We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Clean!”
Review of Hotel Britania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Britania
Ranked #136 of 224 Hotels in Lima
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Clean!”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed here in April 2013 before and after our 3 week G Adventures tour. It was very clean and well kept. Nice selection at the free breakfast, especially the yogurt smoothies. It is in the Miraflores district which is a great neighbourhood. I would strongly suggest ignoring any negative reviews if you are looking for a comfortable stay that isn't overly fancy. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CB2820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    56
    51
    20
    5
See reviews for
13
41
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Nice mid sized hotel in the popular Mira Flores community of Lima. Lots of restaurants and shops near by. Clean with a good range of services. Good selection of breakfast foods. Mini bar and air conditioning in rooms. 5 minute walk to Inca Market and 20 minute walk to Larcomar shopping district.

Only two minor issues. Only one small elevator and the beds are smallish by North American standards.

If you want to save a bit and not stay at a major chain hotel, this is a good option.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Rowan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a nice clean place to stay in Miliflores Lima. Location is good for walking about. There is nothing special about the hotel and yet everyone is very nice. The breakfast is one of those with lots of different stuff... but nothing is great. If they reduced the quantity and increased the quality, it would be better

Room Tip: Our first room was at the back which was quiet but looked out on some roof tops and a wall. the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Had two nights here as part of a Peru Tour. Seems to be away from central Lima but is in a nice area close to the coast.

All Hotel facilities are up to standard and so were the staff. Food at breakfast was good and there was plenty to choose from.

We arrived after midnight hungry and reception organised food for us even though room service had finished.

Something I have never seen before was when anybody left a bag at their seat while at the buffet a staff member chained the bag to their chair.

I would stay at this hotel again without hesitation.

This was my first visit to Peru so have not experienced other hotels in Lima

Room Tip: Traffic is noisy in Peru. Everybody is on the horn all the time. Anywhere away from roads is a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 40SomethingSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malden, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The Britania was selected for us by our tour, and we only spend two nights here, at the bookends of our trip primarily centered in Cusco.
I cannot say anything truly stood out as being great or below average.
Rooms were clean, beds adequate, staff helpful, safe in room, breakfast was decent for a free hotel breakfast,

Lots of great extras: free Wi-Fi (the most consistent we found throughout out trip in South America), computers in lobby,

I did find it to be quite a ways away from historical Lima (about 45 minutes in Lima Traffic), the Airport (over an hour), and Jockey Plaza (15 m by cab at night), but the area was rather 'safe" area (so I am told), and pretty close proximity to some great restaurants Panchita (1 block), and Cebicheria Le Mar (15 m walk) among others.

Rooms that faced the streets were rather noisy (Lima drivers love to honk).

Not sure if I would stay again or not. Probably would if trip was centered around Lima, but probably not if it was just a stopover on way to Cusco due to distance from Airport and consistently bad Lima traffic.

Room Tip: Rooms that faced the streets were quite noisy, interior room was noted to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MFPIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 1 night, our stop on our way to cusco. We has a triple room. There were three of us ( friends) who are going to hike inca trail.
CONS
The Bed was hard as a rock. the television was so small.
The Wifi does not work even after we have informed them that it is not working.
Their Breakfast was horrible, the scrambled egg was watery , the bacon not cook. Even the bread was bad.

PROS
The Rooms are clean. The pillows are good , good enough ( I am very particular with my pillows. I usually bring my own)
The Staffs were friendly and efficient.
The place is Located in the center of town. Close to all the restaurant and town square. You can do some shopping for native stuffs.

The Place is located close to Pancita restaurant -good food. Pancita is 1 block from the hotel.



The room was very basic if all you need is a clean place to stay . This place is not so bad . Do not expect any other amenities.
Ask for a room away from the elevator, otherwise it would be too noisy.

This is a middle of the road hotel. Clean and very basic. They also gave us enough towels for the 3 of us. Enough soap and shampoo for all three.
Receptionist was nice and helpful.
Breakfast staff needs to be a little bit more friendly.
The Breakfast area/ section needs lots of improvements
Rooms are small to average. Needs more ventilation.
Good LOCATION!!!!!!


Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kent2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lima hotels

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights after i was evacuated out of Puno back to Lima. The hotel is in a good location, the front desk staff arent the greatest - We tried to get some help in some touristic things to do and asked for brochures etc but they didnt have any and werent that helpful. We headed down to Kennedy park and found an info centre and booked some tours. There is free wifi throughout. The housecleaining staff were walkie talkies that are extremely loud and when they are walking up and down the corridors wtih these blasting it can become slightly annoying.
We were in room 435. No natural light and double bed for 2 is very small. It is also a very hard bed!! We also had a ventilation system near our room that was turned on every 2 hours for an hour - very noisey! i heard other rooms were better. Breakfast included and not too bad. Best part about this hotel is the location and the bell boys.

Room Tip: avoid room 435 if at all possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Hotel Britania Miraflores
San Isidro
BTH Hotel
BTH Hotel
#22 of 224 in Lima
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Isidro
Ocean Hotel
Ocean Hotel
#183 of 224 in Lima
14 reviews
Blue Star Hotel
#168 of 224 in Lima
16 reviews
Hotel Las Lomas
#156 of 224 in Lima
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Britania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Britania

Property: Hotel Britania
Address: Av. San Borja Sur 653 | San Borja, Lima, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 224 Hotels in Lima
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Britania 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Britania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing