We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Place In Lima”
Review of Second Home Peru

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Second Home Peru
Ranked #2 of 330 Lima B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This hotel is incredible. I am not much of a fan of Lima - busy, dirty, crowded, stressful - but this place makes a visit to Lima a necessity. The rooms are immaculate and the service is world class. And the place is like living in a dream. Gardens teaming with larger than life metal bulls and horses, mosaic tiled walls, paintings of condors and dreamy ocean vistas, and a jaw dropping view of the Pacific Ocean. I brought my girlfriend here and we spent an entire afternoon simply sitting on our balcony, talking, and watching the sun slowly drop into the ocean. Perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (611)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 611 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

What a lovely oasis in Lima this was. It's a gorgeous property, every room filled with amazing art! Lillian was lovely and it was a pleasure to meet her father Victor Delfin in his amazing studio. The breakfasts are GREAT! We had an oceanfront room which was beautiful with the most amazing ocean views. Barranca is a great district to stay explore, we had some great meals thanks to the recommendations of the staff there. We highly recommend staying here while in Lima!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This was one of the best places we stayed on our 5 week travels through South America. Our room was comfortable & had awesome views of the ocean. The breakfast in the main kitchen was a wonderful start to the day & Lilian & her staff were helpful & very friendly. Lilian helped us organise our days & we enjoyed every moment. Barranco is a gorgeous area to stay in with lots of nice places to eat or have a drink. We enjoyed meeting Victor Delfin in his studio & loved his artwork. After a busy day exploring Lima, second Home Peru was like coming home at the end of the day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey2861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This uniquely beautiful property is a must for seekers of art, architecture, convenience, comfort and ocean views! The rooms in this circa 1913 house are fairly spacious, clean and comfortable! Sleep away with your room double door windows open, listening to the majestic Pacific Ocean surf! Ditto on Lillian's charm and knowledge as your host! A one of a kind experience! Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room No. 3. It was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Its hard to add to what other reviewers have said about this special place. It was just what we needed after a long flight from Australia. We enjoyed 3 nights here with the cliff top views, Victor Delfin's artworks and the sound of the surf lulling us to sleep. There is lots to look at and explore here, interesting objects at every turn.
Its an easy walk along the cliff top to Miraflores and taxis are cheap if you want to travel further afield to other attractions. Barranco itself is an attractive suburb with lots of restaurants and cafes with a walk down to the seafront.
Our room was comfy with plenty of good bedding and we were able to look at the sea from the bed - how good is that.
We loved eating breakfast in the kitchen with fellow travellers sharing hints and tips. The orange juice is freshly squeezed and eggs come fried or scrambled. Muesli and toast with a selection of jams are also offered.
Hot water in the ground floor foyer with plenty of teas and coffee and real milk was a welcome touch that we did not find elsewhere.
Mr Fernandez picked us up and delivered us back to the airport for the next stage of our trip for 60 soles each way.
We look forward to staying here again - a brilliant way to start a Peruvian holiday.

Room Tip: Go for Ocean 2 overlooking the sea and garden. It consists of 3 rooms: bedroom, huge dressing room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casa62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The building and grounds are gorgeous and the rooms spacious, clean and attractive. Situated on the cliff top, rooms have spectacular views of the ocean. The neighbourhood is attractive and has lots of services. Lillian is a charming, helpful and knowledgeable hostess. Breakfast was the best we had in Peru and we enjoyed the opportunity to meet other guests. Overall, we would recommend Second Home Peru.
There are a couple downsides:
It's far from the airport and main attractions and traffic in Lima is terrible at all hours. 60 to 80 soles and up to 1 1/4 hours to the airport depending on traffic.
There is a very busy highway at the base of the cliff. The traffic noise, is however, often covered by the much more soothing sound of the surf.
They offer a 10 % discount for stays over 3 nights but when we paid for an additional night (our 5th) the person serving us refused the discount, despite the fact that we were leaving at
8:00 pm and weren't going to be there for the night or for breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellermarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

If you enjoy art, this is the place to stay! Our trip designer booked this hotel and we had no idea of its background. This is the home and studio of the famous Peruvian artist Victor Delfin. There is art everywhere you turn at this beachside estate. The walls inside and out, all around the gardens, in the lobby, it's all art in all sorts of mediums.

We enjoyed the location. It is at the end of a street, over looking the ocean, with walled gardens so it feels like an oasis. We had an apartment with a bedroom, living room, dining room, and kitchen and it looked over the pool, the art studio, and the ocean. There is a lovely walk to an area with restaurants as well as the Bridge of Sighs. You can also easily walk to a grocery store.

We wondered the grounds and happened upon Mr. Delfin's studio where he was painting a large canvas. We were allowed to watch him paint as well as look at the view out of his window. It faces the sea and has the mold for his famous "The Kiss" sculpture just outside it. It took our breath away.

A hearty breakfast was included with eggs made to order.

The staff was lovely and very helpful with making dinner reservations, itinerary suggestions, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzie942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Belmond Miraflores Park
Barranco
Hotel B
Hotel B
#4 of 234 in Lima
470 reviews
Miraflores
Hotel Vila Santa
Hotel Vila Santa
#12 of 234 in Lima
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Second Home Peru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Second Home Peru

Address: Domeyer 366 , Barranco, Lima 04, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Lima
Price Range: $109 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Second Home Peru 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secondhomeperu embodies the spirit of Peruvian culture combined with the tranquility of the Pacific. This majestic guesthouse with five bedrooms/baths is nestled conveniently in the heart of Barranco, Lima's arts district. Once home to the Peruvian sculptor Victor Delfin, to enter Secondhomeperu is to enter an artist's imaginative world, replete with its creative works. You do not need to search far to find the seedlings of inspiration; they abound in the gardens, terraces and Pacific views of this historic Tudor mansion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Second Home Peru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Second Home Peru Hotel Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing