We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved our stay here”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Barranco

Barranco
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Night Tour of Lima and Barranco Neighborhood
Ranked #6 of 322 things to do in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We loved our stay here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We chose Barranco over Miraflores for our three night stay in Lima. We were happy with our choice.For us it had a lot more character, no high rises or shopping malls. Lots of bars and restaurants and interesting walks. We enjoyed walking down to the beach and back and seeing the old houses with their unique architecture. There are some excellent restaurants too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jazz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,874 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,530
    1,898
    384
    50
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Loved that neighborhood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Loved that little neighborhood, half artsy, half bohemian chic and 100% great. the little streets are charming, feels very European and you do not have the feel of being in a large city

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank amimastri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

I know lima well and of al the places ive lived in 5 countries this is the coolest place ive stayed really cool area has everything great restaurants, bars , clubs everything you really dont need to leave barranco if you also work there. I absolutely loved it

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gasper H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Cute beachy area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

I really liked it here, beach and casual with fun bars and nightclubs. During the day it's where the locals go to layout.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingFoodie3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Venice Beach of Lima”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

A funky, rapidly gentrifying neighborhood south of the city, this was a great place to wander around in, finding hidden treasures. The center is crowded with local and international tourists, but along the side streets are beautiful houses, museums and local fairs. It is very easy to get here using the new Metropolitano rapid bus from the center of Lima or Miraflores...and it is even possible to take a long walk from here to Miraflores along the beach.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jsmog310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barranco also viewed

 

Been to Barranco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing