We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”
Review of Girasoles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Girasoles Hotel
Ranked #24 of 224 Hotels in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

First impressions were that it was an odd design and wasn't sure about the location but it is walking distance of Miraflores. What sets this hotel apart are the food and service. The beds were comfortable. It is a really friendly little hotel with a good atmosphere. Really impressed with the cafe which had vegetarian choices and it was very tasty.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathieO3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    265
    63
    5
    2
See reviews for
126
191
56
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Our Intrepid tour began and ended with a stay at Girasoles and we found it friendly, very clean and very safe. Although not surrounded by restaurants and sites, a 10 minute walk to the nearby Kennedy Park area provided great choices. Public transit was available nearby and taxi service an inexpensive alternative to go anywhere you'd like. Breakfast was also available.
The hotel stored an extra bag for us while we toured for two weeks. Very helpful. We'd stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in both a street facing room and an inner facing room and noise was something we got used...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed there at the start and end of our Intrepid tour of Peru. The rooms are very clean and the staff very helpful. It is about a 10 minute walk from the heart of Mirasoles area of Lima. There are a few stores and cafes nearby but we found a greater choice around Park Kennedy in Mirasoles. Overall, we found the hotel a good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dilip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed here, like many others, as part of an Intrepid group. The hotel was a full 8 blocks to Larco Avenue with no restaurants close by and in a residential area. We had stayed at the Mariel before the tour and I would recommend that hotel over the Girasoles. It's close enough to walk between hotels, so if you're adding on days before or after your Intrepid trip ... go to the Mariel.

This hotel was the noisiest we encountered mostly because of the interior courtyard that created an echo chamber that amplified everything.

Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room that does not have a window facing into the inner courtyard. You'll get no sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This was our first stay in lima and the hotel was chosen for us by our tour operator 'Intrepid'
we had no idea what to expect but were very pleasantly suprised by the quality.We had 2 days at the start of our Peru tour and 1 day at the end- the quality of the hotel and the front of house staff was more than acceptable to us.Nothing was too much trouble-the restaurant was o.k. and the the rooms were clean and comfortable.
The hotel is in a safe area of lima perhaps 15 mins walk from the centre of Miraflores.
we always take a netbook computer and found the wi-fi signal was very good (much better than other hotels in Peru that we stayed in)
we would stay here again without a thought.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALT LAKE CITY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel at the start and finish of in Intrepid Travel tour of Peru. The hotel is clean and the beds are comfortable. There is a computer for use in the lobby. There are free water bottles in the room. The room had a working hair dryer (didn't have many of those in Peru - at other hotels they were present but not working). It's a quick walk to the tourist areas in Miraflores. The people at the front desk couldn't have been more helpful. The first day of the tour we left at 3 AM and the hotel even provided breakfast at this crazy hour!

I can't comment on value as it was included in the cost of the Intrepid tour.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jringgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I Stayed at this hotel twice, as part of my Intrepid Tour of Peru. The rooms were very nice and comfortable. There was a heater / fan available and hair dryer in the rooms. Excellent hot water and water pressure in the sink and shower. The internet wireless had some signal strength problems (depending on the room) but had no problem connecting when I had the signal. The hotel even provided a simple breakfast specially for my group of 12 when we left at 330 in the morning. Kennedy park was a 10 minute walk which has lots of shops and restaurants available.

I would definitely suggest this hotel as a place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sskyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Hotel Vila Santa
Hotel Vila Santa
#11 of 224 in Lima
793 reviews
Miraflores
Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco
Miraflores
Faraona Grand Hotel
Faraona Grand Hotel
#23 of 224 in Lima
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel San Antonio Abad
#28 of 224 in Lima
912 reviews
Miraflores
Hostal Torreblanca
Hostal Torreblanca
#42 of 224 in Lima
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Girasoles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Girasoles Hotel

Property: Girasoles Hotel
Address: Av. Ernesto Diez Canseco 696 | Miraflores, Lima 15047, Peru (Formerly Los Girasoles Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Lima
#18 Business Hotel in Lima
#20 Best Value Hotel in Lima
#37 Romantic Hotel in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Girasoles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We'll help you enjoy a unique destination.Located in the touristic district of Miraflores,at a short distance of it's Central Park and mayor city attractions.Designed exclusively for touristic and business travelers, of a contemporary style with a Peruvian touch. Our 42 rooms, cafeteria and lounge will give you the confort you expect. You'll be suprised by the enthusiasm showed by all our staff in helping you enjoy Peru. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Girasoles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Girasoles Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing