We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staying in an art gallery”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Second Home Peru

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Second Home Peru
Ranked #2 of 303 Lima B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
121 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Staying in an art gallery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We only had one night at Second Home, which was a shame as it didn't give us enough time to appreciate it. Arrived quite late on in the evening and had to leave fairly early the next day for our tour of Lima.

The room we had was very spacious with a roll top bath. We had a view of the ocean,even just listening to the sound of the sea was lovely. The place is full of Victor Delfins art, and it has made us quite fans of his work. The sculptures are wonderful, so much better than staying in a soulless hotel.

Breakfast was taken in a very cosy room with a fire roaring in the background. The best coffee we had on our whole trip was enjoyed here, and we could even pet one of the sweet dogs Janner whilst having our breakfast! The B and B is very close to the heart of Barranco so convenient for restaurants and shops. Would stay here again if we are lucky enough to return one day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs-Moondog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    93
    28
    11
    2
See reviews for
85
337
31
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at second home Lima, attracted by the art and water front location. On both accounts they did not disappoint. The rooms were spacious, we even had a small sun deck off of ours, but there were a few hiccups that detracted from a higher review. Primarily, the hot water consistently ran out during a 5-6min shower and when it ran out, it got cold fast! And the water pressure, the hotter it got, the more trickle like it got. Finally, we booked via a 3rd party system and pre-paid for everything, but upon departure were told that we owed more usd. despite earlier attempts to solve this issue with the 3rd party system and with emails, it was frustrating that it couldn't be solved until we checked out.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ace_Coco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

On the last night of our recent trip we stayed here to decompress before going home. A good decision. It is an amazing place to stay at I think a reasonable price. The oceanview rooms literally hang over the cliff above the Pacific. Walking distance to center. had a personal tour of Sr. Delfin's gallery. Highly recommended

Room Tip: oceanview a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FortLauderdale15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We loved Second Home Peru, Lilian the owner is so lovely and organises a pick up from the airport for you (great as taxi's a renowned for ripping tourists off from the airport into town)

The building is stunning, full of art and so cosy. It feels like a colonial 5* hotel rather than a B&B!!

They make you a yummy breakfast in the fire warmed kitchen every morning.

The location is great... Barranco is lovely. It's old and local, a far cry from modern Miraflores which we didn't like much. Although if you do, Miraflores is only a 10-15 min walk along the cliffs.

The rooms are stunning. Hugh free standing baths, really clean, hair-dryer, shampoo and really comfy beds with stunning views over the sea.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa_hardy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
931 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

An eclectic hotel converted from an old grand home. Beautiful artwork adorn all walls and nooks and cranny's. Each room different, many with ocean views. Centrally located near the ocean, breakfast in the communal kitchen incl. Good value.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms the pick
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Pros:

1. Comfortable bed, clean room, beautiful furnishings including enormois claw-foot bath tub.
2. Beautiful ocean views from many windows and balconies, even if you don't get an ocean-view room.
3. Delicious breakfast: pastries, fresh fruit, fresh squeezed orange juice, eggs, coffee, tea, etc.
4. Kind and friendly service, both from staff and taxi driver that works from the B&B.
5. B&B is in a great location - only a short walk from main plaza in Barranco district, and neighborhood is very safe.
6. Reasonable prices, especially for all that you get.
7. Free wifi.

Cons:

None. Seriously cannot think of any, and my husband and I have stayed at many B&Bs in the US and Europe. The place is absolutely beautiful, and we had a wonderful, relaxing stay. We even had a very early flight out of Lima when we left (had to be at the airport at 5 am for international flight), and we were gently awakened at 4 am with a knock at our door (per our request) and coffee was brought to our room promptly at 4:15 am to help us get moving. Driver met us on time at 4:30. Couldn't ask for better service or nicer hosts!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mh_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
170 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Just want to repeat what others are saying. Only regret is that we had just one night there. We thoroughly enjoyed walking the grounds and the ocean views. Great plus having the grocery store so close with an ATM inside which we used for our first withdrawal. We also walked to Larcomar along the ocean which was a lovely introduction to Lima. The staff is incredibly accommodating. We arrived very early and were lucky enough that our room was ready. We were offered breakfast in the big, homey kitchen as a kind gesture even though we weren't entitled to it. The second best coffee we had in Peru. Carlos the driver goes out of his way to make sure you are taken care of and even helped with errands and walking directions. When he wasn't available, he sent a friend to pick us up. All in all, great start to a great vacation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VivSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
JW Marriott Hotel Lima
Miraflores
Hotel Vila Santa Miraflores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barranco
Hotel B
Hotel B
#5 of 228 in Lima
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Miraflores
Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco
Miraflores
Hilton Lima Miraflores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Second Home Peru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Second Home Peru

Property: Second Home Peru
Address: Domeyer 366 , Barranco, Lima 04, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 303 B&Bs / Inns in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Second Home Peru 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secondhomeperu embodies the spirit of Peruvian culture combined with the tranquility of the Pacific. This majestic guesthouse with five bedrooms/baths is nestled conveniently in the heart of Barranco, Lima's arts district. Once home to the Peruvian sculptor Victor Delfin, to enter Secondhomeperu is to enter an artist's imaginative world, replete with its creative works. You do not need to search far to find the seedlings of inspiration; they abound in the gardens, terraces and Pacific views of this historic Tudor mansion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Second Home Peru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Second Home Peru Hotel Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing