We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Listened to our Son!”
Review of Barranco

Barranco
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.00*
and up
Lima Food Walking Tour in Barranco Neighbourhood
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Night Tour of Lima and Barranco Neighborhood
More Info
$90.00*
and up
3-Hour Dinner Show and Barranco District Tour
Ranked #6 of 333 things to do in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“We Listened to our Son!”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Our son had been in Lima but missed going here. He suggested that we head for Barranco and it was fun to explore. The Bridge of Sighs is a destination for many however after we found it, we were more intrigued by the houses and businesses which were along the street/path going under and beside it. On the main square of the district, there is a library - and to the right of the library is a small tourist information office where you can get a map with historic/significant buildings. They also have access to locked toilets. We did walk down to the sea, which is reached by walking under the Bridge of Sighs and just going down, down, down and over the highway on a little bridge. The beach is not nice at all BUT I rescued a sea urchin - placed it gently back in the water. Then, a few minutes later, I found a blue sea urchin shell on top of some gravelly rocks. You cannot make this kind of stuff up. I do not recommend eating at the big Chinese restaurant although it is cheap and definitely a local destination.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank puffinmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,706
    2,010
    404
    54
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Trendy, artsy residential area”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Enjoyed my brief stay here. Interesting little streets, pathways and stairway to explore. Mainly residential. Seafront streets are gated - some even have security guards. Given my host's parting advice was "be careful", I would hesitate to walk out in the evening as I felt comfortable doing so in Miraflores. Having said that, I walked the round trip from Barranco - Chorrillos - Barranco with no problems. Can recommend this lovely walk: take the pathway under Barranco's "Bridge of Sighs" to the beach via the overpass, continue south to Chorrillos, just after the statues of the lovers cross the highway using the overpass then climb the stair/path to Baja Agua Dulce, and follow the first main road on your left back north along the coast to your starting point. I stopped for a very tasty and well priced seafood lunch at one of the little local diners at the Chorrillo end. Hint: purchase a fresh pastry from one of the delicatessens to have with your Starbucks coffee takeaway.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank linda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We loved our stay here”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We chose Barranco over Miraflores for our three night stay in Lima. We were happy with our choice.For us it had a lot more character, no high rises or shopping malls. Lots of bars and restaurants and interesting walks. We enjoyed walking down to the beach and back and seeing the old houses with their unique architecture. There are some excellent restaurants too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jazz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Loved that neighborhood”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Loved that little neighborhood, half artsy, half bohemian chic and 100% great. the little streets are charming, feels very European and you do not have the feel of being in a large city

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank amimastri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“the best”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I know lima well and of al the places ive lived in 5 countries this is the coolest place ive stayed really cool area has everything great restaurants, bars , clubs everything you really dont need to leave barranco if you also work there. I absolutely loved it

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gasper H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barranco also viewed

 

Been to Barranco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing