We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A unique and special experience”
Review of Second Home Peru

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Second Home Peru
Ranked #2 of 309 Lima B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“A unique and special experience”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We were recently lucky enough to spend two nights at Second Home Peru whilst visiting Lima. This is a stunning and unique property is an amazing location. We had a lovely ocean facing room with shared outdoor balcony. The room was large and airy yet still completely comfortable and cosy. The decor was stylish and artwork throughout a complete delight. The claw foot bath was wonderful for a soak after our very long flight from Australia. Exploring the grounds was a big adventure and lots of fun, views to the Pacific were lovely. We enjoyed the generous breakfast and Lillian very kindly gave us a fantastic tour of her father's (Victor Delfin), wonderful studio, this was such an honour and a treat! We bought a small fish sculpture which Señor Delfin very kindly signed for us and a lovely book about his wonderful work. We wish we had bought one of the gorgeous paintings but the logistics of getting it home safely were preying on our mind (Lillian the fish made it safely to Australia! Thanks for packing it so well! We will treasure it!!). For anyone who loves art this is an experience that can't be missed. We used the B & B's transfer service to and from restaurants and the airport, including for a very early airport departure, with great service throughout from Mr Fernandez. All staff were friendly and helpful ad the property felt safe and secure. The surrounding neighbourhood is gorgeous with a wealth of great bars, restaurants and cafes as well as a great little supermarket and lovely shops including funky galley Dedalo. We loved our stay at Second Home Peru and compliment Lillian and her father wholeheartedly for making such a unique experience accessible to the average traveller at such a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Try for an ocean facing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bon_vivant_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    94
    29
    11
    2
See reviews for
85
346
31
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Two friends and I stayed in Lima at Second Home Peru in March. We had a long day of international travel, and decided to stay in Lima and enjoy the city for a day before heading to Cusco. Lilian made the booking process extremely easy, and she was very helpful. We had the triple room (which is huge) and even though it was one of the pricer hotels we stayed at while in Peru, it was worth every penny. The house is breathtaking, and we loved the back garden/patio that overlooked the ocean. Being that we were three women traveling alone, we also appreciated the gated entry. The only issue we encountered was at the airport. We had arranged through Second Home to have a van pick us up, and he wasn't there. For anyone who's arrived to the Lima airport, you'll know it's quite the experience, and having our driver there would have made it less overwhelming (there was a horse-shoe shaped ring of men and women, about 6 people deep, all yelling at you with signs...). Other than this little inconvenience, we loved our experience at Second Home Peru. It's location is amazing, Barranco is fun, full of life, and beautiful. The breakfast was also delicious. Our only regret was that we weren't able to stay longer, I would recommend this property to anyone traveling to Lima.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We've arrived to this hotel after spending some time in Machu-Picchu and the Jungles around Iquitos and was exactly what we were looking forward to. The room (suite) was huge with a very big bathroom and windows everywhere. The bed was super-comfy and the house can not be described as it is amazingly great... lots of open spaces with art and character everywhere. The breakfast was very fresh and delicious and full of chat with the host of the hotel. We also needed to have some documents printed which they have done without any issues or extra charges... also they've helped us with some ironing last-minute.
I would recommend this hotel to anybody who is looking to be pampered in a hotel with a familiar touch and not big chains hotels which most of the time lacks character.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montreal-jet-setter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

What a great place to stay! This beautiful property, home of famous Peruvian artist Viktor Delfin is highly recommended. Viktor's art is everywhere and the setting overlooking the sea is awe inspiring. We had room #2 and it was very spacious with a large dressing room and bath. The bed was very comfortable, the shower was excellent and we even enjoyed soaking in the claw foot tub. The property is located in a very quiet area so you can open the windows and enjoy the sea breeze at night. Many thanks to Lilian Delfin (Viktor's daughter) for her helpfulness and hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicaSpouses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I don't often write reviews. However, this place was so beautiful and quaint I have to share it will people. It is in a gorgeous neighborhood, Barranco. I had an amazing ocean view from my private terrace. When you walk in it is like a gallelry/hotel. All the work is by Delfini, who happens to own the place. This is one of my favorite places I have stayed. I highly recommend it!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margarita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Everything was outstanding, from the property/house itself to all the staff. Highly, highly recommend. Breakfast was the usual Eggs, toast and fruit but it was VERY fresh. Never did find the pool :( very reasonable rates for what you get. Solid location in Barranco (which is a very cool area itself), quiet but close to all restaurants and the beach. Don't miss out on this gem!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MathiasF833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The 100-year old Tudor-style house, which Lilian Delfin owns, is the place to stay in Barranco, a suburb of Lima. How often do you get to stay in an art museum? Her father, Victor Delfin, an 87 year old sculptor and painter resides there and so do many of his lifetime works. It was a pleasure to meet him and see his amazing gallery of art....his art also resides on the grounds as well.

Lilian was a gracious host, providing us with the rundown in terms of seeing the best of Lima. The staff she employs were pleasant and always willing to help make you comfortable. We enjoyed our stay and would go back, if we visit Peru again. A great start to a five week stay in Peru!

Room Tip: While the rooms that face the ocean (2 and 3) are very nice, on Friday and Saturday nights they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1021Angelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
JW Marriott Hotel Lima
Miraflores
Hotel Vila Santa Miraflores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barranco
Hotel B
Hotel B
#5 of 228 in Lima
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Miraflores
Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco
Miraflores
Hilton Lima Miraflores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Second Home Peru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Second Home Peru

Property: Second Home Peru
Address: Domeyer 366 , Barranco, Lima 04, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 309 B&Bs / Inns in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Second Home Peru 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secondhomeperu embodies the spirit of Peruvian culture combined with the tranquility of the Pacific. This majestic guesthouse with five bedrooms/baths is nestled conveniently in the heart of Barranco, Lima's arts district. Once home to the Peruvian sculptor Victor Delfin, to enter Secondhomeperu is to enter an artist's imaginative world, replete with its creative works. You do not need to search far to find the seedlings of inspiration; they abound in the gardens, terraces and Pacific views of this historic Tudor mansion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Second Home Peru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Second Home Peru Hotel Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing