We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lima hotel that meets requirements.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Britania

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lima
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Britania
Ranked #127 of 226 Hotels in Lima
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lima hotel that meets requirements.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Had two nights here as part of a Peru Tour. Seems to be away from central Lima but is in a nice area close to the coast.

All Hotel facilities are up to standard and so were the staff. Food at breakfast was good and there was plenty to choose from.

We arrived after midnight hungry and reception organised food for us even though room service had finished.

Something I have never seen before was when anybody left a bag at their seat while at the buffet a staff member chained the bag to their chair.

I would stay at this hotel again without hesitation.

This was my first visit to Peru so have not experienced other hotels in Lima

Room Tip: Traffic is noisy in Peru. Everybody is on the horn all the time. Anywhere away from roads is a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 40SomethingSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    55
    50
    19
    5
See reviews for
12
41
14
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malden, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

The Britania was selected for us by our tour, and we only spend two nights here, at the bookends of our trip primarily centered in Cusco.
I cannot say anything truly stood out as being great or below average.
Rooms were clean, beds adequate, staff helpful, safe in room, breakfast was decent for a free hotel breakfast,

Lots of great extras: free Wi-Fi (the most consistent we found throughout out trip in South America), computers in lobby,

I did find it to be quite a ways away from historical Lima (about 45 minutes in Lima Traffic), the Airport (over an hour), and Jockey Plaza (15 m by cab at night), but the area was rather 'safe" area (so I am told), and pretty close proximity to some great restaurants Panchita (1 block), and Cebicheria Le Mar (15 m walk) among others.

Rooms that faced the streets were rather noisy (Lima drivers love to honk).

Not sure if I would stay again or not. Probably would if trip was centered around Lima, but probably not if it was just a stopover on way to Cusco due to distance from Airport and consistently bad Lima traffic.

Room Tip: Rooms that faced the streets were quite noisy, interior room was noted to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MFPIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 1 night, our stop on our way to cusco. We has a triple room. There were three of us ( friends) who are going to hike inca trail.
CONS
The Bed was hard as a rock. the television was so small.
The Wifi does not work even after we have informed them that it is not working.
Their Breakfast was horrible, the scrambled egg was watery , the bacon not cook. Even the bread was bad.

PROS
The Rooms are clean. The pillows are good , good enough ( I am very particular with my pillows. I usually bring my own)
The Staffs were friendly and efficient.
The place is Located in the center of town. Close to all the restaurant and town square. You can do some shopping for native stuffs.

The Place is located close to Pancita restaurant -good food. Pancita is 1 block from the hotel.



The room was very basic if all you need is a clean place to stay . This place is not so bad . Do not expect any other amenities.
Ask for a room away from the elevator, otherwise it would be too noisy.

This is a middle of the road hotel. Clean and very basic. They also gave us enough towels for the 3 of us. Enough soap and shampoo for all three.
Receptionist was nice and helpful.
Breakfast staff needs to be a little bit more friendly.
The Breakfast area/ section needs lots of improvements
Rooms are small to average. Needs more ventilation.
Good LOCATION!!!!!!


Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kent2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lima hotels

Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights after i was evacuated out of Puno back to Lima. The hotel is in a good location, the front desk staff arent the greatest - We tried to get some help in some touristic things to do and asked for brochures etc but they didnt have any and werent that helpful. We headed down to Kennedy park and found an info centre and booked some tours. There is free wifi throughout. The housecleaining staff were walkie talkies that are extremely loud and when they are walking up and down the corridors wtih these blasting it can become slightly annoying.
We were in room 435. No natural light and double bed for 2 is very small. It is also a very hard bed!! We also had a ventilation system near our room that was turned on every 2 hours for an hour - very noisey! i heard other rooms were better. Breakfast included and not too bad. Best part about this hotel is the location and the bell boys.

Room Tip: avoid room 435 if at all possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hotel is one block off one of the main streets. Rooms are clean, staff is very efficient and breakfasts are more than adequate. If a food dish at breakfast needs filling, just ask and they will fix it. If you have a chance to get a room on the back side of the hotel take it. Traffic builds at 6am and it gets loud. We were happy to return to this hotel on our return to Lima before leaving.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the back side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asc1291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel has clean rooms but some are too near the bar on the street so make sure you ask where your room is before checking in. Food is OK. The best part ...a very close walk down to a shopping area and great restaurants some which overlook the water. The hotel has a bar and a nice sitting area. Two computers for use in the lobby is good too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShineshineOakville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We only spent one nignt in Lima before flying to Puno the next morning so i cannot really comment about the location. We had the suite and it was really nice and clean with a big bathroom. Everything was very clean and they were able to accomodate people fir very early breakfast since we were leaving early for the airport. It was nosy though since there was a bar with music downstairs.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandraD2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Hotel Britania Miraflores
San Isidro
BTH Hotel
BTH Hotel
#18 of 226 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Hotel
#174 of 226 in Lima
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Hostal L'Baron
#140 of 226 in Lima
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Miraflores
Allpa Hotel & Suites
Allpa Hotel & Suites
#49 of 226 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Britania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Britania

Property: Hotel Britania
Address: Av. San Borja Sur 653 | San Borja, Lima, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 226 Hotels in Lima
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Britania 3*
Number of rooms: 251

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing