed, we would be charged the fee of a room with two beds in it instead of just one. Want to check out late? Be ready to pay, cause they won't extend the courtesy, this is also written on the "rules" posted in the room. What's good about it? It's pretty from the outside and it is in a good location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RogerW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VALLENTUNA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

I had a nice room in a colonial style. The breakfast was only glass of juice and toast with jam. That is not a continental breakfast. It was difficult to find places in the area where it was food
for a vegetarian.
You need a bus or a taxi in order to go to the city.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bontrask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Gran Mundo Hotel
#143 of 226 in Lima
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Cercado de Lima
Gran Hotel Bolivar
Gran Hotel Bolivar
#65 of 226 in Lima
3.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
El Estadio Hotel
#103 of 301 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
House Inn Backpacker
House Inn Backpacker
#115 of 321 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Hostal Brasil
#195 of 321 in Lima
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Parque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Parque

Property: La Posada del Parque
Address: Hernan Velarde 60 | Between block 1 and 2 of Petit Thaurs Ave, Lima, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Cercado de Lima
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 321 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Posada del Parque 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your La Posada del Parque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Del Parque Hotel Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing